PDA

View Full Version : Which AV/ firewall for server



wonder boy
2011-07-03, 08:11
Hi all
Reasonably experience user with 2 booms, radio and SB3. All music is FLAC on xp server.

I use both iPeng and the free logitech controller on my iPhone. The problem is that neither of them are totally reliable or stable.

iPeng seems to be constantly synchronising the cache but then gets stuck about half way.

The logitech controller often just hangs with the spinner going but unresponsive otherwise.

I have MSE and comodo on my server, when I deselect real time protection on MSE iPeng seems much happier. I have also removed comodo to see if this has any effect.

What AV/firewall do others use reliable in my situation. The only time I connect to the internet on server pc is when I am ripping with DB

Thank you

garym
2011-07-03, 08:14
Hi all
Reasonably experience user with 2 booms, radio and SB3. All music is FLAC on xp server.

I use both iPeng and the free logitech controller on my iPhone. The problem is that neither of them are totally reliable or stable.

iPeng seems to be constantly synchronising the cache but then gets stuck about half way.

The logitech controller often just hangs with the spinner going but unresponsive otherwise.

I have MSE and comodo on my server, when I deselect real time protection on MSE iPeng seems much happier. I have also removed comodo to see if this has any effect.

What AV/firewall do others use reliable in my situation. The only time I connect to the internet on server pc is when I am ripping with DB

Thank you

I use MSE, latest version on several different WIN7 and WINxp machines and have no issues with SbS. And I use ipeng on iphone and ipengHD on ipad.

wonder boy
2011-07-03, 08:29
I use MSE, latest version on several different WIN7 and WINxp machines and have no issues with SbS. And I use ipeng on iphone and ipengHD on ipad.

Shoot! I expected someone to reply as such, wonder what could be my issue then?

garym
2011-07-03, 08:56
Shoot! I expected someone to reply as such, wonder what could be my issue then?

in your MSE settings, under "excluded file types", be sure to add these file extensions:

MY*
MYI
MYD

wonder boy
2011-07-03, 11:49
in your MSE settings, under "excluded file types", be sure to add these file extensions:

MY*
MYI
MYD

Thanks, says * cannot be used as a file extension, added other two

JJZolx
2011-07-03, 11:54
I don't use any A/V or firewall on my home file/SBS server. A/V isn't a terrible idea, but I don't like the overhead. Instead, running a daily or weekly file scan seems sufficient.

I do all of my rips on a PC, then send the finished files to the server.

garym
2011-07-03, 12:02
Thanks, says * cannot be used as a file extension, added other two

that should be fine. although odd, as I have all three as excluded extensions in my MSE