PDA

View Full Version : Music library cache on Kuro-Box (Buffalo LinkStation)



Avi Schwartz
2004-10-09, 11:24
Hi,

I installed the slimserver on a kuro box (the more easily hackable
version of the Buffalo LinkStation) and since the machine is not exactly
a speed demon, it is very important for me to be able to cache the music
library. Right now, if I restart the box or the slimserver, I need to
rescan my library (of over 15,000 items). Even though I set the sever
to cache the library it does not do so. Since this is the first time I
am running slimserver from Linux (I am normally using an iMac for that),
I don't know whether caching is supposed to work. If it does, any idea
where would this cache be created? Any idea where to look for a reason
it is not created?

Thanks,
Avi

Jason Rimmer
2004-10-09, 20:44
I also have a KuroBox and haven't had any trouble with the caching. I
don't believe I've changed any slimserver settings. Is there a
convenient way to compare notes?

Avi Schwartz wrote:
> Hi,
>
> I installed the slimserver on a kuro box (the more easily hackable
> version of the Buffalo LinkStation) and since the machine is not exactly
> a speed demon, it is very important for me to be able to cache the music
> library. Right now, if I restart the box or the slimserver, I need to
> rescan my library (of over 15,000 items). Even though I set the sever
> to cache the library it does not do so. Since this is the first time I
> am running slimserver from Linux (I am normally using an iMac for that),
> I don't know whether caching is supposed to work. If it does, any idea
> where would this cache be created? Any idea where to look for a reason
> it is not created?
>
> Thanks,
> Avi
>

Avi Schwartz
2004-10-09, 23:15
Do you know in which directory the music library is cached? I am
wondering if I have permission problems.

Avi

Jason Rimmer wrote:

> I also have a KuroBox and haven't had any trouble with the
> caching. I don't believe I've changed any slimserver settings. Is
> there a convenient way to compare notes?
>
> Avi Schwartz wrote:
>
>> Hi,
>>
>> I installed the slimserver on a kuro box (the more easily hackable
>> version of the Buffalo LinkStation) and since the machine is not
>> exactly a speed demon, it is very important for me to be able to
>> cache the music library. Right now, if I restart the box or the
>> slimserver, I need to rescan my library (of over 15,000 items). Even
>> though I set the sever to cache the library it does not do so. Since
>> this is the first time I am running slimserver from Linux (I am
>> normally using an iMac for that), I don't know whether caching is
>> supposed to work. If it does, any idea where would this cache be
>> created? Any idea where to look for a reason it is not created?
>>
>> Thanks,
>> Avi
>

kdf
2004-10-09, 23:42
it could be in /usr/local/slimserver/Cache/./slimserver.db
or ~/.slimserver.db
-kdf


Quoting Avi Schwartz <slim (AT) cfftechnologies (DOT) com>:

> Do you know in which directory the music library is cached? I am
> wondering if I have permission problems.
>
> Avi
>
> Jason Rimmer wrote:
>
> > I also have a KuroBox and haven't had any trouble with the
> > caching. I don't believe I've changed any slimserver settings. Is
> > there a convenient way to compare notes?
> >
> > Avi Schwartz wrote:
> >
> >> Hi,
> >>
> >> I installed the slimserver on a kuro box (the more easily hackable
> >> version of the Buffalo LinkStation) and since the machine is not
> >> exactly a speed demon, it is very important for me to be able to
> >> cache the music library. Right now, if I restart the box or the
> >> slimserver, I need to rescan my library (of over 15,000 items). Even
> >> though I set the sever to cache the library it does not do so. Since
> >> this is the first time I am running slimserver from Linux (I am
> >> normally using an iMac for that), I don't know whether caching is
> >> supposed to work. If it does, any idea where would this cache be
> >> created? Any idea where to look for a reason it is not created?
> >>
> >> Thanks,
> >> Avi
> >
>
>

Jules Taplin
2004-10-10, 04:59
Erm. Shouldn't that read:

/usr/local/slimserver/Cache/.slimserver.db instead?

And bear in mind that it's a hidden file (. at the start), so an 'ls -a' is
what you want to make it show up ;)


-- Jules

----- Original Message -----
From: "kdf" <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Sunday, October 10, 2004 7:42 AM
Subject: [slim] Music library cache on Kuro-Box (Buffalo LinkStation)


> it could be in /usr/local/slimserver/Cache/./slimserver.db
> or ~/.slimserver.db
> -kdf
>
>
> Quoting Avi Schwartz <slim (AT) cfftechnologies (DOT) com>:
>
>> Do you know in which directory the music library is cached? I am
>> wondering if I have permission problems.
>>
>> Avi
>>
>> Jason Rimmer wrote:
>>
>> > I also have a KuroBox and haven't had any trouble with the
>> > caching. I don't believe I've changed any slimserver settings. Is
>> > there a convenient way to compare notes?
>> >
>> > Avi Schwartz wrote:
>> >
>> >> Hi,
>> >>
>> >> I installed the slimserver on a kuro box (the more easily hackable
>> >> version of the Buffalo LinkStation) and since the machine is not
>> >> exactly a speed demon, it is very important for me to be able to
>> >> cache the music library. Right now, if I restart the box or the
>> >> slimserver, I need to rescan my library (of over 15,000 items). Even
>> >> though I set the sever to cache the library it does not do so. Since
>> >> this is the first time I am running slimserver from Linux (I am
>> >> normally using an iMac for that), I don't know whether caching is
>> >> supposed to work. If it does, any idea where would this cache be
>> >> created? Any idea where to look for a reason it is not created?
>> >>
>> >> Thanks,
>> >> Avi
>> >
>>
>>

Avi Schwartz
2004-10-10, 11:11
I still cannot get slimserver to create the cache database.

Have you installed the server from the RPM or from the tarball?

I installed the rpm via

rpm -i slimserver-2004_10_10-1.noarch.rpm

Avi

Jules Taplin wrote:

> Erm. Shouldn't that read:
>
> /usr/local/slimserver/Cache/.slimserver.db instead?
>
> And bear in mind that it's a hidden file (. at the start), so an 'ls
> -a' is what you want to make it show up ;)
>
>
> -- Jules
>
> ----- Original Message ----- From: "kdf" <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com>
>
>> it could be in /usr/local/slimserver/Cache/./slimserver.db
>> or ~/.slimserver.db
>> -kdf
>>
>>
>> Quoting Avi Schwartz <slim (AT) cfftechnologies (DOT) com>:
>>
>>> Do you know in which directory the music library is cached? I am
>>> wondering if I have permission problems.
>>>
>>> Avi
>>>
>>> Jason Rimmer wrote:
>>>
>>> > I also have a KuroBox and haven't had any trouble with the
>>> > caching. I don't believe I've changed any slimserver settings. Is
>>> > there a convenient way to compare notes?
>>> >
>>> > Avi Schwartz wrote:
>>> >
>>> >> Hi,
>>> >>
>>> >> I installed the slimserver on a kuro box (the more easily hackable
>>> >> version of the Buffalo LinkStation) and since the machine is not
>>> >> exactly a speed demon, it is very important for me to be able to
>>> >> cache the music library. Right now, if I restart the box or the
>>> >> slimserver, I need to rescan my library (of over 15,000 items).
>>> Even
>>> >> though I set the sever to cache the library it does not do so.
>>> Since
>>> >> this is the first time I am running slimserver from Linux (I am
>>> >> normally using an iMac for that), I don't know whether caching is
>>> >> supposed to work. If it does, any idea where would this cache be
>>> >> created? Any idea where to look for a reason it is not created?
>>> >>
>>> >> Thanks,
>>> >> Avi
>>

Jason Rimmer
2004-10-10, 21:36
I installed via tarball. Frankly it didn't even occur to me to try the
RPM. The cache is stored as /root/.slimserver.db.
Feel free to email me directly if you'd like to try to work through the
issue.

Avi Schwartz wrote:
> I still cannot get slimserver to create the cache database.
>
> Have you installed the server from the RPM or from the tarball?
>
> I installed the rpm via
>
> rpm -i slimserver-2004_10_10-1.noarch.rpm
>
> Avi

--
Jason Rimmer
jrimmer at irth dot net

Avi Schwartz
2004-10-11, 07:20
Avi Schwartz wrote:

> Hi,
>
> I installed the slimserver on a kuro box (the more easily hackable
> version of the Buffalo LinkStation) and since the machine is not
> exactly a speed demon, it is very important for me to be able to cache
> the music library. Right now, if I restart the box or the slimserver,
> I need to rescan my library (of over 15,000 items). Even though I set
> the sever to cache the library it does not do so. Since this is the
> first time I am running slimserver from Linux (I am normally using an
> iMac for that), I don't know whether caching is supposed to work. If
> it does, any idea where would this cache be created? Any idea where
> to look for a reason it is not created?

Looks like the problem was an incomplete or old perl installation. At
first I had version 5.6 of perl installed from the binaries archive I
downloaded from http://www.revogear.com/. Once I installed perl 5.8 and
all the other required rpms from the Yellow Dog Linux site the problem
fixed itself. Now the cache database is created and used.

Thanks everyone,

Avi

Craig Votava
2004-10-11, 18:48
Avi-

Good work! I've been having the exact same problem on my original
120G hacked buffalo linkstation. I installed the latest perl from
the Yellow Dog rpm's, but I never modified the slimserver.pl file
to use it. I was picking up the version of perl that originally came
with the linkstation. Not only was I seeing the no-cache problem that
you described, but over time (days) the songs started halting in
the middle of playback. I'm suspecting there was a memory leak in
the older version of perl. I'm hoping the new version solves that
and possibly other problems that I haven't even run into yet.

Good Job!

-Craig

Avi Schwartz wrote:
> Looks like the problem was an incomplete or old perl installation. At
> first I had version 5.6 of perl installed from the binaries archive I
> downloaded from http://www.revogear.com/. Once I installed perl 5.8 and
> all the other required rpms from the Yellow Dog Linux site the problem
> fixed itself. Now the cache database is created and used.
>
> Thanks everyone,
>
> Avi

zanbo
2004-10-11, 21:30
Hi,
I'm trying to install slimserver on a buffalo linkstation, but I have no
idea which rpms I need. Can you help me out?

Thanks,
Dan
----- Original Message -----
From: "Craig Votava" <cmvotava (AT) comcast (DOT) net>
To: <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Monday, October 11, 2004 6:48 PM
Subject: [slim] SOLVED: Music library cache on Kuro-Box
(BuffaloLinkStation)


> Avi-
>
> Good work! I've been having the exact same problem on my original
> 120G hacked buffalo linkstation. I installed the latest perl from
> the Yellow Dog rpm's, but I never modified the slimserver.pl file
> to use it. I was picking up the version of perl that originally came
> with the linkstation. Not only was I seeing the no-cache problem that
> you described, but over time (days) the songs started halting in
> the middle of playback. I'm suspecting there was a memory leak in
> the older version of perl. I'm hoping the new version solves that
> and possibly other problems that I haven't even run into yet.
>
> Good Job!
>
> -Craig
>
> Avi Schwartz wrote:
>> Looks like the problem was an incomplete or old perl installation. At
>> first I had version 5.6 of perl installed from the binaries archive I
>> downloaded from http://www.revogear.com/. Once I installed perl 5.8 and
>> all the other required rpms from the Yellow Dog Linux site the problem
>> fixed itself. Now the cache database is created and used.
>>
>> Thanks everyone,
>>
>> Avi
>
>

Avi Schwartz
2004-10-11, 22:17
zanbo wrote:

> Hi,
> I'm trying to install slimserver on a buffalo linkstation, but I have
> no idea which rpms I need. Can you help me out?

I have the following rpms installed on my kuro-box. They were all
downloaded from http://ydl.osuosl.org/yellowdog-3.0/en/os/YellowDog/RPMS/

Be aware that for the whole thing to work cleanly I had to extract some
utilities (like chkconfig and service) from some other RPMS. They are
not really necessary but I wanted the slimserver rpm to install
cleanly. Also the list contains some rpms you don't need (like ntp).
I'd recommend that you start clean, ie. Download the 3 perl rpms and try
to install them. You will get errors which will tell you what else is
missing, download and install these and repeat until you can get a clean
install. You may also need to install the rpms with --nodeps and/or
--ignorearch but use them only if you really need to. Also a good one
to download is wget so you can download the rpms directly into the
linkstation.

glibc-2.3.1-51a
termcap-11.0.1-13
mktemp-1.5-16
db4-4.0.14-14
sh-utils-2.0.12-3
info-4.2-5
gdbm-1.8.0-18
perl-Filter-1.28-9
gawk-3.1.1-4
libacl-2.0.11-2
grep-2.5.1-4
textutils-2.0.21-5
popt-1.7-9d
bzip2-libs-1.0.2-5
libcap-1.10-12
slimserver-2004_10_10-1
glibc-common-2.3.1-51a
zlib-1.1.4-4
libtermcap-2.0.8-31
bash-2.05b-5b
db4-utils-4.0.14-14
ncurses-5.2-28
sed-3.02-13
perl-5.8.0-55e
perl-Time-HiRes-1.20-23
libattr-2.0.8-3
pcre-3.9-5
fileutils-4.1.9-11
shadow-utils-4.0.3-6
libelf-0.8.2-2
rpm-4.1-9d
ntp-4.1.1a-9

-- Avi