PDA

View Full Version : From out of the blue - dodgy wireless reception?



Nick_G
2011-03-05, 17:51
My Squeezebox Touch keeps dropping the connection on internet radio streams tonight - it'll play for anything between 1 and 5 minutes and then stop and go to the top-level menu. Sometimes it's reduced to just 2 items: Internet Radio and Settings. Also, it's taking longer than usual to execute commands on the touch screen - I get the spinning circle for several seconds. Could this be iffy wireless reception?

It's never been this bad before though and I've had it over a month. Why should it suddenly start playing up now?

I've unpugged it and will try it again in the morning and see if it's any better.

Any help on this much appreciated.

Thanks,
Nick

toby10
2011-03-06, 06:38
Are you certain it is connecting to your network? i.e. Does your WiFi have a unique name (not Linksys or Netgear, etc..)?
Have you tried rebooting the router?
Interference? Maybe a neighbor started using WiFi? Or moved their router closer to your Touch? Or changed WiFi broadcast ch's?

wayneBR
2011-03-06, 07:56
Same thing happen here on my sb radio last night and this morning. Radio connects to US East. I'm not running sbs.

Nick_G
2011-03-06, 10:55
Thanks for the replies so far.

I plugged it back in and switched it on this morning and all was fine; in fact it seemed faster and more responsive than recently when accessing stuff, and so I presumed that a fresh reboot had solved the problem. It was fine up until early this afternoon in fact.

I spoke too soon. I switched it on a few minutes ago to find the top level menu again with just 2 items: Internet Radio and Settings. No Favourites, no Applications, no My Music, just the barest of bare bones. The odd thing is by selecting the music notes icon it connected to the last radio station I'd been listening to successfully so the wireless network must be working fine. I've unplugged it again for now.

I'm beginning to wonder if it's related to the bugs in SBS v7.5.3 that's being discussed in the other thread. Someone mentioned they'd updated to 7.5.4 but it's not there in the menus - it's telling me that 7.5.3 is up-to-date.

My wi-fi router is an Orange Livebox and up until last night it's worked absolutely fine.

So could this be a software bug? I will try rebooting the router a little later.

aubuti
2011-03-06, 11:00
You should also check out what other networks are around that could be stepping on yours, as toby suggested. If your computer runs Windows, download NetStumbler (freeware) and use it to see what other wifi networks are in your area, how strong they are in your location, and what channels they are using.

Nick_G
2011-03-06, 11:32
You should also check out what other networks are around that could be stepping on yours, as toby suggested. If your computer runs Windows, download NetStumbler (freeware) and use it to see what other wifi networks are in your area, how strong they are in your location, and what channels they are using.

I'm runnning a Mac here. The built-in Airport is showing several other wi-fi networks but the only one at full strength apart from the Livebox is a BTFON network, and that's always there.

Is there a Mac equivalent of NetStumbler?