PDA

View Full Version : Remote Library in SqueezePlay



ericf
2011-01-06, 01:22
Hello,

I have configured my network to be able to listen to my music library at home from my office through squeezePlay.

So, I have setup a remote library. But my home network has a dynamic IP Adress. I have configured a DynDNS to keep track of the current IP...

In the SqueezePlay UI it seems only possible to enter an ip address (and no DNS address).

My question is: Is there any workaround to configure my remote music library using a hostname instead of an IP address?

Thank you!

Mnyb
2011-01-06, 01:30
You migth try softsqueeze it can do that.

TZODDNS
2012-08-16, 09:06
This is to the developers at Logitech....can you guys please add DNS resolution to the Logitech Squeezebox code on the players? I work at TZO.COM and we provide Dynamic DNS services so folks can track their Dynamic IP and also use their network to host servers such as the Logitech Media Center/Squeezeserver.

I'm a huge fan of the Squeezebox and own 4 myself, including 2 SB radios. I'd really like to be able to add in some DNS hostnames as remote libraries such as myhome.tzo.net and myfriendslibrary.tzo.net, etc.
Using an IP, especially in this age of Dynamic IP's is cumbersome, it's a much friendlier experience if we could include DNS here instead of IP only. The server could also use a DDNS interface to help people use the server as an update client for their favorite DDNS service.

In any case, I hope you guys add this to the list, and we'd be more than happy to help you out with some code to add in a DDNS client into your server app

Keep up the great work on the Squeezebox, it's a wonderful product line!!

-Eric McIntyre, TZO.COM





Hello,

I have configured my network to be able to listen to my music library at home from my office through squeezePlay.

So, I have setup a remote library. But my home network has a dynamic IP Adress. I have configured a DynDNS to keep track of the current IP...

In the SqueezePlay UI it seems only possible to enter an ip address (and no DNS address).

My question is: Is there any workaround to configure my remote music library using a hostname instead of an IP address?

Thank you!

banned for life
2012-08-16, 16:02
Hello,

I have configured my network to be able to listen to my music library at home from my office through squeezePlay.

So, I have setup a remote library. But my home network has a dynamic IP Adress. I have configured a DynDNS to keep track of the current IP...

In the SqueezePlay UI it seems only possible to enter an ip address (and no DNS address).

My question is: Is there any workaround to configure my remote music library using a hostname instead of an IP address?

Thank you!

Hi Eric,

The workaround (if you are using windows) is to install a "notifier" that looks at your IP now and then and emails you if it changes. I changed from a static ATT DSL IP to Charter in June and have found TrueIP works well. ((If you are using linux, I would search linux ip notifiers.))

As remote player options increase (like the fine SqueezePlayer for android) I hope everyone will enjoy their music from somewhere else..

BANNED FOR LIFE