PDA

View Full Version : Audible delay between synchronized slimp3 and squeezebox?



Ert
2004-10-06, 17:57
I just got a Squeezebox after being a happy owner of a slimp3 for two
years and contemplating running ethernet cable in my new home.
Excellent product!

I'm having an issue where synchronization between the two devices
generally works, but with decent frequency they get out of sync with
each other by what sounds like a few hundred milliseconds -- enough to
be annoying, anyway.

Starting a new track generally corrects the problem, but if I'm in the
middle of a half hour MP3 (which, not infrequently, I actually am) it
seems that I need to just suck it up -- FF and REW still seem to be
broken, so I can't restart the track and FF to where I was.

It's particularly bad on radio streams, which seem to stutter on the
Squeezebox when they first connect, but not on the slimp3, and they
just get off to a bad start right away.


So. Anyone else see this? Is there any way to just ask the two
devices to try resyncing without changing the position in the current
stream, or manually adding a ms delay to one stream to correct?

- Ert

Gregory P. Smith
2004-10-17, 15:51
Same or worse slimp3+squeeze "sync" behaviour here (though admittedly
its been a month since i've bothered trying). its broken. off by a
quarter to half a second most of the time so i can't use them synced.

On Wed, Oct 06, 2004 at 08:57:25PM -0400, Ert wrote:
> I just got a Squeezebox after being a happy owner of a slimp3 for two
> years and contemplating running ethernet cable in my new home.
> Excellent product!
>
> I'm having an issue where synchronization between the two devices
> generally works, but with decent frequency they get out of sync with
> each other by what sounds like a few hundred milliseconds -- enough to
> be annoying, anyway.
>
> Starting a new track generally corrects the problem, but if I'm in the
> middle of a half hour MP3 (which, not infrequently, I actually am) it
> seems that I need to just suck it up -- FF and REW still seem to be
> broken, so I can't restart the track and FF to where I was.
....
> - Ert