PDA

View Full Version : Why is it showing double albums on my Touch?



grodri02
2011-04-19, 20:45
I have the server looking in D:/ My Music folder. When I look for the artist, I see a duplicated of the album. How can I fix this?

firedog
2011-04-20, 03:35
Sounds like something to do with your tagging. Check the tags and also the SBS setup where it gives you options to define tagging: artist, album artist, band, etc.

Ksie
2011-04-20, 10:59
I used to have this problem on my SB Classic-Squeezeserver when I added songs to a Playlist which I later saved. Had something to do with the path I had defined for Saved Playlists. Somehow SS saw saved-playlist-tracks as new entries to add to the database.

Are your "doubles" albums from which you've saved songs within a playlist?

grodri02
2011-04-21, 07:18
I used to have this problem on my SB Classic-Squeezeserver when I added songs to a Playlist which I later saved. Had something to do with the path I had defined for Saved Playlists. Somehow SS saw saved-playlist-tracks as new entries to add to the database.

Are your "doubles" albums from which you've saved songs within a playlist?

I have never created a playlist on these albums...and when I open the folder, I only see the songs.

Tom Hutcheson
2011-04-21, 08:46
I have never created a playlist on these albums...and when I open the folder, I only see the songs.

If Windows, have you created any shortcuts within your music folder? They (annoyingly) show as duplicates. Also, if you've split an album into two physical folders you will see what appears to be a dupe as well. PS - I don't have a Touch so YMMV.

grodri02
2011-04-26, 05:22
I dont know why it still showing double albums.

My Directory is d:/music.

For example, for an album I have the following in the Music Folder:

Loose Tracks -> single tracks of various artists.
Folders -> Lossless Albums -> Adele -> 19 -> Tracks
-> 21 -> Tracks

When I click on Artists, Adele, I see four albums, two of the 19 and two the 21 Albums. Why? Should I arrange it differently? I dont have any playlists or shortcuts.

Also, I feel that this makes my scanning do double the work therefore double the time.

Tom Hutcheson
2011-04-26, 12:46
I dont know why it still showing double albums.

My Directory is d:/music.

For example, for an album I have the following in the Music Folder:

Loose Tracks -> single tracks of various artists.
Folders -> Lossless Albums -> Adele -> 19 -> Tracks
-> 21 -> Tracks

When I click on Artists, Adele, I see four albums, two of the 19 and two the 21 Albums. Why? Should I arrange it differently? I dont have any playlists or shortcuts.

Also, I feel that this makes my scanning do double the work therefore double the time.

Are some of your "Loose Tracks" from the albums "19" or "21"? What I notice is that the software seems to consider not just the Album title but also the path and the result is the way you're seeing the "dupes". If you want to you can change the names of the "Loose Track" albums to "19 - Loose" or whatever - you'll still have 4 Adele albums showing but at least they will be uniquely named. I noticed this when I acquired some Mono recordings and I already had the Stereo ones. Another possibility might be to create kind of a double disc CD so that Disc-1 is the lossless and Disc-2 is the lossy (both Disc-1 & Disc-2 folders as subfolders of "19") - I think this way you could keep the Album names identical (i.e., "19").

--Tom

grodri02
2011-04-26, 16:44
Are some of your "Loose Tracks" from the albums "19" or "21"? What I notice is that the software seems to consider not just the Album title but also the path and the result is the way you're seeing the "dupes". If you want to you can change the names of the "Loose Track" albums to "19 - Loose" or whatever - you'll still have 4 Adele albums showing but at least they will be uniquely named. I noticed this when I acquired some Mono recordings and I already had the Stereo ones. Another possibility might be to create kind of a double disc CD so that Disc-1 is the lossless and Disc-2 is the lossy (both Disc-1 & Disc-2 folders as subfolders of "19") - I think this way you could keep the Album names identical (i.e., "19").

--Tom

No...both 19 and 21 albums are in Adele folder where that folder is in Lossless Album. There are no other tracks of the same kind. The 19 and 21 are seperate folders too.

This is frustrating! Thanks for your help.

tcutting
2011-04-26, 18:21
Are ALL tracks showing up in both instances of the albums, or are some tracks showing in one album and the rest in the other? This can happen if your titles are not EXACTLY the same on all tracks (extra trailing space, for example), or if you happen to have DISCNUMBER tags and they are not quite right, or????
Obvious question - have you done a "rescan everything", or just a "rescan new/changed"?

grodri02
2011-04-27, 05:29
Are ALL tracks showing up in both instances of the albums, or are some tracks showing in one album and the rest in the other? This can happen if your titles are not EXACTLY the same on all tracks (extra trailing space, for example), or if you happen to have DISCNUMBER tags and they are not quite right, or????
Obvious question - have you done a "rescan everything", or just a "rescan new/changed"?

Hi,

This happens when I click Artist and hit Adele, then I see two '19' albums and two '21' albums. When I click on the Album, the tracks are shown with no duplication.

I have cleared the cache and also done a rescan everything twice already. The second time I did it after I used MP3tag to automatically tag the album just in case.

aubuti
2011-04-27, 05:40
This happens when I click Artist and hit Adele, then I see two '19' albums and two '21' albums. When I click on the Album, the tracks are shown with no duplication.The question is are all the tracks for album "19" shown for both appearances of the album "19", and likewise for "21"? Whether or not duplicate tracks are shown within each album is a different matter (and would be very strange if it occurred).

Also, in the web ui, are the paths and filenames for the tracks in different appearances of the same album absolutely identical? For example, if you go to:

Artists > Adele > 19 [first appearance] > Daydreamer
and
Artists > Adele > 19 [second appearance] > Daydreamer

are the file path and names exactly the same for each appearance of the track.

Phil Leigh
2011-04-27, 05:58
If using flac files, this can be caused by having both vorbis comments and IDxVx tags (with different values in them).

garym
2011-04-27, 07:26
If using flac files, this can be caused by having both vorbis comments and IDxVx tags (with different values in them).

and of course it is a bad idea to have IDxVx tags in a FLAC file. Use mp3tag or some other tagging program to remove these extra tags.

rgro
2011-04-27, 08:00
and of course it is a bad idea to have IDxVx tags in a FLAC file. Use mp3tag or some other tagging program to remove these extra tags.

Just learning here.....so, when you open a file in mp3tag, how do you tell if the file has IDxVx tags?

garym
2011-04-27, 08:09
Just learning here.....so, when you open a file in mp3tag, how do you tell if the file has IDxVx tags?

hmm. good question as I'm not 100% sure. Try this. in mp3tag, right click on the column headings in the right "active" panel. Then choose customize columns. Then click NEW. Then create a column with name as "Tag Type" (no quotes). then in the value field copy the following:

%_tag_read%[ (%_tag%)]

note the space after the first [ and before (%_tag%)]

then say ok. this should give you a column that shows the tags in the file and the one read in parens. I'm not 100% sure this will show you the errant id3vx tag, but it might, and can't hurt. Perhaps someone else can chime in too....

rgro
2011-04-27, 08:44
I did that, and in the new column it gives me the value: FLAC (FLAC) for all three tracks I imported from the file I sampled.

Is the correct assumption, then, that these particular files have no IDxVx tags???

aubuti
2011-04-27, 09:20
Yes, that's correct. Pull in some MP3s if you have them to see what the column's contents for ID3vX look like.

rgro
2011-04-27, 09:32
Yes, that's correct. Pull in some MP3s if you have them to see what the column's contents for ID3vX look like.

Unfortunately (or maybe, fortunately!) I have no mp3's in my collection. I'll take your and Gary's word for it. Thanks for the information...always something new to learn!

garym
2011-04-27, 12:22
Yes, that's correct. Pull in some MP3s if you have them to see what the column's contents for ID3vX look like.

Aubuti, I think you're right but I can't really confirm whether mp3tag would show the ID3vx tag along with the proper FLAC tag if both existed. I'm just guessing that it would. But I have no FLAC files with both tags to test. I created a FLAC file using an ID3v2.3 tag (and mp3tag did show ID3v2.3 as the tag type). But not sure what it would show if it had both.

aubuti
2011-04-27, 12:42
I think it will show both, but I also need to test to confirm. I've had MP3 files with both ID3v2.3 tags and Ape tags, and mp3tag listed both of those in the Type column.

grodri02
2011-04-28, 14:38
The question is are all the tracks for album "19" shown for both appearances of the album "19", and likewise for "21"? Whether or not duplicate tracks are shown within each album is a different matter (and would be very strange if it occurred).

Also, in the web ui, are the paths and filenames for the tracks in different appearances of the same album absolutely identical? For example, if you go to:

Artists > Adele > 19 [first appearance] > Daydreamer
and
Artists > Adele > 19 [second appearance] > Daydreamer

are the file path and names exactly the same for each appearance of the track.

Hey,
I think you are up to something. When I checked the location of the same track on both albums, I get the following:
First - D:\My Music\Folders\Losless Albums\Adele\19\01 - Daydreamer - Adele.flac
Second - \\Nitro\d$\My Music\Folders\Losless Albums\Adele\19\01 - Daydreamer - Adele.flac

So it seems its getting everything double because the SB server is getting info from both the location and the other (the one that has my computer name).

Now what can I do so that the SB server only sees one of them only?

Thanks

aubuti
2011-04-28, 15:44
Well, if you don't need to share your D: drive, the easiest thing would be to turn off sharing for that drive, or at least restrict sharing to something that SBS can't read.

But that's no good if you really need to share the D: drive. If that's the case we need to ask if _all_ of your albums are being duplicated, or only some albums. If all albums are being duplicated, either you have a shortcut somewhere at or near the top-level folder, or maybe the music folder directory isn't specified correctly in SBS. I notice that a couple times you have mistyped the music directory as d:/music or d:/my music, with a slash instead of a backslash. I don't really think that's your problem, but it's easy enough to rule it out. Go to the box for specifying your music folder, and use the "browse" option to specify the folder, rather than typing anything. Then do a full clear and rescan.

Finally, are you using iTunes integration or MusicIP? Even if you think you're not, please double-check your settings to make sure you don't have any boxes ticked accidentally.

rktdi
2011-09-17, 08:09
hi

i have the same problem, with every album displaying as double. Using Touch built in server, and selecting the first album it is empty, only containing album art. the second album contains tracks + album art.

this started after installing 7.6.1.

WTF?

bitstopjoe
2011-09-17, 13:00
Try doing a wipe and rescan. I have had this happen as well ONLY using the built in server on the Touch. So I either do a wipe and rescan or I delete the cache folder on my attached USB drive.. Works for me...
I am also currently using 7.7.0_r9532 as NONE of the 7.6.1 releases worked for me. It ALWAYS failed on the scaning of artwork with the local service has stopped due to an error, error. So far this release has worked perfectly for me...

rktdi
2011-09-18, 03:43
thanks, that did the trick, everything working fine again.

Mnyb
2011-09-18, 04:03
This could be the doing of a playlist.

First - D:\My Music\Folders\Losless Albums\Adele\19\01 - Daydreamer - Adele.flac
Second - \\Nitro\d$\My Music\Folders\Losless Albums\Adele\19\01 - Daydreamer - Adele.flac

And some people put a m3u playlist in every album when they rip (why?) just delete that one

will biddle
2012-04-13, 07:21
I used to have this problem on my SB Classic-Squeezeserver when I added songs to a Playlist which I later saved. Had something to do with the path I had defined for Saved Playlists. Somehow SS saw saved-playlist-tracks as new entries to add to the database.

Are your "doubles" albums from which you've saved songs within a playlist?

Hi there, I have this problem - tracks I have saved into playlists appear as duplicate albums in my collection. Did you find a solution?

garym
2012-04-13, 07:31
Hi there, I have this problem - tracks I have saved into playlists appear as duplicate albums in my collection. Did you find a solution?

Keep playlist directory outside music directory.