PDA

View Full Version : Re. Live365 Mac



Mark Sayers
2004-10-11, 12:43
Tried the new version, same old error....

The error I get on the squeezebox says ³live365 website error, try again²

I am thinking it is not the plug as such, the reason why is:

If I configure the user name and pass through the webhost page and changes,
then go home, then go back to the plug ins page the password has REVERTED to
³&<VQA>6%Z³

It is always this in either IE or safari.

So that is about where I am.

Do I need to manually configure the live365.pm file?

Any ideas?

Regards


On 11/10/04 4:05 PM, "mark sayers" <slim (AT) marksayers (DOT) com> wrote:

>> Hi. I wrote the Live365 plugin, so I'm very interested in getting it perfect.
>> I think Vidur put some platform specific XML::Simple parsers in the
>> nightlies, but otherwise there's nothing that would make it choke just on a
>> Mac.
>>
>> I released a version with some updated functionality last night, and I
>> suggest everyone upgrade. http://home.comcast.net/~jim1128
>>
>> It now shows the currently playing song for most streams, and has been
>> collapsed in to one source file. I'm only aware of one bug at this point that
>> occurs under some extremely specific and uncommon circumstances.
>>
>> To your problem, what specific error message is being reported when you try
>> to log in? Trying to play a VIP stream on an expired session will cause that
>> operator error you described...
>>
>> Cheers,
>> Jim
>>
>>
>> mark sayers wrote:
>>> remove and reinstalled everything under 5.3.1.
>>> Live365 plug in appears on both the webhost and slim player. I have added
>>> username and password under the webhost page, yet on the player when i tried
>>> and manage my session and log in i get the same website error.
>>> If i use an old "VIP" stream that has been added to a playlist i get an
>>> message telling me that the username is ok, but the session id is invalid.
>>> Has anyone on Mac OSX ever managed to get this plug to work?

Jim
2004-10-11, 17:22
The changes to the password are normal, the password is stored encoded.
You do not need to manually configure the PM file, no.

Run the server with d_plugins and look for a line "Live365 login error:"
and let me know what that is, please.

Jim


Mark Sayers wrote:
> Tried the new version, same old error....
>
> The error I get on the squeezebox says “live365 website error, try again”
>
> I am thinking it is not the plug as such, the reason why is:
>
> If I configure the user name and pass through the webhost page and
> changes, then go home, then go back to the plug ins page the password
> has REVERTED to “&<VQA>6%Z“
>
> It is always this in either IE or safari.
>
> So that is about where I am.
>
> Do I need to manually configure the live365.pm file?
>
> Any ideas?
>
> Regards
>
>
> On 11/10/04 4:05 PM, "mark sayers"
> <slim (AT) marksayers (DOT) com> wrote:
>
> Hi. I wrote the Live365 plugin, so I'm very interested in
> getting it perfect. I think Vidur put some platform specific
> XML::Simple parsers in the nightlies, but otherwise there's
> nothing that would make it choke just on a Mac.
>
> I released a version with some updated functionality last night,
> and I suggest everyone upgrade. _http://home.comcast.net/~jim1128_
>
> It now shows the currently playing song for most streams, and
> has been collapsed in to one source file. I'm only aware of one
> bug at this point that occurs under some extremely specific and
> uncommon circumstances.
>
> To your problem, what specific error message is being reported
> when you try to log in? Trying to play a VIP stream on an
> expired session will cause that operator error you described...
>
> Cheers,
> Jim
>
>
> mark sayers wrote:
>
> remove and reinstalled everything under 5.3.1.
> Live365 plug in appears on both the webhost and slim player.
> I have added username and password under the webhost page,
> yet on the player when i tried and manage my session and log
> in i get the same website error.
> If i use an old "VIP" stream that has been added to a
> playlist i get an message telling me that the username is
> ok, but the session id is invalid.
> Has anyone on Mac OSX ever managed to get this plug to work?
>
>
>
>
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
>
>

mark sayers
2004-10-12, 01:24
Sorry to sound dim, but how do i run with "d_plugins"?

regards


On 12 Oct 2004, at 01:22, Jim wrote:

> The changes to the password are normal, the password is stored encoded.
> You do not need to manually configure the PM file, no.
>
> Run the server with d_plugins and look for a line "Live365 login
> error:" and let me know what that is, please.
>
> Jim
>
>
> Mark Sayers wrote:
>> Tried the new version, same old error....
>> The error I get on the squeezebox says “live365 website error, try
>> again”
>> I am thinking it is not the plug as such, the reason why is:
>> If I configure the user name and pass through the webhost page and
>> changes, then go home, then go back to the plug ins page the password
>> has REVERTED to “&<VQA>6%Z“
>> It is always this in either IE or safari.
>> So that is about where I am.
>> Do I need to manually configure the live365.pm file?
>> Any ideas?
>> Regards
>> On 11/10/04 4:05 PM, "mark sayers" <slim (AT) marksayers (DOT) com> wrote:
>> Hi. I wrote the Live365 plugin, so I'm very interested in
>> getting it perfect. I think Vidur put some platform specific
>> XML::Simple parsers in the nightlies, but otherwise there's
>> nothing that would make it choke just on a Mac.
>> I released a version with some updated functionality last
>> night,
>> and I suggest everyone upgrade.
>> _http://home.comcast.net/~jim1128_
>> It now shows the currently playing song for most streams, and
>> has been collapsed in to one source file. I'm only aware of
>> one
>> bug at this point that occurs under some extremely specific
>> and
>> uncommon circumstances.
>> To your problem, what specific error message is being reported
>> when you try to log in? Trying to play a VIP stream on an
>> expired session will cause that operator error you
>> described...
>> Cheers,
>> Jim
>> mark sayers wrote:
>> remove and reinstalled everything under 5.3.1.
>> Live365 plug in appears on both the webhost and slim
>> player.
>> I have added username and password under the webhost page,
>> yet on the player when i tried and manage my session and
>> log
>> in i get the same website error.
>> If i use an old "VIP" stream that has been added to a
>> playlist i get an message telling me that the username is
>> ok, but the session id is invalid.
>> Has anyone on Mac OSX ever managed to get this plug to
>> work?
>> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
>> --
>>

mark sayers
2004-10-12, 04:43
OK don't worry i think i have found it under debugging, i will check
this as soon as i get home!


On 12 Oct 2004, at 09:24, mark sayers wrote:

> Sorry to sound dim, but how do i run with "d_plugins"?
>
> regards
>
>
> On 12 Oct 2004, at 01:22, Jim wrote:
>
>> The changes to the password are normal, the password is stored
>> encoded.
>> You do not need to manually configure the PM file, no.
>>
>> Run the server with d_plugins and look for a line "Live365 login
>> error:" and let me know what that is, please.
>>
>> Jim
>>
>>
>> Mark Sayers wrote:
>>> Tried the new version, same old error....
>>> The error I get on the squeezebox says “live365 website error, try
>>> again”
>>> I am thinking it is not the plug as such, the reason why is:
>>> If I configure the user name and pass through the webhost page and
>>> changes, then go home, then go back to the plug ins page the
>>> password has REVERTED to “&<VQA>6%Z“
>>> It is always this in either IE or safari.
>>> So that is about where I am.
>>> Do I need to manually configure the live365.pm file?
>>> Any ideas?
>>> Regards
>>> On 11/10/04 4:05 PM, "mark sayers" <slim (AT) marksayers (DOT) com> wrote:
>>> Hi. I wrote the Live365 plugin, so I'm very interested in
>>> getting it perfect. I think Vidur put some platform specific
>>> XML::Simple parsers in the nightlies, but otherwise there's
>>> nothing that would make it choke just on a Mac.
>>> I released a version with some updated functionality last
>>> night,
>>> and I suggest everyone upgrade.
>>> _http://home.comcast.net/~jim1128_
>>> It now shows the currently playing song for most streams, and
>>> has been collapsed in to one source file. I'm only aware of
>>> one
>>> bug at this point that occurs under some extremely specific
>>> and
>>> uncommon circumstances.
>>> To your problem, what specific error message is being
>>> reported
>>> when you try to log in? Trying to play a VIP stream on an
>>> expired session will cause that operator error you
>>> described...
>>> Cheers,
>>> Jim
>>> mark sayers wrote:
>>> remove and reinstalled everything under 5.3.1.
>>> Live365 plug in appears on both the webhost and slim
>>> player.
>>> I have added username and password under the webhost
>>> page,
>>> yet on the player when i tried and manage my session and
>>> log
>>> in i get the same website error.
>>> If i use an old "VIP" stream that has been added to a
>>> playlist i get an message telling me that the username is
>>> ok, but the session id is invalid.
>>> Has anyone on Mac OSX ever managed to get this plug to
>>> work?
>>> ---------------------------------------------------------------------
>>> ---
>>>

Jim
2004-10-12, 13:21
Mark Sayers wrote:

> The messages in the log are:
>
> 2004-10-12 19:08:26.1892 Live365 login error: 6
> 2004-10-12 19:08:28.3866 Live365.login: ok
> 2004-10-12 19:08:31.0178 Live365 login error: 6
>
> I hope that helps you!
>
> Thanks again

There are three ways that error can come about:
1. Total failure to connect to the Live365 web site (can't open port 80)
2. The Live365 web site doesn't respond with an "OK" response header
(specifically: "HTTP/1.1 200 OK")
3. The data returned by Live365.com contains no content, only headers.

So, let's take a look at logging in...
Edit the below URL so that member_name and password reflect your
credentials instead of ***, and use your web browser to open it.

http://www.live365.com/cgi-bin/api_login.cgi?action=login&remember=Y&org=live365&member_name=***&password=***

You should get back something like (you may need to "view source" to see
it like this):
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1" ?>
- <LIVE365_API_LOGIN_CGI>
<Code>0</Code>
<Reason>Success</Reason>
<Session_ID>your_user_name:random_characters</Session_ID>
<Application_ID>live365:BROWSER</Application_ID>
<Device_ID>UNKNOWN</Device_ID>
<Member_Status>REGULAR</Member_Status>
</LIVE365_API_LOGIN_CGI>

(Your member_status field might read "PREFERRED" if you're a VIP member.)

Regardless, let me know what you turn up.

J

Jim
2004-10-12, 15:05
Mark Sayers wrote:

> Here goes
>
> <?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>
> <LIVE365_API_LOGIN_CGI><Code>0</Code>
> <Reason>Success</Reason>
> <Session_ID>slayaz:29DsJM1zfJJS2</Session_ID>
> <Application_ID>live365:BROWSER</Application_ID>
> <Device_ID>80.3.32.4-1096106547928</Device_ID>
> <Member_Status>PREFERRED</Member_Status>
> </LIVE365_API_LOGIN_CGI>
>
> OK?

That looks good (you've got a cookie that might be "fixing" something,
but we'll get back to that later if we need to). I don't know your level
of expertise, but we can measure results directly if you can send me
ngrep output (or similar, like Ethereal). See
http://ngrep.darwinports.com/ for some help with ngrep.
As I'm more a Linux/Windows guy I'm afraid I have no advice on that
particular subject.

Dean: I know you use a Mac, have you seen anything like this in your
installation? I developed on Linux, so there might be some kind of gotcha'.

Jim