PDA

View Full Version : Playing back FLAC with built in server via SD - compression settings question.

romis138
2010-11-10, 16:26
I purchased a SB Touch when it was released for FLAC playback, but was disappointed that the hardware wasn't powerful enough to play back FLAC and 24/96 with fluidity via the built in server.

I'm going to try to give it another go. I have the latest update (not the nightly, is it worth going to for FLAC performance with built-in server?) and is there a way to check with compression setting my FLAC files were encoded with if I'm not sure? A lot of them were ripped long ago and I do not remember which I used.

Also, it's recommended to choose settings 1-5 during encoding, but will I have better luck with any particular number of one through five if space is not a concern?

rbohling
2010-11-10, 17:02
I just ripped over 500 CDs (with dbPoweramp). I have never used FLAC before and didn't really know much about it, other than I see several media servers are beginning to use it. Anyway, I ripped them all with the default 5 compression and it has been flawless. I bought a 1TB hdd for the task and hardly made a dent. Guess I could have gone with 1, for the least compression and still had tons of room.

Mnyb
2010-11-10, 22:44
For some reason flac does not contain info on it's original compression ratio, so there is no easy way to tell.

But as the files are lossles there is no quality loss invovled in re encoding every file, there is a lot of software that can do batch encoding.

BTW take a proper backup before proceeding with this.

Other have claimed that when using the internal server don't use artwork larger than 500*500 and they should be in jpg not bmp or very large jpg.

Eole
2010-11-11, 06:25
Hi Mnyb,

Thanks for your hint about the 500x500 limit.