PDA

View Full Version : I may have a Graphic Squeezebox for sale



Nic Wardle
2004-09-07, 03:38
Hi
I am still awaiting the arrival of my SBG in the UK and have been following this discussion list avidly. A few things have arisen that cause a little concern.
Firstly, will my SBG work straight "out of the box" with the 5.2.1 slimserver and firmware (this is in response really to the posts " [slim] Server Upgrade Woes - Should have known better.") I guess I will be able to say (my own network quirks permitting!) whether this is the case, and let you all know....
Secondly, have I bought the right device? I took a look at the Roku website after the name was mentioned here and have to say it does seem like a nice piece of kit, smart looking, simple integration and the ability to use Slimserver if wanted. I am not sure what Ken was getting at in this post. Was it that you cannot control the Roku from the itunes program? If so then that would appear to be correct. That would not be an issue for me. I like the idea of using a remote (like the rest of my Hi-Fi!).
What I do want however is a device that I can install and let it get on with its job that I paid nearly £200 for. I REALLY do hope this will be the case for my SBG!! But I am not keen on accepting any obvious bugs in a "non-beta" release of the server/firmware - and by obvious I mean display corruptions/hangs/button errors etc...
I'm keeping my fingers crossed and eagerly awaiting my Squeezebox!
Thanks to all at Slim, and those programmers who create the plugins for creating what (from the outside at the moment) appears to be an excellent device - just keep on striving for the best, bug free, version of the software you can!
Nic

Ken,
Their marketing is very misleading. The reality is that only Apple's airport express can be controlled from iTunes. It uses a proprietary interface that they have not published to any third parties.
Sean
On Sep 6, 2004, at 11:05 AM, Ken wrote:
> Jim,
>
> I'm not sure that I share your feelings about using the remote with a
> main system (I do and find it quite convenient), but I agree with you
> about using iTunes to control the device. While the Slim guys did a
> very good job on the default web interface, its not really a
> replacement for the excellent iTunes music browser for basic music
> selection. I'd venture to say that this is *the* selling point of the
> Roku device, and I know several folks that have ordered it in lieu of
> a Squeezebox specifically because of the iTunes integration (in spite
> of my strong endorsement of the SB).
>
> In any case, I think you should hang on to the SB see if you get used
> to it in your house. I've found that with all it provides, its become
> fairly indispensable to me.
>
> Ken
>
> Jim McCall wrote:
>> Hi,
>> I am enjoying following this list (and it is a fun way of avoiding
>> work...)
>> I am not sure that the squeezebox is the right thing for me. Right
>> now I am in the hemming and hawing phase deciding whether I would put
>> the money into an ipod and use that as my upstairs device. I probably
>> ought to sell the SB and I would rather do it here than on ebay.
>> Why am I thinking it doesn't work? I would rather use itunes while at
>> my computer, for one. For two, I just don't feel an affinity with
>> using the remote and the squeezebox while in my living room.
>> Contact me if you wish. I have a squeezebox that I just installed the
>> new graphic display. It is in impeccable condition.
>> I live in san francisco.
>> Jim
>
>

Steve Baumgarten
2004-09-07, 06:35
> Firstly, will my SBG work straight "out of the box" with the 5.2.1
> slimserver and firmware

Yes. You'll be able to listen to music just fine; you won't be able to
display the new graphic fonts, but that's the only limitation, and that's
only true until the next server release (which should be soon).

The bugs you're reading about here: nearly everyone on this list is an
early adopter, a person who is actively contributing to the development of
the server, or someone who enjoys watching development from the sidelines.
Folks using beta software will often have beta problems.

As it stands: 5.2.1 is quite usable. The new release (that will support
various size graphic fonts on the display) will be out soon.

The product itself is tremendously well supported and incredibly flexible.
I find the web interface a breeze to use (especially kdf's "Fishbone"
skin); I have zero problems streaming MP3s over my wireless connection.
Because I was using beta server software, for a while I had some problems
with streaming uncompressed (i.e., FLAC->WAV) files, but that problem has
largely been resolved. Again, I'm using beta software here; prior to my
switch to the beta version of the server, I was having no problems
streaming FLAC->WAV wirelessly.

Any problems you have: you can contact Slimdevices, or you can post here.
Someone will help.

I still remember my early days (8 whole months ago!), back when I wanted
to be able to listen to a WMA audio stream -- something that was not an
advertised feature of the product itself. Yet within a few days of posting
here, and thanks to the help of several people on this list, I had worked
out a way to do it, and now that option is available to me at the click of
a mouse.

http://lists.slimdevices.com/archives/discuss/2004-January/024192.html

I have no idea what goes on in Roku land, but I know that this level of
support is not the norm for consumer electronics, computer hardware,
software, etc. Though there have been a few bumps and glitches here and
there, overall I've found the product to be excellent and well worth the
money.

I'll also note: I've had bumps and glitches with my Centrino-based laptop,
too. Sometimes it drops its wireless connection for no earthly reason. And
what can I do about this? Nothing. No support from Toshiba or Intel;
certainly no "discussion" or "developer" list. No one is writing new
firmware revisions for me. I have what I bought; it works well most of the
time; and when it doesn't, that's life. Believe me, I much prefer the
Slimdevices world to that.

SBB

Nalle Johansson
2004-09-07, 06:37
I can access my music via a mounted drive in windows but
when I try to let slimserver do so - it fails.

New value for Saved Playlists Folder rejected:
Oops - "C:\Documents and Settings\Administratör\Mina
dokument\My Music" doesn't seem to be a valid directory.
Try again.
New value for Music Folder rejected:
Oops - "m:\" doesn't seem to be a valid directory. Try
again.

Can this be fixed or is tehe any workaround to let the
slimserver be on a diffrent computer than the music?

Bästa hälsningar/Best Regards
Nalle Johansson
--
Nalle Johansson, IT-chef
GFS Studentservice * Göteborgs Förenade Studentkårer
Kansli: 031-16 64 21 * Direkt: 031-18 59 68 * Mobil:
0703-90 03 96
Fax: 031-16 28 71 * Fax2Mail: 0703-86 03 96 * Mail2Fax:
nalle.fax (AT) gfs (DOT) se
E-post: nalle (AT) gfs (DOT) se * Webb: http://www.gfs.se *
FirstClass: fcp://fc.gsn.se

Jack Coates
2004-09-07, 08:31
....
> I'll also note: I've had bumps and glitches with my Centrino-based laptop,
> too. Sometimes it drops its wireless connection for no earthly reason. And
> what can I do about this? Nothing. No support from Toshiba or Intel;
> certainly no "discussion" or "developer" list. No one is writing new
> firmware revisions for me. I have what I bought; it works well most of the
> time; and when it doesn't, that's life. Believe me, I much prefer the
> Slimdevices world to that.
>
> SBB

You know, my IBM T40 (also Centrino) does that too -- mainly with my
NetGear MR814v2, not so much with the Dlink AP-1000. The NetGear has
needed three firmware updates in as many months, and is still incapable of
maintaining 100MBps between any two of its wired ports, and still has a
non-compliant DHCP server that breaks PXE booting.

I'm quite happy with my Slim Devices and will keep on recommending them
and buying them as budget allows.
--
Jack At Monkeynoodle.Org: It's A Scientific Venture...
"Believe what you're told; there'd be chaos if everyone thought for
themselves." -- Top Dog hotdog stand, Berkeley, CA

jacobdp
2004-09-07, 08:47
On Tue, 7 Sep 2004 08:31:05 -0700 (PDT), Jack Coates wrote:
> NetGear MR814v2, not so much with the Dlink AP-1000. The NetGear has
> needed three firmware updates in as many months, and is still incapable of
> maintaining 100MBps between any two of its wired ports, and still has a
> non-compliant DHCP server that breaks PXE booting.

Way OT, but I haven't had any speed issues with my MR814v2 (netperf
reports 93.6mbps even over my shoddy wiring). And I would imagine that
most consumer all-in-one routers won't let you specify a boot image
filename, they tend not to be too versatile...

I guess it varies from device to device or something?

- Jacob

Kevin O. Lepard
2004-09-07, 09:33
>On Tue, 7 Sep 2004 08:31:05 -0700 (PDT), Jack Coates wrote:
>> NetGear MR814v2, not so much with the Dlink AP-1000. The NetGear has
>> needed three firmware updates in as many months, and is still incapable of
>> maintaining 100MBps between any two of its wired ports, and still has a
>> non-compliant DHCP server that breaks PXE booting.
>
>Way OT, but I haven't had any speed issues with my MR814v2 (netperf
>reports 93.6mbps even over my shoddy wiring). And I would imagine that
>most consumer all-in-one routers won't let you specify a boot image
>filename, they tend not to be too versatile...

Similarly OT, I've had no speed issues with my Asante FR1004 and
FR1004G. If you're a Mac user, these have the additional advantage
of passing AppleTalk correctly.

Kevin
--
Kevin O. Lepard
kolepard (AT) charter (DOT) net

Happiness is being 100% Microsoft free.