PDA

View Full Version : Slight pause between tracks



Jason
2004-09-27, 20:38
If you are listening to tracks that were seamless on the original CD (such
as some techno or classical music that goes from one track to the next with
absolutely no gap in the audio) you WILL hear a slight gap on MP3 playback.
The reason for this is that the MP3 format does not support frame alignment
between tracks... So there will always be a slight gap in the audio.

Some hardware vendors have done some things to get "gapless" playback out of
MP3, but as far as I know Slim Devices is not one of them.

As I indicated, if you listen to long continuous music mixes (techno, etc)
you might find that FLAC works better for you as it is seamless.

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Nalle Johansson
Sent: Monday, September 27, 2004 5:18 PM
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Cc: 'Slim Devices Discussion'
Subject: [slim] Slight pause between tracks

Slim Devices Discussion <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com> på den 27 september
2004 vid 23:13 +0100 skrev:
>MP3 is not gapless, if you desire gapless you should use FLAC
>
>
>-----Original Message-----
>From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
>[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf
>Of Nic Wardle
>Sent: Monday, September 27, 2004 12:51 PM
>To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
>Subject: [slim] Slight pause between tracks
>
>
>Greetings again
>Having just ripped a compilation CD to MP3 and playing
>back via the
>Squeezebox I have noticed a very slight "gap" between
>tracks that is not
>there on the CD. Is there a way to alter this gap to
>become non-existent or
>is it just a technical caveat of streaming??
>
>
>Also, I have been reading all the digests and was (a
>little!) upset that
>no-one had given me any feedback on my last query. :( I
>know that us newbies
>may present some basic problems and questions to you, our
>learned friends,
>but does anyone have a thought on this one??

Hmm?
I have lots of music in mp3-format with no gap...
Is my system corrupted? Can I fix it? ;o)

I have a fast server and a fast network. Maybe that is why
I dont hear this gap you are talkng about.

Bästa hälsningar/Best Regards
Nalle Johansson

seanadams
2004-09-27, 21:24
> Some hardware vendors have done some things to get "gapless" playback
> out of
> MP3, but as far as I know Slim Devices is not one of them.

That is not true - we play them as gaplessly as possible (short of
second-guessing what your track transitions are supposed to sound
like).

You can test this yourself. Take a mp3 file and split it into tiny
chunks, then play the chunks in a playlist. It will play without gaps.

Any gaps you hear in playback are due to the ripping/encoding process.
It is very difficult to rip mp3s with no gaps - I don't know of any
software that does it reliably. Probably the only way to do it (except
using cue files) would be to rip it as one big mp3, and then split it
apart at frame boundaries.

There is some good information about this issue in the lame FAQ:

http://lame.sourceforge.net/tech-FAQ.txt