PDA

View Full Version : ACK! I dropped my SB3!



Lewis Moon
2010-10-01, 06:40
Well, I screwed the pooch: I knocked my beloved SB3 off the stereo rack while I was wiring a new receiver. It "powers up" (red light in the Toslink bay) but it has no display. I figure I'm functionally screwed. Any chance of recovery? Anyone doing affordable repairs? If not, I'll need a "new" one. I loved the SB3...what is the consensus on the best audio bang for the buck player otherwise?

I never really realized just how much I relied on my SB3. Probably fully 90% of my music listening takes place with the SB.

aubuti
2010-10-01, 06:47
Sorry to hear about that. It is worth opening it up. If you are very lucky, maybe you only jarred the wireless card loose. That can happen with far less drastic drops, and if it's loose it can mess up more than the wireless. For example, it could be the source of your display problems. It's certainly worth a shot.

Logitech is no longer doing out-of-warranty repairs, and I haven't heard of anyone else doing them either. If it turns out to be something that can't be fixed, or can't be fixed for less than $100-150, then you should seriously consider replacing it with the SB Touch. Whether or not you like the LCD touchscreen, the Touch is a worthy successor to the SB3, with some significant improvements in audio quality.

MrSinatra
2010-10-01, 06:53
the Touch is a worthy successor to the SB3, with some significant improvements in audio quality.

what are those? i thought the SB2/3 DAC was HQ?

Lewis Moon
2010-10-01, 06:56
Sorry to hear about that. It is worth opening it up. If you are very lucky, maybe you only jarred the wireless card loose. That can happen with far less drastic drops, and if it's loose it can mess up more than the wireless. For example, it could be the source of your display problems. It's certainly worth a shot.

Logitech is no longer doing out-of-warranty repairs, and I haven't heard of anyone else doing them either. If it turns out to be something that can't be fixed, or can't be fixed for less than $100-150, then you should seriously consider replacing it with the SB Touch. Whether or not you like the LCD touchscreen, the Touch is a worthy successor to the SB3, with some significant improvements in audio quality.

I've had it completely apart (card out and everything) and back together. Nothing. I've gone over the solder joints with a magnifying glass and a probe and I couldn't pick up anything. I am SO bummed.

Lewis Moon
2010-10-01, 06:58
what are those? i thought the SB2/3 DAC was HQ?
I'm using an offboard DAC with the coax.

Phil Leigh
2010-10-01, 07:04
what are those? i thought the SB2/3 DAC was HQ?

Touch easily outperforms the Receiver or SB2/3 in the sound quality stakes.

MrSinatra
2010-10-01, 07:09
Touch easily outperforms the Receiver or SB2/3 in the sound quality stakes.

i'm not disputing, i'm asking how? why? what is better specifically?

mftech
2010-10-01, 07:09
Well, I screwed the pooch: I knocked my beloved SB3 off the stereo rack while I was wiring a new receiver. It "powers up" (red light in the Toslink bay) but it has no display. I figure I'm functionally screwed. Any chance of recovery? Anyone doing affordable repairs? If not, I'll need a "new" one. I loved the SB3...what is the consensus on the best audio bang for the buck player otherwise?

I never really realized just how much I relied on my SB3. Probably fully 90% of my music listening takes place with the SB.

Did you try to control your SB from Squeezecenter ?
The VFD is very fragile and maybe broken, I got this problem with my first SB, the VFD gently fade away after my SB fall on the floor.
Hopefully Slimdevices replace it.

Mnyb
2010-10-01, 07:22
Did you try to control your SB from Squeezecenter ?
The VFD is very fragile and maybe broken, I got this problem with my first SB, the VFD gently fade away after my SB fall on the floor.
Hopefully Slimdevices replace it.

Problems is that the VFD is EOL from the manufacturer there no way to get one thats probably why the classic ( SB3) got disconued way before the actual launch of the Touch , they probably wanted it to hang on for a couple of more months but where unable .

aubuti
2010-10-01, 08:11
what are those? i thought the SB2/3 DAC was HQ?
It is, but there's a lot more to audio quality than the DAC. A lot of improvements were made to the circuitry. IIRC the improvements are most pronounced with the digial outs (and therefore unrelated to the DAC). I have compared the analog outs and can hear a difference on my relatively modest hifi. Not a night-vs-day difference, but a difference. None of my amps have digital inputs so I have never compared the digital outputs.

There are several threads comparing the audio quality of the Touch with the SB3 and Transporter. Sorry I don't have any links handy, but if you search on the likely suspects you should find something.

EDIT: Here's one of the shorter threads on the topic, from shortly after the Touch was announced a little over a year ago. It has some of the specifics, but far from all of them: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=67649

Lewis Moon
2010-10-01, 11:31
Well, it's the display. I'm currently playing it through the online interface.
That'll give me a bit of cover while I look for a new one.

aubuti
2010-10-01, 11:43
Well, that's way better than nothing. Basically you have the equivalent of a Duet Receiver. You could keep it as is, and control it with iPeng (on an iPhone or iPod Touch), or an Android device, or a Duet Controller. There probably isn't any new firmware coming down the pike for the SB3, but just in case I hope you had it set to automatic update before it died (it's in the firmware menu and no longer accessible if you don't have a screen).

You could scavenge for a replacement display from an old SB2 or SB3, but even if you find one I understand it's hard to replace them in an SB3 (SB2 is pretty easy).

Lewis Moon
2010-10-01, 12:01
Well, that's way better than nothing. Basically you have the equivalent of a Duet Receiver. You could keep it as is, and control it with iPeng (on an iPhone or iPod Touch), or an Android device, or a Duet Controller. There probably isn't any new firmware coming down the pike for the SB3, but just in case I hope you had it set to automatic update before it died (it's in the firmware menu and no longer accessible if you don't have a screen).

You could scavenge for a replacement display from an old SB2 or SB3, but even if you find one I understand it's hard to replace them in an SB3 (SB2 is pretty easy).

I won't be swapping out screens...I saw the solder joints. Any way to control it with a netbook?

aubuti
2010-10-01, 12:04
With a netbook there's the standard web ui. Or if the netbook is running Windows there's the Moose interface, which is quite good.

Lewis Moon
2010-10-01, 12:12
With a netbook there's the standard web ui. Or if the netbook is running Windows there's the Moose interface, which is quite good.

OK...I know just about enough about this to get me deep into trouble. If SB is running on the our desk top, how do I control it with a netbook in the next room? Be kind.

aubuti
2010-10-01, 12:21
No problem. Open up a web browser on the netbook and enter the address http://<server_ip>:9000/ , BUT instead of putting <server_ip>, you put the IP address of the the desktop that is running Squeezebox Server. So if the desktop's IP address is 192.168.0.3, you would type http://192.168.0.3:9000/. This tells the netbook to connect to the mini web server that runs as part of Squeezebox Server on your desktop.

If you don't know the IP address of the desktop you can find out, but the exact steps depend on the operating system. If it's Windows you can open a command window and type "ipconfig" (without quotes) and it will tell you the IP address.

Depending on how your network and desktop are set up, you might be able to connect using the "name" of your desktop.

Lewis Moon
2010-10-01, 12:48
No problem. Open up a web browser on the netbook and enter the address http://<server_ip>:9000/ , BUT instead of putting <server_ip>, you put the IP address of the the desktop that is running Squeezebox Server. So if the desktop's IP address is 192.168.0.3, you would type http://192.168.0.3:9000/. This tells the netbook to connect to the mini web server that runs as part of Squeezebox Server on your desktop.

If you don't know the IP address of the desktop you can find out, but the exact steps depend on the operating system. If it's Windows you can open a command window and type "ipconfig" (without quotes) and it will tell you the IP address.

Depending on how your network and desktop are set up, you might be able to connect using the "name" of your desktop.

I type in "ipconfig" and the command box flashes and goes away in a blink.

toby10
2010-10-01, 12:55
Just launch the Control Panel of SBS, look in Diagnostics tab, server IP is there.
If running the old SC server (or with SBS as well) just look in Settings > Information for the server IP.

Lewis Moon
2010-10-01, 13:03
Just launch the Control Panel of SBS, look in Diagnostics tab, server IP is there.
If running the old SC server (or with SBS as well) just look in Settings > Information for the server IP.

JEEBUS!!! I'm a happy camper!!!11eleventy1 IMO that's better than the hand held. Thanks to everyone! kisses!

alfista
2010-10-03, 08:14
With a netbook there's the standard web ui. Or if the netbook is running Windows there's the Moose interface, which is quite good.
Or Squeezeplay perhaps which should work well on a netbook I guess.

aubuti
2010-10-03, 08:49
Or Squeezeplay perhaps which should work well on a netbook I guess.
Yes, I forgot about that. Squeezeplay is definitely a good option too.