PDA

View Full Version : Squeezebox crashing f/w 36



Roger Mitchell
2004-09-09, 09:39
Sorry to disagree Bob but the lost contact message isn't fixed in v37, at
least not in the v37 that I have. It still occurs when moving around using
the arrow keys although the server does seem to keep running so a reboot
starts it off again. Problem is I cant seem to re-create the bug at will or
define a set of circumstances that cause it. I might be browsing a playlist
or just moving through menus. If I remember correctly, the last time I was
listening to Shoutcast and backed off to select some music to play from my
collection. Whatever is causing the problem, it's DEFINITELY not there in
5.2.1 and v29 which is now running superbly.

Regards
Roger, Newbury, UK



-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of bob
Sent: 09 September 2004 16:22
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] Squeezebox crashing f/w 36

Chris wrote:
> Hi,
>
> I've tried to use my squeezebox today, and it keeps crashing when
> moving between tracks.
> The unit freezes for a few seconds then says it's lost contact with
> the server.
>
> Removing the power restores the connection until I start trying to
> move between tracks again.
>
> The slimserver remains running throughout. Using the latest nightly.
>
> Is this something known?

I believe the 9/8 nightly (and later) provide firmware v37.
I didn't have freeze issues during my brief stint with v36, but I did have a
few others, and so far v37 is looking pretty good.

Just noticed -- in the "firmware v.36" thread, Sean mentions (wrt v37):
"Also fixed is the lost contact message mentioned on the developer's list."

-bob

seanadams
2004-09-09, 11:53
Roger,

One case that would cause the lost contact message is definitely fixed,
but I agree there seems to be another situation that causes it too.
Crashing when jumping tracks is news to me.... will try to reproduce -
could of course be related to the lost contact message.

Sean


On Sep 9, 2004, at 9:39 AM, Roger Mitchell wrote:

> Sorry to disagree Bob but the lost contact message isn't fixed in v37,
> at
> least not in the v37 that I have. It still occurs when moving around
> using
> the arrow keys although the server does seem to keep running so a
> reboot
> starts it off again. Problem is I cant seem to re-create the bug at
> will or
> define a set of circumstances that cause it. I might be browsing a
> playlist
> or just moving through menus. If I remember correctly, the last time I
> was
> listening to Shoutcast and backed off to select some music to play
> from my
> collection. Whatever is causing the problem, it's DEFINITELY not there
> in
> 5.2.1 and v29 which is now running superbly.
>
> Regards
> Roger, Newbury, UK
>
>
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of bob
> Sent: 09 September 2004 16:22
> To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> Subject: [slim] Squeezebox crashing f/w 36
>
> Chris wrote:
>> Hi,
>>
>> I've tried to use my squeezebox today, and it keeps crashing when
>> moving between tracks.
>> The unit freezes for a few seconds then says it's lost contact with
>> the server.
>>
>> Removing the power restores the connection until I start trying to
>> move between tracks again.
>>
>> The slimserver remains running throughout. Using the latest nightly.
>>
>> Is this something known?
>
> I believe the 9/8 nightly (and later) provide firmware v37.
> I didn't have freeze issues during my brief stint with v36, but I did
> have a
> few others, and so far v37 is looking pretty good.
>
> Just noticed -- in the "firmware v.36" thread, Sean mentions (wrt v37):
> "Also fixed is the lost contact message mentioned on the developer's
> list."
>
> -bob
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>

Michel Fombellida
2004-09-09, 14:23
Hi,

I did not notice the SB crashing but ... something new (at least I did not see
it before): if I start playing an album (browsing to the first song of an album
and then pressing "play") and then use the "FWD" key to skip to next track
before the first track is finished, the display briefly shows the title of the
next track, the next track starts playing but the display comes back to the
title of the first track! Pressing "FWD" I can then cycle through all the
tracks of an album and the display still shows the first song as playing
although the music is correctly skipping. Pressing the "now playing" button
corrects the display (or waiting that the display goes to screensaver mode,
because I have "now playing" as a screensaver). Once the "now playing" button
has been pressed once or the screensave has been activated once the display
remains correct.

This is with FW37 on WinXP SP2, streaming apple lossless uncompressed.

Michel

kdf
2004-09-09, 14:34
Quoting Michel Fombellida <mf22433 (AT) yahoo (DOT) com>:

> Hi,
>
> I did not notice the SB crashing but ... something new (at least I did not
> see
> it before): if I start playing an album (browsing to the first song of an
> album
> and then pressing "play") and then use the "FWD" key to skip to next track
> before the first track is finished, the display briefly shows the title of
> the
> next track, the next track starts playing but the display comes back to the
> title of the first track! Pressing "FWD" I can then cycle through all the
> tracks of an album and the display still shows the first song as playing
> although the music is correctly skipping. Pressing the "now playing" button
> corrects the display (or waiting that the display goes to screensaver mode,
> because I have "now playing" as a screensaver). Once the "now playing" button
> has been pressed once or the screensave has been activated once the display
> remains correct.
>
> This is with FW37 on WinXP SP2, streaming apple lossless uncompressed.

This is a bug with the scrolling, that I think is related to bug539. A patch is
posted on that bug that should fix it once committed. It depends on why that
particular bit of code was removed, resulting in teh current bug.
-kdf

Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-09-09, 15:37
Any chance that this bug is a reappearance of this old one:

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=465


--
Daryle A. Tilroe

Chris
2004-09-09, 22:44
At 23:37 09/09/2004, Daryle A. Tilroe wrote:
>Any chance that this bug is a reappearance of this old one:
>
>http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=465

I'm seeing exactly the behaviour listed in that bug with f/w 37, except I'm
streaming MP3 not FLAC.

I've opened 544: http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=544

Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-09-10, 07:44
Chris wrote:

> At 23:37 09/09/2004, Daryle A. Tilroe wrote:
>
>> Any chance that this bug is a reappearance of this old one:
>>
>> http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=465
>
> I'm seeing exactly the behaviour listed in that bug with f/w 37, except
> I'm streaming MP3 not FLAC.
>
> I've opened 544: http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=544
>

Well I ran through some testing last night and everything
seemed solid for me. I'll try again tonight with some
MP3s and pausing thrown in.

--
Daryle A. Tilroe