PDA

View Full Version : Wireless with WEP and no SSID b-cast



Andy F
2004-10-03, 09:06
Hi Pete,

It took me weeks of trial and error before I finally figured out that
my SB only worked when I used a really plain SSID. Now it works with
SSID broadcast disabled and 128bit WEP.

Andy F


> Hi-
>
> I just got the wireless box, and while I can get it to work through the
> ethernet port, I can't connect to my wireless (which is configured not
> to broadcast the SSID and 128bit WEP). Does anyone have any thoughts?
> I have tested the box's wireless by trying to connect to a non-encrypted
> network w/SSID broadcast, and that works fine.
>
> Thanks.

dean
2004-10-03, 10:50
Can you guys post more details? What access point make/model are you
using? What are the various settings? (SSID string, etc...)


On Oct 3, 2004, at 9:06 AM, Andy F wrote:

>
> Hi Pete,
>
> It took me weeks of trial and error before I finally figured out that
> my SB only worked when I used a really plain SSID. Now it works with
> SSID broadcast disabled and 128bit WEP.
>
> Andy F
>
>
>> Hi-
>>
>> I just got the wireless box, and while I can get it to work through
>> the
>> ethernet port, I can't connect to my wireless (which is configured not
>> to broadcast the SSID and 128bit WEP). Does anyone have any thoughts?
>> I have tested the box's wireless by trying to connect to a
>> non-encrypted
>> network w/SSID broadcast, and that works fine.
>>
>> Thanks.
>
>

seanadams
2004-10-03, 20:36
Andy

Do you remember specifically what SSID was causing problems?

It's supposed to handle any string that you can enter.

Sean

On Oct 3, 2004, at 9:06 AM, Andy F wrote:

>
> Hi Pete,
>
> It took me weeks of trial and error before I finally figured out that
> my SB only worked when I used a really plain SSID. Now it works with
> SSID broadcast disabled and 128bit WEP.
>
> Andy F
>
>
>> Hi-
>>
>> I just got the wireless box, and while I can get it to work through
>> the
>> ethernet port, I can't connect to my wireless (which is configured not
>> to broadcast the SSID and 128bit WEP). Does anyone have any thoughts?
>> I have tested the box's wireless by trying to connect to a
>> non-encrypted
>> network w/SSID broadcast, and that works fine.
>>
>> Thanks.
>
>