PDA

View Full Version : delay before sending digital out



Phillip Kerman
2004-08-30, 12:39
Well, I tested this and it's definitely something that was introduced in
5.3. That is, when I go back to 5.2.x then start, stop, jump around... my
receiver stays locked. It doesn't take a few seconds to figure out the
digital signal (as it does when a new source is coming in).

So... is there a fix? I haven't tried the nightlies because I'm 5.3 is
already a bit flakey.

Anyone else experience this?

It does seem likely to be related to the issue of DACs not saying locked.

Thanks,
Phillip



> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of
> Phillip Kerman
> Sent: Monday, August 30, 2004 9:04 AM
> To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> Subject: [slim] delay before sending digital out
>
> I have 5.3.0b1 and the associated firmware... and I just got
> a new surround
> receiver (Rotel RSX 1056). I haven't used the digital outs
> previously...
> but now (using the coaxial) my receiver has to re-lock on the
> signal every
> time I pick a new song or pause/play a song (via the slim
> remote). The
> receiver can decode all sorts of digital formats--but it's
> silent while it
> figures it out upon starting the SB (about 1-2 seconds). I
> have set the
> default to PCM 2-channel... but there's still something
> funky--like the SB
> stops sending any signal then starts up again.
>
> Is this issue the same as others have had with earlier
> firmware (and DACs)?
>
> Thanks,
> Phillip
>
>

kdf
2004-08-30, 13:27
Quoting Phillip Kerman <lists (AT) phillipkerman (DOT) com>:

> Well, I tested this and it's definitely something that was introduced in
> 5.3. That is, when I go back to 5.2.x then start, stop, jump around... my
> receiver stays locked. It doesn't take a few seconds to figure out the
> digital signal (as it does when a new source is coming in).
>
> So... is there a fix? I haven't tried the nightlies because I'm 5.3 is
> already a bit flakey.
>
> Anyone else experience this?

This does sound similar to some other users' problems with DAC's reporting odd
locking/non-locking conditions. I believe Sean said he had a possible culprit
found and was working on a fix.
-kdf