PDA

View Full Version : Volume synced to MAX!



Skinny
2010-09-09, 10:53
This is what happened yesterday: I was listening to some music through the Duet. It's digitally connected to the stereo, so volume is locked at 100%. My better half was working on the PC in the next room and wanted to get some music in there as well. So I synced the Radio in there to the Receiver. What I didn't take into consideration was that I had earlier set the volume to sync on the Radio, for syncing it with the Boom. So, the Radio started playing at max volume in the middle of a song. She got so scared followed by mad that she wanted to kill me at that instant (well, she wasn't happy..). She thought I'd done it on purpose, trying to be funny.

Needless to say, that was not a good SqueezeBox experience. I don't want it to happen again, ever, to anyone!

I propose that some logic is implemented that in some smart way prevents volume sync to a player that has it set locked at 100%, at least for the Radio and Boom.

Other than that, we keep enjoying the music. The good SB experiences by far outnumber that bad one. I promised her to keep volume sync off for now. And she did calm down eventually :)

-Skinny

michel
2010-09-11, 07:39
Just tick checkbox: do not sync volume in server setup.

Skinny
2010-09-12, 09:12
I had earlier set the volume to sync on the Radio, for syncing it with the Boom. (...) I promised to keep volume sync off for now.


Just tick checkbox: do not sync volume in server setup.

Thank you. I believe you missed my point. I don't find any difficulty in setting the sync for volume. I just think that it shouldn't be as easy to do unintentionally in the case where the conditions described in my first post apply. Also as explained, I'd like to be able to use volume sync for when syncing the two stand-alone players, as I find it very convenient. And all this without having to bother with remembering to change the vol sync setting in between.

-Skinny