PDA

View Full Version : Max CPU Churn



Christopher May
2004-09-03, 11:44
So what exactly does this control? The explination is not to clear, very
self referential. By lists are we talking playlists? And items=songs?

Chris

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of dean
blackketter
Sent: Friday, September 03, 2004 2:36 PM
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] Max CPU Churn


I think that the old value of 100 is probably too high. 10 worked
better for you?

Anybody else tweak this setting? I'd like to change the default to a
better value for folks.

-dean

On Sep 2, 2004, at 11:56 PM, Pbox wrote:
> I have about the same amount of songs. I use a 800Mhz Via C3 for
> serving with 768MB of ram. I do also notice the CPU curn on rescan or
> song search. I can pretty much alleviate the rescan problems by
> fiddling with the Server Settings :: Performance :: Build Items Per
> Pass. I set it to 5-10 and the server is much more responsive, no
> music dropouts, etc while rescanning. The CPU utilization is 100%
> though, which is desired, as any lower would mean it takes
> unneccessarily longer...

dean
2004-09-03, 12:27
Sorry for the ambiguity. That number is how many songs we add to a
playlist while processing web pages. The default of 100 is way too
high.

-dean


On Sep 3, 2004, at 11:44 AM, Christopher May wrote:

> So what exactly does this control? The explination is not to clear,
> very
> self referential. By lists are we talking playlists? And items=songs?
>
> Chris
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of dean
> blackketter
> Sent: Friday, September 03, 2004 2:36 PM
> To: Slim Devices Discussion
> Subject: [slim] Max CPU Churn
>
>
> I think that the old value of 100 is probably too high. 10 worked
> better for you?
>
> Anybody else tweak this setting? I'd like to change the default to a
> better value for folks.
>
> -dean
>
> On Sep 2, 2004, at 11:56 PM, Pbox wrote:
>> I have about the same amount of songs. I use a 800Mhz Via C3 for
>> serving with 768MB of ram. I do also notice the CPU curn on rescan or
>> song search. I can pretty much alleviate the rescan problems by
>> fiddling with the Server Settings :: Performance :: Build Items Per
>> Pass. I set it to 5-10 and the server is much more responsive, no
>> music dropouts, etc while rescanning. The CPU utilization is 100%
>> though, which is desired, as any lower would mean it takes
>> unneccessarily longer...
>
>