PDA

View Full Version : Search music buttons shifted



PAUL WILLIAMSON
2004-09-08, 20:17
Is there a reason that when searching, the "1" button brings up all the
special characters, "2" cycles through A,B,C, "3" cycles through D, E,
F, etc.? It would seem the 1 should be abc just like on a telephone.
Even the dial telephone I still use has this correct. It makes more
sense (to me) to put all the special characters with the "0"button,
where there's only the 0 and what seems to be a space and shift
everything else up one number.

Paul

kdf
2004-09-08, 21:38
Quoting PAUL WILLIAMSON <pwilliamson (AT) mandtbank (DOT) com>:

> Is there a reason that when searching, the "1" button brings up all the
> special characters, "2" cycles through A,B,C, "3" cycles through D, E,
> F, etc.? It would seem the 1 should be abc just like on a telephone.
> Even the dial telephone I still use has this correct. It makes more
> sense (to me) to put all the special characters with the "0"button,
> where there's only the 0 and what seems to be a space and shift
> everything else up one number.
>
Have another look at a button phone or cellphone. 2=abc.
-kdf

kdf
2004-09-08, 22:01
Quoting PAUL WILLIAMSON <pwilliamson (AT) mandtbank (DOT) com>:

> Is there a reason that when searching, the "1" button brings up all the
> special characters, "2" cycles through A,B,C, "3" cycles through D, E,
> F, etc.? It would seem the 1 should be abc just like on a telephone.
> Even the dial telephone I still use has this correct. It makes more
> sense (to me) to put all the special characters with the "0"button,
> where there's only the 0 and what seems to be a space and shift
> everything else up one number.

after a bit of looking around, I can see why you may be used to something
different. Here is a link which might make it clearer regarding typical phone
pad layouts:
http://www.dialabc.com/motion/keypads.html

-kdf

dean
2004-09-09, 16:02
It's quite simple.

We designed the software to match the button labels on the remote.

For completeness, we designed the remote to match the software. :)

On Sep 8, 2004, at 8:17 PM, PAUL WILLIAMSON wrote:

> Is there a reason that when searching, the "1" button brings up all the
> special characters, "2" cycles through A,B,C, "3" cycles through D, E,
> F, etc.? It would seem the 1 should be abc just like on a telephone.
> Even the dial telephone I still use has this correct. It makes more
> sense (to me) to put all the special characters with the "0"button,
> where there's only the 0 and what seems to be a space and shift
> everything else up one number.
>
> Paul
>
>

kdf
2004-09-09, 16:30
jeez. yer as bad as my friend who went and bought a canary yellow Firefly
becuase he wanted a car that matched his sport walkman

Quoting dean blackketter <dean (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com>:

> It's quite simple.
>
> We designed the software to match the button labels on the remote.
>
> For completeness, we designed the remote to match the software. :)
>
> On Sep 8, 2004, at 8:17 PM, PAUL WILLIAMSON wrote:
>
> > Is there a reason that when searching, the "1" button brings up all the
> > special characters, "2" cycles through A,B,C, "3" cycles through D, E,
> > F, etc.? It would seem the 1 should be abc just like on a telephone.
> > Even the dial telephone I still use has this correct. It makes more
> > sense (to me) to put all the special characters with the "0"button,
> > where there's only the 0 and what seems to be a space and shift
> > everything else up one number.
> >
> > Paul
> >