PDA

View Full Version : Is there software to allow this



stevecross
2010-12-11, 02:32
Good morning all, i just wonderd if there was any software similar to squeeze commander that will run on my laptop (windows) and control my squeezebox. I have the server software on my small server hidden away but would sometimes while using my laptop in the living room be able to change the music etc. Just a little interface that allows you to pick album and alter volume would be suffice.

Thanks
Steve

MrSinatra
2010-12-11, 02:51
squeezeplay.

http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/Nightly_Builds

stevecross
2010-12-11, 03:07
Thanks have downloaded this but it plays back through my pc, i really wanted to control music exactly as this does but play it back through my squeezebox.

steve

MrSinatra
2010-12-11, 03:08
i believe thats possible, it should do both. experiment in the settings.

amcluesent
2010-12-11, 03:16
Moose - http://www.rusticrhino.com/drlovegrove/

TBH, what's wrong with using the web-interface on the Server?

stevecross
2010-12-11, 06:55
Guys thanks, works with squeezeplay great, whilst browsing the net i can pick my music and not bother with remote. I will have a look at moos shortly. I did not want to conect via remote desktop and use the server interface to control music if its possible to control localy. Greeeat thanks

pski
2010-12-11, 08:04
Good morning all, i just wonderd if there was any software similar to squeeze commander that will run on my laptop (windows) and control my squeezebox. I have the server software on my small server hidden away but would sometimes while using my laptop in the living room be able to change the music etc. Just a little interface that allows you to pick album and alter volume would be suffice.

Thanks
Steve


HTTP://<you server's ip address>>:9000

Usually something like:

HTTP://192.168.1.4:9000

OR try

HTTP://myservername:9000


P

iPhone
2010-12-11, 08:36
Guys thanks, works with squeezeplay great, whilst browsing the net i can pick my music and not bother with remote. I will have a look at moos shortly. I did not want to conect via remote desktop and use the server interface to control music if its possible to control localy. Greeeat thanks

What is wrong with using the WebUI included in SBS? It doesn't matter what Box is running SBS, any Laptop, PC, Netbook, or Smart Phone can get to your server as long as its got a network route to get there IE WiFi in your home or Internet connection at work.

+1 to PSKI for he is correct in suggesting using any web browser on your network by typing in the URL line http://<your SBS Server IP address>:9000
This allows full control of the Server and ALL Squeezeboxes on your network.

My daughter had a problem at home using Squeezebox while the Better Half and I were at the beach over Thanksgiving. So I just logged into the home SBS Server over the Internet to see what was going on and corrected the issue. All this takes is knowing the IP Address assigned to ones Internet connection and adding :9000. This is just slightly different then using the 192 or 169 IP address that your home route assigns to your SBS Server when inside ones own WiFi Network.

Enjoy

dave77
2010-12-11, 08:46
You could use this also

http://www.bencoleman.co.uk/squeezebox-gadget

I would just use the web interface though, much easier

GeeJay
2010-12-11, 11:42
HTTP://<you server's ip address>>:9000

Usually something like:

HTTP://192.168.1.4:9000

OR try

HTTP://myservername:9000


P

That's how I do it. As simple a solution as you can find. No additional software required.

MrSinatra
2010-12-11, 11:54
it depends. i use the webui a lot, but squeezeplay is better in some ways, just depends on how you want to do it, what exp you prefer.

stevecross
2010-12-12, 03:04
Basically all i want to be able to do is whilst using my laptop change album and turn up and down volume. Squeezeplay seems ideal. I have read that you can customise the home page on this but as yet can,t figure that out. I have been into settings etc and right clicked on items and nothing. But it is a very useful bit of software and thanks guys for helping me with that.

steve

kidstypike
2010-12-12, 05:01
Basically all i want to be able to do is whilst using my laptop change album and turn up and down volume. Squeezeplay seems ideal. I have read that you can customise the home page on this but as yet can,t figure that out. I have been into settings etc and right clicked on items and nothing. But it is a very useful bit of software and thanks guys for helping me with that.

steve

Hi Steve

Left-click and hold on the item you wish to add to, or remove from, the Home Menu, a dialoue will appear giving you different options.

aubuti
2010-12-12, 10:14
Left-click and hold on the item you wish to add to, or remove from, the Home Menu, a dialoue will appear giving you different options.
And note that to get these options you need to be running the Squeezeplay that comes with 7.6 (http://downloads.slimdevices.com/nightly/?ver=7.6), not the one in the 7.5 directory (http://downloads.slimdevices.com/nightly/?ver=7.5). At that's the way it was last time I looked. On 7.5 you can specify what is or isn't on the Home Menu, but you can't change the order.

kidstypike
2010-12-12, 10:33
And note that to get these options you need to be running the Squeezeplay that comes with 7.6 (http://downloads.slimdevices.com/nightly/?ver=7.6), not the one in the 7.5 directory (http://downloads.slimdevices.com/nightly/?ver=7.5). At that's the way it was last time I looked. On 7.5 you can specify what is or isn't on the Home Menu, but you can't change the order.

Thanks for the heads up aubuti, I'd overlooked that.

stevecross
2010-12-13, 03:00
Many thanks, works a dream. Can now surf the net and play my music. superb guys

JJZolx
2010-12-13, 03:08
Have you tried the web interface yet? Seems odd that you'd be unaware of it. Browsing albums is much better in the web ui, IMO.

stevecross
2010-12-13, 05:43
Hi, i have server software running on remote computer. What i have done in the past is logged on to remote computer using remote desktop and launched the server software on that machine but it is slow. Are you saying i can type something into my web browser and access it like that.

steve

toby10
2010-12-13, 05:56
..... Are you saying i can type something into my web browser and access it like that....

Yes, if both computers are on the same network, just type http://your.server.IP:9000 into your browser.
This will give you complete web UI control of SBS server running on another computer on your network. 9000 is the default port used by SBS.

stevecross
2010-12-13, 06:14
Works, thanks. I must be a thick g-t never even thought about accessing it like that.

MrSinatra
2010-12-13, 12:46
Hi, i have server software running on remote computer. What i have done in the past is logged on to remote computer using remote desktop and launched the server software on that machine but it is slow. Are you saying i can type something into my web browser and access it like that.

steve

technically speaking, the SBS server software is already launched if you can reach it remotely via the IP.

garym
2010-12-13, 13:00
technically speaking, the SBS server software is already launched if you can reach it remotely via the IP.

MrSinatra is correct. And is that remote computer a low-powered NAS by the way? In most cases, the computer that SbS is running on will be the logjam, not the access via the web.

stevecross
2010-12-14, 03:36
MrSinatra is correct. And is that remote computer a low-powered NAS by the way? In most cases, the computer that SbS is running on will be the logjam, not the access via the web.

I have a nas but at the moment am running a little atom based system. I really want to run it on my little dockstar but as yet i am useless at linux.

pski
2010-12-17, 08:10
MrSinatra is correct. And is that remote computer a low-powered NAS by the way? In most cases, the computer that SbS is running on will be the logjam, not the access via the web.

Remote playback can also be hampered. Virtually all my music is lossless M4A/flac and I have DSL that only runs about 412K outbound from my home. I have to use bit rate limiting on the remote players..

P

vs27
2010-12-21, 10:37
I am new to this so I am confused. When I go to the link for the nightly download is see the SBS DL. I do not see squeeseplay (SP). I have SBS running and using a Duet. Is SP somewhere in the SBS?

aubuti
2010-12-21, 12:06
I am new to this so I am confused. When I go to the link for the nightly download is see the SBS DL. I do not see squeeseplay (SP). I have SBS running and using a Duet. Is SP somewhere in the SBS?
The answer is in the other thread you started (http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?p=596106#post596106). I realize you're new here, so please note that one of the few rules is "no crossposting".

MrSinatra
2010-12-21, 15:36
I am new to this so I am confused. When I go to the link for the nightly download is see the SBS DL. I do not see squeeseplay (SP). I have SBS running and using a Duet. Is SP somewhere in the SBS?

?


squeezeplay.

http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/Nightly_Builds