PDA

View Full Version : Missing Genre and Groupings Tags in Server

jmgtr8
2011-10-24, 11:21
I’m new to the Squeezebox Server, and am having trouble getting it to recognize some tags. I’ve ripped my CDs into WAV files using iTunes and have had to enter some tags manually. For example, iTunes frequently does not pick up Genre and never gets Groupings (which I want to use as another music classifier). I enter the missing values manually in iTunes and my iTunes Music lists shows many different values for Genre and Groupings. But in the SBS Web Remote Control Viewer and on the Touch screen there are only three values for Genre (“POP”, “CLASSICAL”, and “NO GENRE”), and the Groupings tag doesn’t show up at all. Any suggestions on how to get SBS and my Touch to use these tags and/or a pointer to Squeezebox Server documentation would be greatly appreciated.
Jim

aubuti
2011-10-24, 11:29
I suspect what is happening is that iTunes isn't writing tags to your WAV files at all. Rather it is probably storing the metadata in the iTunes database. There aren't that many programs that write tags to WAV files in a semi-standard way -- the only one I've heard of that does is Tag & Rename.

Any particular reason why you're using WAV instead of a compressed lossless format? You'll probably have fewer tagging headaches with Apple Lossless or FLAC.

jmgtr8
2011-10-24, 15:55
Thanks Abuti for the reply. I looked but could not find anything in my iTunes media folder that could be identified as a separate file for metadata. Could it be that SBS recognizes some of the tags from iTunes, just not all the ones I want? There is an interesting SBS setting that may be relevant: “Advanced/Advanced Settings/Advanced/Guess Tags Formats”, but it’s not obvious how to use it. By playing with this setting, SBS began to populate Genre, although with garbage. Is there somewhere to learn more about this setting?