PDA

View Full Version : A remote to do squeeze and thermostat? (take 2)



Gregory H. Gilbert
2004-09-22, 11:24
I have tried to figure this out, but I am running out of time as they are
starting to wire the house for everything. Here is my idea and hoping and
thinking it should work:

Like a crestron system that runs multiple things in the house, I feel there
should be/is some wall mountable remote (maybe the phillips pronto?) that
would mostly run the squeeze box and also double as a thermostat - or tie
into it. In otherwords, a thermostat that could also run the squeezebox.
Why you ask? Well a thermostat is going to be mounted on the walls in a
number of rooms and the wife is okay with that, but if the thermostat also
ran the squeezebox, two birds - one stone and no added wall clutter which
makes everyone happy. Since it is attached to the wall it would stay in
that room and not be portable like a wireless thing could (I can see all
these devices ending up in one room and having to redistribute them
periodically). I am willing to spend up to 200-300 dollars per device (or
more if it is really what I am looking for). Anyone know of such a device.
The wife finds typing with the number pad difficult so if it were a
touchscreen or keyboard - all the easier. (Since the palmone treo doesn't
have bluetooth it can't be used - right? - I think the next installment is
supposed to, but I would have to figure out how to mount it to the wall and
have it function as a thermostat.) Thanks for any suggestions!

-Greg

Joe Craig
2004-09-22, 11:40
If you can do it, wired is always better than wireless!

I think that the old advice that you should run wires everywhere still
applies. I would run 2 CAT-5 and 2 coax to at least two walls in
every room. Running to every wall would be better. Home-run
everything to a location in the basement.

I'd also run 2 CAT-5 cables to every conceivable location where you
might put any kind of controller (I'd at least drop them in the walls,
even if you didn't plan to install boxes).

I'd also install speaker wires.

Possibly even consider floor mounted outlets for data and electricity
(my laptop generally lives on a coffee table, and it sure would be
nice if I didn't have a power cord running across the room!)

You might also want to do some preplanning as to where you'll put your
WAPs and wire for that.

And don't forget to grab a camera and document the locations of all of
the hidden wires.


On Wed, 22 Sep 2004 11:24:43 -0700, Gregory H. Gilbert
<ghgilbert (AT) msn (DOT) com> wrote:
> I have tried to figure this out, but I am running out of time as they are
> starting to wire the house for everything. Here is my idea and hoping and
> thinking it should work:



--


Joe