PDA

View Full Version : Minor items with SlimServer



Mark Lanctot
2004-09-22, 20:00
Hello.

I will be buying a Squeezebox shortly, and I've been
playing around with
SlimServer to familiarize myself with it before
buying. I started off with
5.3.0 beta and I just upgraded to 5.3.0 final. Very
impressive! I have
some minor issues:

1. Should it be such a memory hog? "slim.exe" is
taking up 46 MB of
memory!

2. When rescanning the music library through the
Server Settings page, I
get the following message above the options lines:

"The server is now rescanning your Music Library."

This message does not go away even when it's obvious
the rescanning has
stopped. This makes it a little hard to tell if
rescanning has actually
been completed. Is this normal behavior?

3. When I first open SlimServer, I get a browser
window but it always has
an HTTP 500 internal server error in it. I don't
think this is a problem as
I can just open another browser window and point it to
"localhost:9000".
What's supposed to be in this initial browser window?

I'm using Windows XP SP1 with Mozilla Firefox 1.0 PR
as the browser. Other
computer details provided on request if they're
required to answer these
questions.

Thank you for any input.

Pbox
2004-09-22, 22:09
Mark Lanctot wrote:
> Hello.
>
> I will be buying a Squeezebox shortly, and I've been
> playing around with
> SlimServer to familiarize myself with it before
> buying. I started off with
> 5.3.0 beta and I just upgraded to 5.3.0 final. Very
> impressive! I have
> some minor issues:
>
> 1. Should it be such a memory hog? "slim.exe" is
> taking up 46 MB of
> memory!

Yes, it is. It may (or may not) improve with next major release (SQL
backend). The hog-giness depends on the number of songs you have.

> 2. When rescanning the music library through the
> Server Settings page, I
> get the following message above the options lines:
>
> "The server is now rescanning your Music Library."
>
> This message does not go away even when it's obvious
> the rescanning has
> stopped. This makes it a little hard to tell if
> rescanning has actually
> been completed. Is this normal behavior?

Does it go away when you refresh the browser? HTTP is a very awkward
protocal to use as a local GUI (no server initiated actions), on the
other hand you could use the same interface from the other end of the
world...

> 3. When I first open SlimServer, I get a browser
> window but it always has
> an HTTP 500 internal server error in it. I don't
> think this is a problem as
> I can just open another browser window and point it to
> "localhost:9000".
> What's supposed to be in this initial browser window?

Almost the same as at localhost:9000. Have you tired to refresh? If no
toolbar F5 or CRTL+R should also work.

Pbox

Beesley, S
2004-09-23, 12:14
28MB on mine