PDA

View Full Version : Trying to improve network performance



Andy Dannelley
2004-09-11, 10:02
I posted a similar question to comp.sys.mac.com, waiting for replies.
One of my main reasons for wanting to improve network performance is my
three music players, 1 Slimp3/WET11 and @ wireless Squeezeboxes. Since
the squeezeboxes are 802.11b, my mostly g network is slowed down to b
speeds and bandwidth most of the time.


Just wondering how to improve my network performance. Currently I have
10 to 12 devices connected to my network. My devices are comprised of
B only devices and devices capabile of b or g. My WDS system is
comprised of 2 Airport Extereme Basestations. I beleive I read
somewhere that when you have b and g devices both on the network it
slows the network down to b speeds, and since b bandwidth is less than
half of g bandwidth the bandwirdh is also deminished, so transfer for
all devices can suffer (particularly if my son and firends are playing
a network intensive game).


Would it be possible to have two seperate wireless networks in the same
space, different channels, one all b, one all g? If so, would this
increase my bandwidth so I have a b bandwidth network and a g bandwidth
network or will it all be reduced to just a b bandwidth network. I
relaize it would mean and investment in additional basestations to do
this, but would it work?

Thanks for any insights,

AndyD

Neil Davidson
2004-09-11, 11:10
I'm not an expert either, but i think this would actually work.

You would need to set the 'g' equipment to be 'g' only and not 'g+b' (i
know my Netgear can do this)

> I'm not an expert, but doesn't g get its extra speed from using additional
> channels? I know some of the "turbo" wireless base stations advertised do
> that.
> So you may not get the results you want.
>
> Other, more expensive options for you would be to get 802.11g bridges
> for the music players or stick them all on a non-wireless network like
> powerline.
>
> --- Andy Dannelley <andyda (AT) earthlink (DOT) net> wrote:
>> Would it be possible to have two seperate wireless networks in the same
>> space, different channels, one all b, one all g? If so, would this
>> increase my bandwidth so I have a b bandwidth network and a g bandwidth
>> network or will it all be reduced to just a b bandwidth network. I
>> relaize it would mean and investment in additional basestations to do
>> this, but would it work?
>
>

=?ISO-8859-1?Q? Jean-St=E9fane?= Bergeron
2004-09-11, 13:37
Not being an expert myself either, take my comments for what they are
worth ... the advise is free ;)

If I understand this correctly, running two "separate" networks would
work provided you use two channels with a fair amount of separation, say
1 and 11. I remember reading that each channel overlaps on the adjacent
channels and that only channel 1 and 11 (or something like that) are
truly separate channels.

I am sure someone else on the list will have additional information.

I hope this helps, a little.

On Sat, 11 Sep 2004 10:02:03 -0700, "Andy Dannelley"
<andyda (AT) earthlink (DOT) net> said:
> I posted a similar question to comp.sys.mac.com, waiting for replies.
> One of my main reasons for wanting to improve network performance is my
> three music players, 1 Slimp3/WET11 and @ wireless Squeezeboxes. Since
> the squeezeboxes are 802.11b, my mostly g network is slowed down to b
> speeds and bandwidth most of the time.
>
>
> Just wondering how to improve my network performance. Currently I have
> 10 to 12 devices connected to my network. My devices are comprised of
> B only devices and devices capabile of b or g. My WDS system is
> comprised of 2 Airport Extereme Basestations. I beleive I read
> somewhere that when you have b and g devices both on the network it
> slows the network down to b speeds, and since b bandwidth is less than
> half of g bandwidth the bandwirdh is also deminished, so transfer for
> all devices can suffer (particularly if my son and firends are playing
> a network intensive game).
>
>
> Would it be possible to have two seperate wireless networks in the same
> space, different channels, one all b, one all g? If so, would this
> increase my bandwidth so I have a b bandwidth network and a g bandwidth
> network or will it all be reduced to just a b bandwidth network. I
> relaize it would mean and investment in additional basestations to do
> this, but would it work?
>
> Thanks for any insights,
>
> AndyD
>
>

jacobdp
2004-09-11, 13:43
On Sat, 11 Sep 2004 16:37:16 -0400, Jean-Stéfane Bergeron
<j.s.bergeron (AT) canada (DOT) com> wrote:
> If I understand this correctly, running two "separate" networks would
> work provided you use two channels with a fair amount of separation, say
> 1 and 11. I remember reading that each channel overlaps on the adjacent
> channels and that only channel 1 and 11 (or something like that) are
> truly separate channels.

The only non-overlapping channels are 1, 6, and 11. However, 6 is
almost always the default, so in a crowded residential area there's
likely to be more interference there than the other channels.

- Jacob