PDA

View Full Version : This is not a current issue



pski
2011-09-01, 18:05
Mostly because people don't have more than one server.

If you do have more than one SBS, it seems you cannot play from server 2 if the players were previously playing from server 1 and server 1 is turned-off.

Retarded?

Paul

pippin
2011-09-01, 19:10
wrong. You can. You just have to connect the player to the second server somehow.
One way would be to use SvrPowerControl to automatically move players to MySB when shutting down server #1.

Mnyb
2011-09-01, 19:23
Switchnserver menu on the player is that not working as it should ?

Some pad and phone apps is helpfull for auch transitions to ?

JJZolx
2011-09-01, 20:32
I have no problem running multiple servers, shutting them down, starting them up, connecting and disconnecting to them as I like.

The only (small) inconvenience I've encountered is in the web interface, where if players are connected to one server and you shut that server down, then you can't pull players to a new server using the web UI. I believe the reason for this is that the transfer of players is between the servers themselves, so if the server with the players isn't running, then obviously the other server can't ask which players are connected to it. I don't use iPeng or a Controller, but wouldn't be surprised if they have the same issue. You can still switch between servers from the players themselves, though.

toby10
2011-09-02, 02:42
I have no problem switching between two SBS servers and MySB using the players menu. SBS web UI "grabbing" players has been broken for quite a while.

JJZolx
2011-09-02, 06:53
SBS web UI "grabbing" players has been broken for quite a while.

How so?

pippin
2011-09-02, 07:16
You don't see other servers' players.

JJZolx
2011-09-02, 07:32
You don't see other servers' players.

I certainly see them. I thought that bug had been completely fixed, even players attached to mysb.com (although I haven't verified that part).

pippin
2011-09-02, 08:35
Players on MySB: yes
Players on other servers: no

At least that's what I see.

Players on other servers was the question here.

Mnyb
2011-09-02, 08:36
I certainly see them. I thought that bug had been completely fixed, even players attached to mysb.com (although I haven't verified that part).

that should be fixed was it not a 7.5.x problem for a while, it has been broken on earlier versions to, but afiak it should work

Mnyb
2011-09-02, 08:41
switching to and from mysb.com works as it should in 7.6.2 just tried mysb.com also worked ;) so it was possible to try

JJZolx
2011-09-02, 08:47
Players on MySB: yes
Players on other servers: no

At least that's what I see.

Players on other servers was the question here.

Works perfectly for me. Are we still talking about the web interface, or are you talking about using the CLI from your iPeng app?

pippin
2011-09-02, 08:57
Works perfectly for me. Are we still talking about the web interface, or are you talking about using the CLI from your iPeng app?

No. CLI from iPeng works just fine but then iPeng looks for servers itself.

Right now I'm running three servers here, all on the same network, two of the 7.6 one 7.5. Different OSs (Ubuntu and OSX)
All of them have players connected.

The ubuntu 7.6 server (7.6.1 release) sees the players from the OSX server (7.6.2 nightly) and the ones from MySB but not the ones from the 7.5.5 server

The OSX 7.6 server only sees the players from MySB

The 7.5.5 server also sees the players from the OSX server and from MySB but not from the 7.6.1 server.

The OSX one is a test server only so I was mislead into thinking this actually never works but it looks like it works sporadically.

JJZolx
2011-09-02, 09:03
This is my 7.6.2 server, which sees players connected to my 7.5.6 server.

pippin
2011-09-02, 09:07
I don't doubt that, I just say it seems to be unreliable.

pallfreeman
2011-09-02, 11:08
Do any of your SBS boxes have more than one active ethernet?

I haven't yet tracked down the exact problem, but I think something odd is happening with SBS broadcasts on boxes with more than one interface.

pski
2011-09-02, 11:17
This is my 7.6.2 server, which sees players connected to my 7.5.6 server.

Yes, but the 7.5.6 server is active. If it were not, the only way to move the players is via menu on the device or using Duet. Additionally, each player must be selected and changed individually.

P

pski
2011-09-02, 11:18
Do any of your SBS boxes have more than one active ethernet?

I haven't yet tracked down the exact problem, but I think something odd is happening with SBS broadcasts on boxes with more than one interface.

No. One ethernet to a customer.

p

dsdreamer
2011-09-02, 11:29
I have two Linux servers running in my home (Vortexbox and Linkstation), and all is golden regarding seeing players on the "other" server, and moving them around from the web interface. I suppose Linux hosts are less likely to have security software that could defeat the discovery mechanism?

pski
2011-09-02, 11:36
I have two Linux servers running in my home (Vortexbox and Linkstation), and all is golden regarding seeing players on the "other" server, and moving them around from the web interface. I suppose Linux hosts are less likely to have security software that could defeat the discovery mechanism?

Everything IS golden as long as the SBS instances are running

P

JJZolx
2011-09-02, 13:07
Yes, but the 7.5.6 server is active. If it were not, the only way to move the players is via menu on the device or using Duet. Additionally, each player must be selected and changed individually.

Has it ever worked differently? The list of available players that you see in the web interface is pulled from other servers on the network.

I suppose it would be nice if it also listed unattached players, but if I ever need to use the feature I either remember to move the players over before shutting down the first server, or else fire it back up so that I can grab the players.

pski
2011-09-02, 17:15
Has it ever worked differently? The list of available players that you see in the web interface is pulled from other servers on the network.

I suppose it would be nice if it also listed unattached players, but if I ever need to use the feature I either remember to move the players over before shutting down the first server, or else fire it back up so that I can grab the players.

Actually, this is the first time it's been an issue when I DID move the players before the upgrade and they went missing anyway. I can say it does not involve sleep/hibernate.

Since discovery IS on a dedicated and formally assigned port, I really don't see why the code would be complicated.

P

JJZolx
2011-09-02, 17:37
Since discovery IS on a dedicated and formally assigned port, I really don't see why the code would be complicated.

Probably just very little call for it. I imagine the main focus of the feature is being able to pull players away from mysb.com, in which case it means that you do have both servers running.

Other than that, unattached players have always had to explicitly connect themselves to a server, and never the other way around. Even in the simple example with only one server and a newly configured player that hasn't yet been attached to anything, the server can't connect to the player - it must be done from the player.

pippin
2011-09-02, 17:54
Except if you use the Controller or iPeng which both can connect unconnected players - although I'm not 100% sure iPeng will always work for all player models.

pski
2011-09-02, 18:10
Probably just very little call for it. I imagine the main focus of the feature is being able to pull players away from mysb.com, in which case it means that you do have both servers running.

Other than that, unattached players have always had to explicitly connect themselves to a server, and never the other way around. Even in the simple example with only one server and a newly configured player that hasn't yet been attached to anything, the server can't connect to the player - it must be done from the player.

Yes but as earlier, this is the first time that players went missing when they were connected to an active server. I was using the "backup server" last PM while the "upgraded VBox" was scanning...

P

pski
2011-09-02, 18:13
Probably just very little call for it. I imagine the main focus of the feature is being able to pull players away from mysb.com, in which case it means that you do have both servers running.

Other than that, unattached players have always had to explicitly connect themselves to a server, and never the other way around. Even in the simple example with only one server and a newly configured player that hasn't yet been attached to anything, the server can't connect to the player - it must be done from the player.

Anyone serious would, of course, have a "backup" music server and changing from the "live" to the "backup" server is part of recovery testing. Recovery testing is done at least each month from my professional experience.

P

Mnyb
2011-09-02, 22:14
odd design decision anyway , I can imagine players getting lost in space when mysb.com is involved.
Web UI should be able to fetch player unconditionally any bug on this ?

there are thoose running recievers without a controllers, I know they should be completely aware that that mode of operation is not suported by logitech. In the long run it's seems the recievers are outliving the controllers so it would be more users doing this in the future.

toby10
2011-09-03, 02:16
How so?

Meaning I can see the player in the SBS web UI drop down list connected to another server (SBS or MySB).
But if I select that player via the web UI it does not "grab" that player from the other server as it used to do.

pski
2011-09-03, 14:33
Meaning I can see the player in the SBS web UI drop down list connected to another server (SBS or MySB).
But if I select that player via the web UI it does not "grab" that player from the other server as it used to do.

I'm having this issue as well as 'Your player was not found'

P

pski
2011-09-03, 14:35
Meaning I can see the player in the SBS web UI drop down list connected to another server (SBS or MySB).
But if I select that player via the web UI it does not "grab" that player from the other server as it used to do.

I do not use MySB unless it's involved in delivering Pandora (and then only occasionally.)

I typed also to the other message. I have the "no grab" issue also.

P