PDA

View Full Version : NAS -- Basic Guidance Appreciated

howie.stone
2011-06-27, 03:31
Hi everyone

Right now I'm using a S/B classic with all my music files stored on an external Samsung 1.5 TB Hard drive, with the S/B server running on my desktop computer. I'm thinking of changing to a NAS. But I have some basic questions.

I. Is it a good idea?
2. Which brand (I can see there's an old thread which recommends Vortexbox)
3. How easy is it to set up? (I'm not really a techie)
4. How do you do backup?
5. Will I still be able to use the advanced search feature in the S/B server?
6. How does it all wire up? Wired link to the computer and wirelessly to the S/B?

Cheers for any help

Howie

garym
2011-06-27, 04:33
Hi everyone

Right now I'm using a S/B classic with all my music files stored on an external Samsung 1.5 TB Hard drive, with the S/B server running on my desktop computer. I'm thinking of changing to a NAS. But I have some basic questions.

I. Is it a good idea?
4. How do you do backup?
6. How does it all wire up? Wired link to the computer and wirelessly to the S/B?

Cheers for any help

Howie
1. maybe, if powerful enough and can easily run SbS
2. I love my vortexbox and I have a readynas duo that cost more and is basically useless for the purpose I bought it for.
3. Vortexbox is plug and play. from unpacking the box, I was up and running in less than 10 minutes. Took longer to then scan all my music files, but truly plug and play.
4. Vortexbox has a USB backup procedure. just plug in an external USB drive to vortexbox and hit "backup" on the web interface for the vortexbox. Or, since it shows up as a drive on my local network, I can plug a usb drive into my laptop and use windows file explorer to copy files from the vortexbox to the usb drive connected to my laptop.
5. yes.
6. connect NAS (vortexbox) to your router with ethernet cable. Then your router can talk to your SB players via WIFI (or ethernet if you want to wire the SB players).