PDA

View Full Version : Connection via a Cisco Switch



Rod Savard
2004-10-08, 17:04
Can you get to the IOS command line? If so, run "sh tech" and post the
results here. Maybe someone can spot a problem with the switch config.

-Rod

> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com [mailto:discuss-
> bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Nick Locke
> Sent: Friday, October 08, 2004 3:36 PM
> To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> Subject: [slim] Connection via a Cisco Switch
>
> My squeezebox has stopped working, I think, since I swapped my hub for a
> switch. It gets an IP address via DHCP. It then says it can't locate the
> Slimserver. If I enter the server address manually, it says that it has
lost
> contact.
>
> >From the server, I can ping the Squeezebox.
>
> If I run the Slimserver GUI, I can see everything else, but there is a
> stubborn "Your player was not found" on the right hand pane.
>
> I have tried Softsqueeze and it just sits there on a "connecting" message.
>
> I'm sure it's something to do with the Switch, but I'm not sure where to
start
> looking.
>
> All ideas welcome.
>
> Thanks,
>
> Nick
>
>

ken crozier
2004-10-11, 17:42
There could be a couple of different problems to are seeing, from 100FE
not negotiating the speed, duplex wrong, to STP 'portfast' not being
enabled for the client ports

What model of switch do you have ?

ken c

Rod Savard wrote:
> Can you get to the IOS command line? If so, run "sh tech" and post the
> results here. Maybe someone can spot a problem with the switch config.
>
> -Rod
>
>
>>-----Original Message-----
>>From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com [mailto:discuss-
>>bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Nick Locke
>>Sent: Friday, October 08, 2004 3:36 PM
>>To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
>>Subject: [slim] Connection via a Cisco Switch
>>
>>My squeezebox has stopped working, I think, since I swapped my hub for a
>>switch. It gets an IP address via DHCP. It then says it can't locate the
>>Slimserver. If I enter the server address manually, it says that it has
>
> lost
>
>>contact.
>>
>>>From the server, I can ping the Squeezebox.
>>
>>If I run the Slimserver GUI, I can see everything else, but there is a
>>stubborn "Your player was not found" on the right hand pane.
>>
>>I have tried Softsqueeze and it just sits there on a "connecting" message.
>>
>>I'm sure it's something to do with the Switch, but I'm not sure where to
>
> start
>
>>looking.
>>
>>All ideas welcome.
>>
>>Thanks,
>>
>>Nick
>>
>>