PDA

View Full Version : Slight pause between tracks



Jason
2004-09-27, 14:13
MP3 is not gapless, if you desire gapless you should use FLAC

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Nic Wardle
Sent: Monday, September 27, 2004 12:51 PM
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] Slight pause between tracks

Greetings again
Having just ripped a compilation CD to MP3 and playing back via the
Squeezebox I have noticed a very slight "gap" between tracks that is not
there on the CD. Is there a way to alter this gap to become non-existent or
is it just a technical caveat of streaming??

Also, I have been reading all the digests and was (a little!) upset that
no-one had given me any feedback on my last query. :( I know that us newbies
may present some basic problems and questions to you, our learned friends,
but does anyone have a thought on this one??

Nic

Sent on:Thu 23/09/2004 16:42

Hi all
Still enjoying a fantastic experience with my new squeezebox (haven't had
the courage to upgrade to latest server/firmware as I am having NO major
problems with current setup - I know I am missing out on the full potential
of the graphic display but I'll wait just a bit longer!) My only difficulty
is with itunes playlists containing Internet Radio stations. ShoutCAST can
play all them fine, but if I drag and drop a station into a playlist in
itunes then select it via the squeezbox - it says it is connecting, then
nothing, returns to now playing screen!! I have found that the slimserver
listing for this "playlist version" has the following entry:

http://http://ipaddressofstation

I thought it was the double "http://" that was confusing matters so edited
the URL in itunes so that it didn't have a "http://" in front of the ip
address. Of course this meant that itunes can't now play that station,
checking the entry in the slimserver I now see this:

http://ipaddressofstation

BUT it still won't play on the squeezebox.

So, should slimserver be adding the extra http:// entry in front of an
existing one, or am I doing something else wrong?

I can still use ShoutCAST, no problem, but the ability to put my own radio
stations in playlist I feel speeds up the process of locating my favourite
stations!

Any help appreciated.
BTW I am a digester, so replies will be delayed, thanks

Nic


--

Whatever you Wanadoo:
http://www.wanadoo.co.uk/time/

This email has been checked for most known viruses - find out more at:
http://www.wanadoo.co.uk/help/id/7098.htm

Nalle Johansson
2004-09-27, 16:17
Slim Devices Discussion <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com> på
den 27 september 2004 vid 23:13 +0100 skrev:
>MP3 is not gapless, if you desire gapless you should use
>FLAC
>
>
>-----Original Message-----
>From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
>[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf
>Of Nic Wardle
>Sent: Monday, September 27, 2004 12:51 PM
>To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
>Subject: [slim] Slight pause between tracks
>
>
>Greetings again
>Having just ripped a compilation CD to MP3 and playing
>back via the
>Squeezebox I have noticed a very slight "gap" between
>tracks that is not
>there on the CD. Is there a way to alter this gap to
>become non-existent or
>is it just a technical caveat of streaming??
>
>
>Also, I have been reading all the digests and was (a
>little!) upset that
>no-one had given me any feedback on my last query. :( I
>know that us newbies
>may present some basic problems and questions to you, our
>learned friends,
>but does anyone have a thought on this one??

Hmm?
I have lots of music in mp3-format with no gap...
Is my system corrupted? Can I fix it? ;o)

I have a fast server and a fast network. Maybe that is why
I dont hear this gap you are talkng about.

Bästa hälsningar/Best Regards
Nalle Johansson