PDA

View Full Version : Slimserver crashes - requires a restart



Jim McCall
2004-09-01, 11:17
Yesterday and today, slimserver loses touch with the graphic squeezebox (5'
from router) and when I quit slimserver and start it up again, it doesn't go
past the opening little splash screen.

I am using the stock slimserver.

Btw, I don't have a clue on how to use the nightly downloads, since it
doesn't appear to be an installer - maybe a little "nightly for dummies"
would help.

Jim

kdf
2004-09-01, 11:27
Quoting Jim McCall <jim (AT) elasticmedia (DOT) com>:

> Yesterday and today, slimserver loses touch with the graphic squeezebox (5'
> from router) and when I quit slimserver and start it up again, it doesn't go
> past the opening little splash screen.
>
> I am using the stock slimserver.
>
> Btw, I don't have a clue on how to use the nightly downloads, since it
> doesn't appear to be an installer - maybe a little "nightly for dummies"
> would help.

with every nightly, there should be an EXE, rpm, and dmg (installers for Win,
Linux, OSX respectively). Sometimes the build for the EXE fails, but you can
always try a recent nightly instead of the latest:
http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/nightly/

There is an EXE for Sept 1.

However, as this is a new occurrence with same software, I'd try to determine if
you have any new sources of interference (wireless) or a different cable if you
are wired. Interference can come from a microwave in use, cordless phones, or
a neighbour getting a new wireless AP, phone, etc.

-kdf

dean
2004-09-02, 16:52
Did you happen to install Windows XP Service Pack 2?

That can cause all kinds of ugly issues where the SlimServer software
can't communicate with itself. We'll be updating the installer to
configure this for you, but in the mean time, you can adjust the
firewall settings. Here are some instructions:

http://www.slimdevices.com/su_faq.html#networking-firewall


On Sep 1, 2004, at 11:17 AM, Jim McCall wrote:

> Yesterday and today, slimserver loses touch with the graphic
> squeezebox (5'
> from router) and when I quit slimserver and start it up again, it
> doesn't go
> past the opening little splash screen.
>
> I am using the stock slimserver.
>
> Btw, I don't have a clue on how to use the nightly downloads, since it
> doesn't appear to be an installer - maybe a little "nightly for
> dummies"
> would help.
>
> Jim
>
>
>
>