PDA

View Full Version : Wired Installation: possible ground loop?



Lewis Moon
2011-11-17, 21:29
I'm thinking of running my SB3 via an ethernet cable to guard against interference from all the other electronics in the house (a problem in the past). The cable run will be about 40 ft. Can ethernet cables cause ground loops?

toby10
2011-11-18, 03:26
Yes, any wire can be influenced by ground loops and EMF. Whether they are present or even audible on your system is another matter.
Do you know that you have such issues? Or just being cautious?

I use two long 50' runs of very basic RJ5 ethernet through two switches in my home with no such issues, at least not in any way that effects their connected devices including audio.

Lewis Moon
2011-11-18, 08:10
Yes, any wire can be influenced by ground loops and EMF. Whether they are present or even audible on your system is another matter.
Do you know that you have such issues? Or just being cautious?

I use two long 50' runs of very basic RJ5 ethernet through two switches in my home with no such issues, at least not in any way that effects their connected devices including audio.

PSB (Pre Squeezebox) I ran cable over the same route from a DAC in the computer room to the stereo in the living room. I had to resort to an optical cable between the computer and the DAC, instead of the USB, in order to knock out 60 Hz of chocolatey badness.

slippyr4
2011-11-22, 01:58
Both ends of an ethernet cable are connected to isolation transformers. No part of the cable itself is grounded, so, I don't think an ethernet cable is ever going to cause a ground loop.