PDA

View Full Version : Connection via a Cisco Switch



Nick Locke
2004-10-08, 15:35
My squeezebox has stopped working, I think, since I swapped my hub for a
switch. It gets an IP address via DHCP. It then says it can't locate the
Slimserver. If I enter the server address manually, it says that it has lost
contact.

From the server, I can ping the Squeezebox.

If I run the Slimserver GUI, I can see everything else, but there is a
stubborn "Your player was not found" on the right hand pane.

I have tried Softsqueeze and it just sits there on a "connecting" message.

I'm sure it's something to do with the Switch, but I'm not sure where to start
looking.

All ideas welcome.

Thanks,

Nick

Nick Locke
2004-10-09, 00:47
Rod Savard <rodney@...> writes:

>
> Can you get to the IOS command line? If so, run "sh tech" and post the
> results here. Maybe someone can spot a problem with the switch config.
>
> -Rod
>

Thanks Rod - that's the encouragement I needed to solder up that RJ45 to 9-Pin
cable and start digging! As it stands, I have done a factory reset - which, I
thought, simply let everything through ---- perhaps not!

I'll get that done, have a look myself and get back on here if I'm still
struggling.

Thanks again.

seanadams
2004-10-10, 21:42
Nick,

Dan has also reported this problem with the 2924xl. I'll assume that's
what you have.

For what it's worth, we use 2924XL switches here for factory testing.
Every day we run several batches of Squeezeboxes through, 16 at a time,
and have never seen any problems with Ethernet. We use static IP and
server assignment for this. Maybe there's a problem just with
broadcasts?

Anyway there are a few possibilities that we should try to rule in/out:

1) electrical problem - signals just not getting through cleanly due to
impedance mismatch, crosstalk, wrong levels, etc. I think this is very
unlikely unless it's a cable problem.

2) low-level link problem - full/half duplex detection not working,
timing problem, collision handling problem...

3) something else?

At any rate I find it very odd that the only ethernet-related problem
we've ever heard of has been with this particular switch. Is there
something unique about the 2924xl's interfaces? Personally I've been
using them for years in all kinds of environments (including
SLIMP3/Squeezebox) and have never seen any problems...

Some things to try:

- what do you see when you view the port status? (current state, error
counters etc)

- try disabling auto-detect, and locking the port to full duplex

- reset to factory defaults - if you don't have a complex config then
this shouldn't be a problem. If you DO have a complex config then I'd
bet it's something about that config that's breaking it.

- try different cabling. Make sure it's CAT5 and wired correctly:

orange-white
orange
green-white
blue
blue-white
green
brown-white
brown

Nearly all ethernet problems that we encounter are caused by an
ethernet cable that was wired like a phone cable (i.e. pairs arranged
incorrectly). This is especially a problem at longer distances, and
it's a mistake that's found very frequently in professional home
installations.

The good news is if we do find a bug on the squeezebox side, it can
almost certainly be fixed in firmware as this is one of very few
products in the world to feature a purely software ethernet MAC. :)

Hope this helps.

Sean


On Oct 9, 2004, at 12:47 AM, Nick Locke wrote:

> Rod Savard <rodney@...> writes:
>
>>
>> Can you get to the IOS command line? If so, run "sh tech" and post the
>> results here. Maybe someone can spot a problem with the switch
>> config.
>>
>> -Rod
>>
>
> Thanks Rod - that's the encouragement I needed to solder up that RJ45
> to 9-Pin
> cable and start digging! As it stands, I have done a factory reset -
> which, I
> thought, simply let everything through ---- perhaps not!
>
> I'll get that done, have a look myself and get back on here if I'm
> still
> struggling.
>
> Thanks again.
>
>

Dan Sully
2004-10-22, 17:55
* Sean Adams <sadams (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com> shaped the electrons to say...

>Dan has also reported this problem with the 2924xl. I'll assume that's
>what you have.
>
>For what it's worth, we use 2924XL switches here for factory testing.
>Every day we run several batches of Squeezeboxes through, 16 at a time,
>and have never seen any problems with Ethernet. We use static IP and
>server assignment for this. Maybe there's a problem just with broadcasts?

So I took some time to debug this today - if I turn on "spanning-tree
portfast" for the interface the Squeezebox is connected to, everything works.

-D
--
Minds are like parachutes... they work best when open.