PDA

View Full Version : Boom crashes my linksys router

kotarak
2011-08-26, 08:16
Hey guys,

I have a problem with my new Boom, crashing my linksys router every time I try to access Internet from the Boom (Internet Radio, connecting to mysqueezebox.com etc). It will not connect to the internet source and then the linksys router (BSFX41) will just crash - all light blinking and no access to the router, droping Internet for the whole network. Restart of the router fixes the problem until I try to play Internet Radio on the Boom again.
Other than that my network has been very stable and I've been using this configuration for many years with number of machines and wireless devices (smart phines, linksys media players, etc). The trouble started when I bought the Boom.

I tried both static IP and DHCP to no avail. I am connecting the Boom via wireless connection (Linksys access point WAP54 connected to the router) and the Squeezebox server (ver. 7.5.4) is running on Synology DiskStation DS710+).
The boom never looses connectivity to the rest of the network and the Squezeebox server even when the router crashes - it works fine and plays from the music library located on the NAS.
The issiue is only apperant when the Boom looks "outside" of my LAN - even the SuperDateTime plugin or RSS feed will crash the router.
btw. the linksys firmware is up to date and I never had such problems with anything else.

Any help willl be greatly apreciated!

Mnyb
2011-08-26, 08:30
What is the booms ip adress gataway , dns, etc,.What is the router ip ?

can it be some ip conflict

kotarak
2011-08-26, 08:48
The router is set as 192.168.1.1
when in DHCP mode it assigns IPs in the range of .100 to .129.
The boom usually gets .105 or .106 as there are other devices on the net using DHCP.
I also tested the Boom in static IP mode with different IPs that I know for sure are available.