PDA

View Full Version : Help! CPU Usage, SlimServer Won't Start!!!



Nic
2004-09-22, 07:33
Before I throw the whole thing out the window and go and buy a Netgear MP101, am I doing something wrong here?

I have looked through some threads on here and there is much talk of high CPU usage. Mine is 100% all the time. I have given the software a folder where there is NO MUSIC to find, my library, some of the collection. SlimServer just sits there and says starting up and that's it. I cannot even get into the software to change any settings or do anything else!

Is it me?!?!?

I am running W2K Pro.

kdf
2004-09-22, 07:44
on first run, slimserver will compile the music library to its own format in
memory and to a file. this will certainly eat up CPU until its catalogued your
entire music tree. After that, it should settle down.

support (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com might be able to give you a more detailed walkthrough of
other potential issues for the windows install.

-kdf

Quoting Nic <nic (AT) zoom (DOT) co.uk>:

> Before I throw the whole thing out the window and go and buy a Netgear MP101,
> am I doing something wrong here?
>
> I have looked through some threads on here and there is much talk of high CPU
> usage. Mine is 100% all the time. I have given the software a folder where
> there is NO MUSIC to find, my library, some of the collection. SlimServer
> just sits there and says starting up and that's it. I cannot even get into
> the software to change any settings or do anything else!
>
> Is it me?!?!?
>
> I am running W2K Pro.

Nic
2004-09-22, 07:52
I thought that might have been the case, but, I have given the software just
one folder to look in, which contains 1 file! But it still will not stop!
I assume that it doesn't search the entire PC?!!?

I have left it like this for over an hour! Still nothing! I have also
mailed the support guys, but their efforts have not helped as yet. I am
losing confidence in their software and their product!

Can I actually get into the software whilst it is cataloguing? It just wont
do a thing!!!

----- Original Message -----
From: "kdf" <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Wednesday, September 22, 2004 3:44 PM
Subject: [slim] Help! CPU Usage, SlimServer Won't Start!!!


> on first run, slimserver will compile the music library to its own format
in
> memory and to a file. this will certainly eat up CPU until its catalogued
your
> entire music tree. After that, it should settle down.
>
> support (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com might be able to give you a more detailed
walkthrough of
> other potential issues for the windows install.
>
> -kdf
>
> Quoting Nic <nic (AT) zoom (DOT) co.uk>:
>
> > Before I throw the whole thing out the window and go and buy a Netgear
MP101,
> > am I doing something wrong here?
> >
> > I have looked through some threads on here and there is much talk of
high CPU
> > usage. Mine is 100% all the time. I have given the software a folder
where
> > there is NO MUSIC to find, my library, some of the collection.
SlimServer
> > just sits there and says starting up and that's it. I cannot even get
into
> > the software to change any settings or do anything else!
> >
> > Is it me?!?!?
> >
> > I am running W2K Pro.
>
>
>
>

kdf
2004-09-22, 16:26
one possible idea out of left field. by default, the server tries to contact
slimdevices to check if there are software updates. If you are not connected
to the net, or have a firewall blocking this, it might cause the startup to
wait. However, I would expect it to timeout long before a hour passes.

I am also a fan of not using the EXE version. Instead, downloading activePerl
(http://www.activestate.com) and FireDaemon (http://www.firedaemon.com), then
install the tar.gz version of the server.

After installing ActivePerl, you can run slimserver.pl from a command prompt any
time, or use Firedaemon to turn slimserver.pl into a service. In my experience,
its always felt faster and lighter when run this way.

Good luck!
-kdf

Quoting Nic <nic (AT) zoom (DOT) co.uk>:

> I thought that might have been the case, but, I have given the software just
> one folder to look in, which contains 1 file! But it still will not stop!
> I assume that it doesn't search the entire PC?!!?
>
> I have left it like this for over an hour! Still nothing! I have also
> mailed the support guys, but their efforts have not helped as yet. I am
> losing confidence in their software and their product!
>
> Can I actually get into the software whilst it is cataloguing? It just wont
> do a thing!!!
>
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: "kdf" <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com>
> To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> Sent: Wednesday, September 22, 2004 3:44 PM
> Subject: [slim] Help! CPU Usage, SlimServer Won't Start!!!
>
>
> > on first run, slimserver will compile the music library to its own format
> in
> > memory and to a file. this will certainly eat up CPU until its catalogued
> your
> > entire music tree. After that, it should settle down.
> >
> > support (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com might be able to give you a more detailed
> walkthrough of
> > other potential issues for the windows install.
> >
> > -kdf
> >
> > Quoting Nic <nic (AT) zoom (DOT) co.uk>:
> >
> > > Before I throw the whole thing out the window and go and buy a Netgear
> MP101,
> > > am I doing something wrong here?
> > >
> > > I have looked through some threads on here and there is much talk of
> high CPU
> > > usage. Mine is 100% all the time. I have given the software a folder
> where
> > > there is NO MUSIC to find, my library, some of the collection.
> SlimServer
> > > just sits there and says starting up and that's it. I cannot even get
> into
> > > the software to change any settings or do anything else!
> > >
> > > Is it me?!?!?
> > >
> > > I am running W2K Pro.
> >
> >
> >
> >

Neil Cameron
2004-09-23, 01:30
Also make sure there are no shortcuts in the music folder(s)...
-
Neil

"Nic" <nic (AT) zoom (DOT) co.uk> wrote in message
news:004701c4a0b3$d3e978a0$66bdfea9 (AT) 7zdj2oj (DOT) ..
>I thought that might have been the case, but, I have given the software
>just
> one folder to look in, which contains 1 file! But it still will not stop!
> I assume that it doesn't search the entire PC?!!?
>
> I have left it like this for over an hour! Still nothing! I have also
> mailed the support guys, but their efforts have not helped as yet. I am
> losing confidence in their software and their product!
>
> Can I actually get into the software whilst it is cataloguing? It just
> wont
> do a thing!!!
>
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: "kdf" <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com>
> To: "Slim Devices Discussion"
> <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> Sent: Wednesday, September 22, 2004 3:44 PM
> Subject: [slim] Help! CPU Usage, SlimServer Won't Start!!!
>
>
>> on first run, slimserver will compile the music library to its own format
> in
>> memory and to a file. this will certainly eat up CPU until its
>> catalogued
> your
>> entire music tree. After that, it should settle down.
>>
>> support (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com might be able to give you
>> a more detailed
> walkthrough of
>> other potential issues for the windows install.
>>
>> -kdf
>>
>> Quoting Nic <nic (AT) zoom (DOT) co.uk>:
>>
>> > Before I throw the whole thing out the window and go and buy a Netgear
> MP101,
>> > am I doing something wrong here?
>> >
>> > I have looked through some threads on here and there is much talk of
> high CPU
>> > usage. Mine is 100% all the time. I have given the software a folder
> where
>> > there is NO MUSIC to find, my library, some of the collection.
> SlimServer
>> > just sits there and says starting up and that's it. I cannot even get
> into
>> > the software to change any settings or do anything else!
>> >
>> > Is it me?!?!?
>> >
>> > I am running W2K Pro.
>>
>>
>>
>>