PDA

View Full Version : ReplayGain - How effective?

JJZolx
2011-07-23, 19:12
I've been using ReplayGain consistently for about the past six months. My library is in Flac and I've added RG tags, both track and album, to all tracks in the library.

Typically, for background listening I have a Transporter (living room), an SB2 (kitchen), and a Radio (bathroom) kept in sync. All of them are set to 'Smart Gain'.

My experience has been that ReplayGain is much less effective than I'd anticipated, and only offers some nominal degree of volume normalization. Particularly when listening to Random Mix, I'm still constantly fiddling with volume on the player in the room that I'm in. If someone were to sneak in and disable ReplayGain on all players, I'm not sure I'd notice.

Your experience?

GeeJay
2011-07-23, 21:25
Every once in awhile I will hear a track that doesn't sound like it has the right adjustment, but by and large it works well for me. I still remember how often I had to change the volume before I had ReplayGain tags; I don't have anything approaching that problem anymore. I used to go back and manually change the value if I thought the track was too loud or too soft, but I haven't done that in awhile, either.

BTW most of my listening is also random, and most of my collection is FLAC. I do seem to recall that when I first applied RG tags to my collection, somehow not all my tracks got tagged. It became very noticeable which tracks didn't have a RG tag, and the volume variation drove me nuts. I went back and retagged the entire collection (and every time I rip a new CD I have dbPowerAmp tag the tracks), and things got much better. On the rare occasion where I buy a track online, if I forget to go back and apply an RG tag it becomes very obvious the first time the track comes up in the mix.

JJZolx
2011-07-23, 21:36