PDA

View Full Version : Controlling Sqeezecenter independtly.



mr_bill
2011-04-10, 09:06
I have Squeezecenter on my computer.
I have a SQ Touch in the living room for my big rig.
I have Ipeng on my Apple Touch.

I also have a receiver and speakers in my office that is directly connected to my computer (which is where Squueezenter is installed, - my server).

I want to remotely, or on the computer, control Squeezecenter on my computer as aplayer, i.e. control Squeezecenter independently on my computer to drive the receiver and speakers that are directly hooked up to my computer which power my office system - and will eventually drive my outdoor system when wired up.

Everything I am exploring seems to need the SQ Touch to act as a player and I just want Squeezecenter that is on the computer to act as the player.

How do I do this?

Thanks!

pippin
2011-04-10, 09:20
Install a player software on your computer, e.g. SqueezePlay or SoftSqueeze. Have a search on the forum for them.

aubuti
2011-04-10, 09:21
Squeezebox Server (SBS, what you are calling SqueezeCenter) is only server software, not player software. To do what you want you should install SqueezePlay, which is downloadable from http://downloads.slimdevices.com/nightly/ . That is essentially the same software that runs on the Touch, Radio, and Controller. This means that SqueezePlay can act as both a player (to feed the receiver and speakers connected to your computer) and as a controller for other SBs.

gharris999
2011-04-10, 09:32
Squeezeslave is also a nice computer-based player if you aren't trying to play content that's other than 44.1k/16b. I like it because it runs in the background and presents no UI on the client machine. You can think of it as a SqueezeBox player that runs unobtrusively in the background like a service. You control it through the SBS webUI or through Jive/iPeng/SqueezePad like any other player.

http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/SqueezeSlave

http://sourceforge.net/projects/softsqueeze/files/squeezeslave/squeezeslave-1.0.210/

mr_bill
2011-04-10, 09:34
Install a player software on your computer, e.g. SqueezePlay or SoftSqueeze. Have a search on the forum for them.

Pippin or others,

Can I then control Squeezeplay with the Ipeng app that I have on my Apple Touch?

I'm setting this system to run outdoor speakers - then i can control the system with the Apple Touch and the Ipeng App.

garym
2011-04-10, 09:36
Pippin or others,

Can I then control Squeezeplay with the Ipeng app that I have on my Apple Touch?

I'm setting this system to run outdoor speakers - then i can control the system with the Apple Touch and the Ipeng App.

yes, I can control squeezeplay with my ipeng app. To ipeng with regard to controlling, the squeezeplay running on your computer is no different than a hardware SB player.

mr_bill
2011-04-10, 10:11
I installed Squeezeplay and it works!

Squeezeplay does not support Pandora? This is what I am finding - can't or don't know how to log in to Pandora. It shows in the apps - but says I need an account, which I do, but now way of telling Squeezeplay that I do...

garym
2011-04-10, 10:14
I installed Squeezeplay and it works!

Squeezeplay does not support Pandora? This is what I am finding - can't or don't know how to log in to Pandora. It shows in the apps - but says I need an account, which I do, but now way of telling Squeezeplay that I do...

I recall that pandora free account will not work on Squeezeplay. This is a pandora limit (I assume that pandora thinks that if you're using a software player for pandora, that you should use their website so they get the ad revenue). Free pandora does work fine on the SB hardware players.

I'm told that the paid pandora ($40 a year or so) does in fact work on Squeezeplay (and you get the added benefit of no audio advertisements and unlimited hours of listening per month).

bpa
2011-04-10, 10:16
YOu may get Pandora to work if you enable "proxied streaming" in WebUI Settings/Player/Audio/MP3 Streaming method. However this may be only with a Pandora account.

bluegaspode
2011-04-10, 11:20
YOu may get Pandora to work if you enable "proxied streaming" in WebUI Settings/Player/Audio/MP3 Streaming method. However this may be only with a Pandora account.

Don't think that this would work.
Pandora App checks for the MAC address of the player to decide if it is a Logitech Hardware player or or not. (*hint*)

gharris999
2011-04-11, 10:41
Don't think that this would work.
Pandora App checks for the MAC address of the player to decide if it is a Logitech Hardware player or or not. (*hint*)
Yeah. And another hint: you can set the mac address of a squeezeslave player via the command line.

andyg
2011-04-11, 11:03
Just pay for Pandora, you freeloaders! ;)