PDA

View Full Version : Can I play music from a CD player over a network to a Squeezebox boom wirelessly?

sizla
2011-07-18, 12:52
Help please on 2 questions:

1) I've got some nice Pioneer CDJ400s and Numark mixer setup in another room.
We have a huge CD collection that will take eternity to rip - is there an easy way to just play a CD on the decks and then for this to play in another room on a Squeezebox boom?

My Squeezebox server is stored on a NAS, and there is CAT5 in the house - but typically, I need to transmit wirelessly to the squeebox boom?

2) I moved from a PC to a Mac recently. I had a script written on my PC that copied any new folders that were added to my iTunes library to a music folder on my NAS wirelessly when I updated a new CD to itunes. Is there a script out there for a mac that I could write - I'm a total novice to mac - and no one I knows can help!

Any help appreciated.

Cheers

TiredLegs
2011-07-19, 11:08
If you had spare CAT5 wires (NOT being used for networking), you could take the analog audio output from the CD player, run it through a set of "baluns" over the CAT5 (such as this: http://www.avovercat5.com/products/avoa2.htm), then into the Line In on the Boom.

However, the real solution is just to knuckle down and rip those CDs. I suggest dBPowerAmp's CD Ripper for that task.

aubuti
2011-07-19, 11:47
However, the real solution is just to knuckle down and rip those CDs. I suggest dBPowerAmp's CD Ripper for that task.
+1
Another way of sending audio from a CD player to a SB is the CDPlayer plugin. The thing is, that depends on using the CD drive on a computer running SBS. Which means (a) you'd have to run SBS on a pc instead of a NAS, and (b) you wouldn't be able to use the CDJ400 etc.

Time to get rippin'

EDIT: Note that for the baluns solution suggested by TiredLegs to work you need to have a direct connection from one end of the cat5 to the other. That is, it cannot go through any network device such as a router, switch, or hub.