PDA

View Full Version : 7.6 and MusicIP not working



bobkoure
2011-08-08, 19:06
I had 7.5 and MusicIP working fine together.
I now have no 'M' icon to the right of the track listing in the Web UI.

I've tried
- complete uninstallation / reinstallation
- deleting cache
- multiple "Remove all and rescan"

MusicIP itself, seems fine (both the desktop client and the modified web UI from SpiceFly)

The SBS scanner seems to be running an import


11-08-08 11:48:19.3307] Slim::Music::Import::runImporter (460) Starting Slim::Plugin::MusicMagic::Importer scan
[11-08-08 11:53:35.8809] Slim::Music::Import::endImporter (592) Completed Slim::Plugin::MusicMagic::Importer Scan in 316 seconds.


In the SBS control panel I have
- Additional Playlist Buttons checked
- Plugins/MusicIP checked

I've tried this as many different ways as I can think of.
Help?

Thanks!

yeomanspc
2011-08-09, 00:45
Me too.
It's on the list of things that have been broken by 7.6 to go fix. I know some people have it working ok though.

MusicIP is working fine, but no recognition of it in SBS.
I am runnning MIP headless (as specified by Spicefly sugarcube.) Not had issues for a long time.

Sigh..
If you manage to fix, please post back the cure. I'll be taking a look this evening and will do the same.

epoch1970
2011-08-09, 01:49
I have 7.6.0 And MIP running fine together. I use the SBS MIP plugin.

Perhaps you want to stop/start SBS again and see if you get the M as expected.
Under any version of SBS this has been a problem : if MIP is not up and running when SBS initializes, the plugin is not enabled, so no M. You have to make sure MIP is up and running before starting SBS.

HTH

yeomanspc
2011-08-09, 02:19
Thanks, but I've done that already. Stopped server. Checked MIP is running and mixing on port 10002. Restarted SBS. No 'm'.
MIP is generating playlists using spicefly web interface.

7.5.5 is sitting there smiling at me.. I'm trying to remember why I ever installed 7.6 now.
I'm on 7.6.1-33004 7th August build. Win7 64bit Ultimate.

mjm2705
2011-08-09, 04:53
I raised an issue with the iTunes scanner on 7.6 and it appears to be a known issue which also affects MusicIP.

Check this thread for status and link to bug report.

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=89272

mherger
2011-08-09, 04:56
> I had 7.5 and MusicIP working fine together.
> I now have no 'M' icon to the right of the track listing in the Web
> UI.

Good news: MIP very likels still is working for you too. Bad news: the UI has changed slightly.

The M icon no longer is for MusicIP, but for More. You'd get a menu with various options, one of which would be MusicIP. This is the same menu you already got on Radio/Touch/Controller by pressing the + (More) button. The same again can be found on Classic/Boom by pressing & holding the play button. But you wouldn't get the small M icon top right on those players any more.

--

Michael

bobkoure
2011-08-09, 05:24
Michael:
I thought the way it worked was that there were 'M' icons on the left panel that meant 'more' and 'M' icons on the right panel that meant 'mixer'. At least that that's the way it worked for me, way back in the early betas, which I had to move back away from because of scanner issues.
BTW, it seems to have vanished from Squeeze Commander as well.

Yeoman: Thanks for the response! I thought I was causing the problem myself somehow.

MJM: I'm not sure that bug is causing a musicIP issue. Time to find a SQLite utility and see what's actually in the db, I guess.

BTW, restarting everything is the first thing I do.
If you have SBS running on a win server, there's a utility called psservice that will let you do this remotely. I have a shortcut that's
psservice \\server4 restart "Squeezebox Server"

As for making sure MusicIP is running, I have the SBS service 'depending' on the MusicIP service, so the system will startup MusicIP before starting SBS.

erland
2011-08-09, 07:01
Michael:
I thought the way it worked was that there were 'M' icons on the left panel that meant 'more' and 'M' icons on the right panel that meant 'mixer'. At least that that's the way it worked for me, way back in the early betas, which I had to move back away from because of scanner issues.

How you describe it is how it worked in 7.6.1 last time I checked and I'm guessing it's still the case unless Michael has changed something recently.

bobkoure
2011-08-09, 08:00
OK, I'm looking at the schema.
I'm assuming that the entry musicmagic_mixable is in four tables (albums, contributors, genres, tracks) is for performance(?)
...although I find the entries in contributors and genre a bit puzzling.

Got a GUI to recommend for SQLite? With the command line utility when I run 'select musicmagic_mixable from tracks' (or the other 3 tables) I get a bunch of empty lines. I'd guess that those are nulls, and so indicate that the MusicIP phase of the scanner isn't working correctly (also assuming that musicmagic_mixable==FALSE means 'not mixable').

Come to think of it, given that all my tracks are mixable (well, 98%) maybe I should just alter these entries to TRUE and see what happens(?)
Any notion of how to update integer data from the command line util? I've tried 'UPDATE albums SET musicmagic_mixable=1', which indeed sets them all to 1 - but I'm pretty sure that's ASCII '1' and not 0x01 - and 0x01 is unrecognized. Sigh...

bobkoure
2011-08-09, 08:41
NOTE: this issue is fixed and this hack is no longer necessary.


1) download the command line shell from http://www.sqlite.org/download.html
2) be sure SBS is stopped
3) make a copy of squeezebox.db in the SBS cache folder
4) open the db sqlite3 squeezebox.db
5) run the following commands
UPDATE albums SET musicmagic_mixable=1;
UPDATE contributors SET musicmagic_mixable=1;
UPDATE genres SET musicmagic_mixable=1;
UPDATE tracks SET musicmagic_mixable=1;

4/5 alt)Alternately, you can do steps 4 and 5 together by running the following from the command prompt

sqlite3 squeezebox.db "UPDATE albums SET musicmagic_mixable=1; UPDATE contributors SET musicmagic_mixable=1; UPDATE genres SET musicmagic_mixable=1; UPDATE tracks SET musicmagic_mixable=1;"

6) start sbs

This works for me. It may or may not for you. I haven't any testing other than to run it
If it doesn't work for you, or causes other problems, just replace your modified squeezebox.db with the copy you made
Note that you are marking all tracks as mixable. Now, if you click the 'M' to the right of a track, and that track is not mixable, you'll get an empty mix (I think - no way for me to test this)

BTW, I'm still unsure as to whether I'm setting those fields to ASCII '1' or to 0x01. I would not expect a loosely typed db to coerce one to the other; maybe the SBS code is using non-zero to mean true and it doesn't matter?

Figured it out - SQLite will convert whatever you're putting into an integer field into an integer, if it can. So 'TRUE' is inserted as a string, but '1' is converted and then inserted as 0x01

bobkoure
2011-08-09, 09:00
I'm not sure that this is the same as bug 17358, as that one seems to center around the importer not being invoked after a 'scan for new music'.

I get a report of the scanner being run in my scanner log file


[11-08-08 11:48:19.3307] Slim::Music::Import::runImporter (460) Starting Slim::Plugin::MusicMagic::Importer scan
[11-08-08 11:53:35.8809] Slim::Music::Import::endImporter (592) Completed Slim::Plugin::MusicMagic::Importer Scan in 316 seconds.

so I'd guess it's something else going on(?)

I hope I'm wrong as 17358's been assigned...

yeomanspc
2011-08-09, 14:18
Thanks bobkoure. And this is a consumer product?
So I downloaded sqlite and updated the database and now a mip option appears, but no mix is produced - either on the web interface or through a player. But mip produces a mix if called directly (externally to sbs). I double checked all the settings and it seems configured correctly. stopped / restarted sbs and system several times. Now it's only finding 5 of the 12 players connected.
I give up. 7.5 worked, I'm going back (so long as it will let me..). Thanks for your help.

bobkoure
2011-08-09, 17:01
For me, at least, a mix is produced, but it isn't displayed in the left window. Instead, there's a title: Home > [track you mixed on] MusicIP Mix. Beneath that is All Songs. If you hover over this, you get the symbols for play/add/remove.
I'm not sure if not showing all the individual tracks in the MusicIP mix is a bug; I think it is, and was going to start a thread around that issue.

I have no idea what the issue with not finding multiple players is all about. I have only classic players (and squezeslave) and they all got found. You'll probably get better results either starting a separate topic or posting in the '7.6 issues' thread.
You should have no problem re-installing 7.5. I tried the 7.6 betas repeatedly, and went back to 7.5 each time. No problems. Just remember that you need to uninstall 7.6 (no 'upgrading' to an earlier version)

jazbo8
2011-08-12, 03:47
You guys are already ahead of me, I can not even get the MIP import to work... The system says it has imported all the songs, but then only like 20 songs show up in the library. Looks like 7.6.1 (or 7.6) is not ready for prime time yet... May try the Logitech Media Server to see if that works better, but I think MIP support on that is dropped completely, but it does have J River's Play Doctor as well as a Last.FM plug-in.

Jaz

yeomanspc
2011-08-12, 13:20
I'm back to 7.5.6 - did a complete clean and re-install (having also done that on 7.6.1) Spent more time than I care on getting it [not] working the last 10 days. But it's stable. I can't imagine LMS is going to be better than 7.6.1 - if you don't access mysqueezebox.com I can honestly recommend going back to 7.5.6 (it just works). Bad news about dropping MIP - first I'd heard. Looks like I'm about to exercise the fall-back plan and freeze everything on 7.5.5 for the forseeable future. I never connect to msb.com so not an issue.
Good luck.

chinablues
2011-08-12, 21:21
The "create Music IP Mix" is there for me when I click on the 'M' for more button when I view albums from the 'Album' view menu from home page, but it's not there when I go to any albums on the 'New Music' menu.

This is on 7.6.1 r33068, but bug was there in earlier versions too. (Windows 7)

Danb

mherger
2011-08-15, 01:29
> The "create Music IP Mix" is there for me when I click on the 'M' for
> more button when I view albums from the 'Album' view menu from home
> page, but it's not there when I go to any albums on the 'New Music'
> menu.

Works for me. Selecting the M button in New Music too?

--

Michael

chinablues
2011-08-15, 04:12
Thanks for reply. Mostly in album view, the IP mix is there, almost always in New Music it isn't there. But it's not consistent. Not sure what is happening. I noticed though that some folder dates were not in agreement with the contained file dates (maybe over 2 years difference). What date does SBS use to identify the 'new music'....file date or folder date? Not sure why this would cause the problem though.

Edit: Looking further, it seems that the IP Mix file set may not be importing properly. As far as I can see, where the IP Mix status is there for an album, it's there in New Music as well as in the Album menu. Just a lot (esp new) that don't have the Áreate music IP mix button.

Dan

aubuti
2011-08-15, 06:50
What date does SBS use to identify the 'new music'....file date or folder date?
I am pretty sure it uses the most recent date for any audio file in an album. So if you edit the tags on one track and your tagging program is set to update the file modification time, then that album becomes your "newest" album.

chinablues
2011-08-15, 07:37
Agree that the file time/date is the key to new music. Out of interest, checked my last scan timings. Music IP import, 14:52 min:secs for 68152 files. Seems very short to me? Music file scan shows 68141 music tracks, so some small error in count. But if 14:52 mins is Music IP import time and music scan time for same collection is 1hr 29 mins, maybe I'm losing on the IP import?? I'd hate to wipe my Music IP database & rescan again as that would take days or weeks....and also, Music IP seemed to be working fine in 7.5.5? I'll do another scan tonight & see if that improves things. (actually, I don't use MusicIP mix that much, but hate to see these inconsistencies!)

Dan

mherger
2011-08-15, 07:54
> Music IP seemed to be working fine in 7.5.5? I'll do another scan
> tonight & see if that improves things. (actually, I don't use MusicIP
> mix that much, but hate to see inconsistencies!)

Please note that only the full wipe & rescan will currently work with
MusicIP.

--

Michael

bobkoure
2011-08-15, 08:51
Hmmm... Dan mentions that he's getting a short MusicIP import, not missing one at all.
Does that fit?
FWIW, I've been seeing a very short one as well (330 odd secs for 75K tracks). The scanner's a lot faster, and I've been assuming that whoever wrote the importer came up with a faster way to query whether a track is mixable or a faster way to store the info.
But maybe it's actually a symptom - and I'm seeing it too...

mherger
2011-08-15, 09:20
> Hmmm... Dan mentions that he's getting a short MusicIP import, not
> missing one at all.
> Does that fit?

All of you who have issues with MIP import: are you all on Windows?

--

Michael

bobkoure
2011-08-15, 15:04
Win 2003 server here.

dbinder101
2011-08-15, 17:03
I am having a similar problem with MusicIP and 7.6 (running SBS on Win 7). I loaded up some new flac files, added them to MIP, and then did a full re-scan with 7.6 (I also did it with 7.6.1 just to see if it helped, it didn't). My previous tracks all have the "Create Music IP mix" option. But the new flac files do not. I go into the MIP GUI and I see that those flac files are there and are mixable. I also looked at the log files and there are no errors associated with importing the MusicMagic tracks. So, I'm not sure if this is yet another twist to the saga.

chinablues
2011-08-16, 03:45
Tried a rescan, this time with MIP Plugin set to 'import all song data' as opposed to 'only read mixable status'....this time it appears that Music IP Mix is there for all albums. Took 1 hr 29min to import all data. Not too bad. But previously on 7.5.5, I always had it set to 'only read mixable status' and that always worked OK. Re question, yes, Windows 7.

Dan

slackhead
2011-08-16, 04:49
I have this exact same problem which I reported in the Beta forum some time ago but nobody else had the same issue so it was ignored.

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=87450

Basically the MusicIP import ends at a random point some way through a scan rather than completing the full library. I have circa 50,000 tracks and MusicIP usually only picks up maybe 20% of these, although this figure varies from scan to scan. For some reason it did manage to complete a full scan at some point whilst getting 7.6 to work but I had to do a full rescan to solve other issues and now only get a partial scan. Having full logging enable for MusicIP does not clarify the issue at all.

I am on Windows 7. MusicIP worked fine previously in 7.5.* and Spicefly Sugarcube works OK currently which suggests my MusicIP configuration is OK.

I believe there is an issue with the scanner/importer.

Hope we can get this fixed.

Cheers,
Richard

Nikhil
2011-08-16, 07:40
I was setting up MusicIP and SBS 7.6 for a friend on Win XP and couldn't get it to import MusicIP with the 'only read mixable status' option. It seemed to start when I switched to the 'import all song data' but I got fed up after about an hour of MusicIP import and no discernible progress. Spicefly Sugarcube worked fine though.

Switched to 7.5 and everything worked as expected, though it's slow as molasses.

FWIW, 7.6 and MusicIP are working fine on my own Ubuntu and MacOS 10.6 setups.

Grahame
2011-08-16, 17:00
I'm using Music IP on windows with the 7.6.1 RC

No issues here, and I've tried it with both the Music Folder set explicitly
and left blank (so all data is imported from Music IP, which is faster)

Have you tried it with the Music Folder blank
and Import all song data from Music IP?

Works for me ...

mherger
2011-08-16, 21:37
> FWIW, 7.6 and MusicIP are working fine on my own Ubuntu and MacOS 10.6
> setups.

Thanks for all of your feedback! Investigating this MIP issue we probably found a larger problem for any kind of importer on Windows: while Windows doesn't distinguish between upper- and lowercase drive letters and file/foldernames, SBS' database does. I realised that on my test-box it failed to import most of MIP due to using an uppercase drive letter.

As most Unix based systems are case-sensitive, this issue doesn't hurt there (though OSX by default is not case sensitive). And 7.5 was fine because the database used there treated the file name's column as case insensitive too.

I hope to fix this today.

--

Michael

MeSue
2011-08-17, 09:26
I'm having an issue with Spicefly Sugarcube not working. I have it set to use MIP filters, but I get this entry in the server.log:

[11-08-17 12:15:11.2944] Slim::Plugin::MusicMagic::Common::__ANON__ (75) Failed fetching filters from MusicIP

Created bug report - http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=17458

mr_hyde
2011-08-17, 10:26
I'm having an issue with Spicefly Sugarcube not working. I have it set to use MIP filters, but I get this entry in the server.log:

[11-08-17 12:15:11.2944] Slim::Plugin::MusicMagic::Common::__ANON__ (75) Failed fetching filters from MusicIP

Created bug report - http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=17458

not sure if the error message is related to an issue with sugarcube. I also have this error message, but I can use filters in musicip and sugarcube. running SbS 7.6.1 33094

MeSue
2011-08-17, 11:02
not sure if the error message is related to an issue with sugarcube. I also have this error message, but I can use filters in musicip and sugarcube. running SbS 7.6.1 33094

Well, I have another problem with SugarCube saying I need to install and configure TrackStat (even though it is installed), but I posted about that in the Spicefly forum. I did get SC to add a track once after disabling filters, but then it stopped working again and showed the trackstat error. Ran out of time for troubleshooting so will have to look at it more later.

bobkoure
2011-08-19, 05:27
A lot of the MusicIP issues on Windows were indeed related to case-mismatched volume letters.
If you're running SBS in a win box it's worth upgrading to the nightly (33110 or later). Even if the sugarcube problem is unrelated, you'll have at least removed that complication.

MeSue
2011-08-19, 07:35
A lot of the MusicIP issues on Windows were indeed related to case-mismatched volume letters.
If you're running SBS in a win box it's worth upgrading to the nightly (33110 or later). Even if the sugarcube problem is unrelated, you'll have at least removed that complication.

Yup, Sugarcube working for me now with 33110 (RC3).

tamanaco
2012-10-23, 06:58
[11-08-17 12:15:11.2944] Slim::Plugin::MusicMagic::Common::__ANON__ (75) Failed fetching filters from MusicIP

It's been a while since this was posted, but I've been having this error message in my log for the longest time and have not been able to figure out what's causing it. I set Filters to (NONE) in the MusicIP plugin settings, but I still get the Failed fetching message. I also could not find a setting in SugarCube for MusicIP filters and Trackstat is not enabled in SugarCube. Is there a setting in another plugin I should check or a file or something missing somewhere? I'm running the latest 7.8 LMS release with MusicIP 1.9 beta 6 on Windows 7.

bobkoure
2012-10-24, 05:29
No clue (don't use SugarCube), but you might want to start a separate thread with this post, and include a link to MeSue's post in this thread.
It's been long enough that I had to re-read the entire thread (often thinking I wrote that?).
Not everybody will re-wade through at thread so your audience of potential-answerers is quite reduced.