PDA

View Full Version : Softsqueeze Newbie



Richard Scales
2004-10-15, 02:40
Hello all,



I have been a user of Slimp3's and (recently) a squeeze box for a couple of
years at least now and have achieved great success. I have used softsqueeze
on my LAN with equal success. SO far so good.



Now I am trying to use Softsqueeze at a remote location to listen to my
Slimserver.



Slimserver is running on a dual P3/733 processor box with 1GB RAM, no
problems there - V5.3.1.



The LAN is connected to the internet via an ADSL router (Dlink) and I can
access various services on my LAN via port forwards on the router.



I have forwarded port 9000 to the Slimsver, installed Java and Softasqueeze
at a remote location, enter my Internet IP address and it starts up and
plays.



However, Softsqueeze repeatedly loses connection with the server and
re-starts the currently playing song. I have tried this on a couple of
remote sites and have had the same problem. One was an ADSL 512K connection,
the other a 1MB cable connection. The 512K connection also started to have
gaps in the playback after about 30 seconds of perfect playing.



Both these remote sites can stream media directly from shoutcast and other
radio stations OK so I assume that there is something wrong at my Slimserver
end.



Can anyone offer any pointers as to where I might look next?



Kind regards


Richard Scales

seanadams
2004-10-15, 07:41
What's your upload speed on the server end? What data rate are you
streaming?

Slimserver/Squeezebox works well over the internet, but you need to
have a solid uplink at the server. Most DSL/Cable providers are spotty
in this regard.

On Oct 15, 2004, at 2:40 AM, Richard Scales wrote:

> Hello all,
>
>
>
> I have been a user of Slimp3s and (recently) a squeeze box for a
> couple of years at least now and have achieved great success. I have
> used softsqueeze on my LAN with equal success. SO far so good.
>
>
>
> Now I am trying to use Softsqueeze at a remote location to listen to
> my Slimserver.
>
>
>
> Slimserver is running on a dual P3/733 processor box with 1GB RAM, no
> problems there V5.3.1.
>
>
>
> The LAN is connected to the internet via an ADSL router (Dlink) and I
> can access various services on my LAN via port forwards on the router.
>
>
>
> I have forwarded port 9000 to the Slimsver, installed Java and
> Softasqueeze at a remote location, enter my Internet IP address and it
> starts up and plays.
>
>
>
> However, Softsqueeze repeatedly loses connection with the server and
> re-starts the currently playing song. I have tried this on a couple of
> remote sites and have had the same problem. One was an ADSL 512K
> connection, the other a 1MB cable connection. The 512K connection also
> started to have gaps in the playback after about 30 seconds of perfect
> playing.
>
>
>
> Both these remote sites can stream media directly from shoutcast and
> other radio stations OK so I assume that there is something wrong at
> my Slimserver end.
>
>
>
> Can anyone offer any pointers as to where I might look next?
>
>
>
> Kind regards
>
>
> Richard Scales
>
>
>