PDA

View Full Version : struggling with xpl



Meshoulam, Arnon
2004-09-20, 02:25
It is in the server, but disabled by default.
See Server Settings, Network.

Arnon

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Torgeir
Veimo
Sent: Monday, September 20, 2004 10:24 AM
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] struggling with xpl

Am struggling with getting remote control commands reported by my
xplmonitor. I've downloaded the perl toolkit for xpl;
http://www.xplproject.org.uk/modules.php?
op=modload&name=Downloads&file=index&req=viewsdownload&sid=9

I've made a few fixes to make the perl code run properly under linux,
and started the xplhub and xplmonitor. I can see events I generate using
the sendplxmessage.pl script, but nothing from the squeezebox.

Is the squeezebox support in the slimserver or in the firmware of the
squeezebox? If the the latter, will an xplhub see the squeezebox even
ifthey are connected through a switch?

How can I test getting any remote commands from the squeezebox? I've set
it up to send raw commands. Any ideas welcome..

--
Torgeir Veimo <torgeir (AT) pobox (DOT) com>

Torgeir Veimo
2004-09-20, 02:47
On Mon, 2004-09-20 at 10:25 +0100, Meshoulam, Arnon wrote:
> It is in the server, but disabled by default.
> See Server Settings, Network.

I already had it enabled. The problem was that the slimserver had to be
restarted. It appears it will not be enabled if the xplhub is not
running when the slimserver is started.

Now I have a different problem. I can see remote events in the
xplmonitor from the squeezebox remote, but I'd like to use different
remotes. I've set the slimserver to send raw events, but am not seeing
anything for non-squeezebox remotes.

--
Torgeir Veimo <torgeir (AT) pobox (DOT) com>

Torgeir Veimo
2004-09-20, 02:50
On Mon, 2004-09-20 at 10:47 +0100, Torgeir Veimo wrote:
> On Mon, 2004-09-20 at 10:25 +0100, Meshoulam, Arnon wrote:
> > It is in the server, but disabled by default.
> > See Server Settings, Network.
>
> I already had it enabled. The problem was that the slimserver had to be
> restarted. It appears it will not be enabled if the xplhub is not
> running when the slimserver is started.
>
> Now I have a different problem. I can see remote events in the
> xplmonitor from the squeezebox remote, but I'd like to use different
> remotes. I've set the slimserver to send raw events, but am not seeing
> anything for non-squeezebox remotes.

It seems to work for some remotes, but not others. Eg my hauppauge
remote that comes with a WinTV Nova-T doesn't seem to work, but the
remote for my amp works. Pity, when it's the hauppauge remote I'd like
to use...

--
Torgeir Veimo <torgeir (AT) pobox (DOT) com>

Torgeir Veimo
2004-09-20, 03:16
On Mon, 2004-09-20 at 10:50 +0100, Torgeir Veimo wrote:

> > Now I have a different problem. I can see remote events in the
> > xplmonitor from the squeezebox remote, but I'd like to use different
> > remotes. I've set the slimserver to send raw events, but am not seeing
> > anything for non-squeezebox remotes.
>
> It seems to work for some remotes, but not others. Eg my hauppauge
> remote that comes with a WinTV Nova-T doesn't seem to work, but the
> remote for my amp works. Pity, when it's the hauppauge remote I'd like
> to use...

None of the cheap remotes that comes with bt878 cards seems to work. All
other remotes I've tried works, except for a denon programmable remote.
Weird.

--
Torgeir Veimo <torgeir (AT) pobox (DOT) com>

Torgeir Veimo
2004-09-20, 04:04
On Mon, 2004-09-20 at 11:16 +0100, Torgeir Veimo wrote:
> On Mon, 2004-09-20 at 10:50 +0100, Torgeir Veimo wrote:
>
> > > Now I have a different problem. I can see remote events in the
> > > xplmonitor from the squeezebox remote, but I'd like to use different
> > > remotes. I've set the slimserver to send raw events, but am not seeing
> > > anything for non-squeezebox remotes.
> >
> > It seems to work for some remotes, but not others. Eg my hauppauge
> > remote that comes with a WinTV Nova-T doesn't seem to work, but the
> > remote for my amp works. Pity, when it's the hauppauge remote I'd like
> > to use...
>
> None of the cheap remotes that comes with bt878 cards seems to work. All
> other remotes I've tried works, except for a denon programmable remote.
> Weird.

Can anyone confirm if the squeezebox recognises rc5 remotes? My
hauppauge remote is rc5, but the squeezebox doesn't send any xpl
commands when it's activated.

--
Torgeir Veimo <torgeir (AT) pobox (DOT) com>

kdf
2004-09-20, 09:32
Quoting Torgeir Veimo <torgeir (AT) pobox (DOT) com>:

> On Mon, 2004-09-20 at 11:16 +0100, Torgeir Veimo wrote:
> > On Mon, 2004-09-20 at 10:50 +0100, Torgeir Veimo wrote:
> >
> > > > Now I have a different problem. I can see remote events in the
> > > > xplmonitor from the squeezebox remote, but I'd like to use different
> > > > remotes. I've set the slimserver to send raw events, but am not seeing
> > > > anything for non-squeezebox remotes.
> > >
> > > It seems to work for some remotes, but not others. Eg my hauppauge
> > > remote that comes with a WinTV Nova-T doesn't seem to work, but the
> > > remote for my amp works. Pity, when it's the hauppauge remote I'd like
> > > to use...
> >
> > None of the cheap remotes that comes with bt878 cards seems to work. All
> > other remotes I've tried works, except for a denon programmable remote.
> > Weird.
>
> Can anyone confirm if the squeezebox recognises rc5 remotes? My
> hauppauge remote is rc5, but the squeezebox doesn't send any xpl
> commands when it's activated.

This post from Sean on the dev list may ansewr that question:
http://lists.slimdevices.com/archives/developers/2004-September/010388.html

-kdf

Torgeir Veimo
2004-09-20, 10:34
On Mon, 2004-09-20 at 09:32 -0700, kdf wrote:
> Quoting Torgeir Veimo <torgeir (AT) pobox (DOT) com>:
>
> > Can anyone confirm if the squeezebox recognises rc5 remotes? My
> > hauppauge remote is rc5, but the squeezebox doesn't send any xpl
> > commands when it's activated.
>
> This post from Sean on the dev list may ansewr that question:
> http://lists.slimdevices.com/archives/developers/2004-September/010388.html

I guess I'm on the wrong list then.. :)

--
Torgeir Veimo <torgeir (AT) pobox (DOT) com>

kdf
2004-09-20, 10:39
Quoting Torgeir Veimo <torgeir (AT) pobox (DOT) com>:

> On Mon, 2004-09-20 at 09:32 -0700, kdf wrote:
> > Quoting Torgeir Veimo <torgeir (AT) pobox (DOT) com>:
> >
> > > Can anyone confirm if the squeezebox recognises rc5 remotes? My
> > > hauppauge remote is rc5, but the squeezebox doesn't send any xpl
> > > commands when it's activated.
> >
> > This post from Sean on the dev list may ansewr that question:
> > http://lists.slimdevices.com/archives/developers/2004-September/010388.html
>
> I guess I'm on the wrong list then.. :)

sometimes the line between the two lists is a bit blurry.
-kdf