PDA

View Full Version : Will SBG cause greater CPU & WiFi load



Andy F
2004-09-09, 12:28
I'm about to buy my second SB. My first one is a few months old and
its the old model. I'm concerned that a new SBG will cause more CPU
load and use more WiFi bandwidth - both are limited on my setup when
playing FLAC.

My question is, can the SBG work like the old SB where the slimserver
sends it packets of text to display rather than packets of bitmap ?

I'm assuming the new fonts on the SBG are acheived by the server
sending packets of the entire display bitmap for every frame - please
correct me if I'm wrong.

Thanks

Andy F

seanadams
2004-09-09, 13:05
The different in data volume for the display is insignificant - the
size of a full frame of graphics is only 560 bytes.

In fact newer revs of the server/firmware have some cleanup in the
protocol which have actually reduced the amount of chatter and thus
improved UI/remote performance quite a bit.

On Sep 9, 2004, at 12:28 PM, Andy F wrote:

> I'm about to buy my second SB. My first one is a few months old and
> its the old model. I'm concerned that a new SBG will cause more CPU
> load and use more WiFi bandwidth - both are limited on my setup when
> playing FLAC.
>
> My question is, can the SBG work like the old SB where the slimserver
> sends it packets of text to display rather than packets of bitmap ?
>
> I'm assuming the new fonts on the SBG are acheived by the server
> sending packets of the entire display bitmap for every frame - please
> correct me if I'm wrong.
>
> Thanks
>
> Andy F
>