PDA

View Full Version : BBC iPlayer listen again not working?



Zoltan
2010-08-30, 06:35
I can listen to live streams on BBC iPlayer today but not and 'listen again' programmes. I've tried programmes on Radio 4 and 6Music. Anyone else experiencing this, or suggestions as to what the problem might be?

BTW, I'm not sure I've tried to do this for a while so it hasn't necessarily just started happening today.

Thanks.

bpa
2010-08-30, 06:47
It works OK for but I'm outside the UK.

Have you got the latest version 1.1.7 ? I can't remember the details, but there was a problem a while back which required an update.

andynormancx
2010-08-30, 08:02
Radio 4 is working fine in the UK here for me.

Zoltan
2010-08-30, 16:17
Still not working for me. Is there anything I can do to debug this?

BTW - I'm in UK if that makes a difference.

andynormancx
2010-08-30, 23:59
Still not working for me. Is there anything I can do to debug this?

Yes, you can post the contents of your log file when trying to play an iPlayer show.

bpa
2010-08-31, 00:38
To get more info in the log file set plugin.bbciplayer.parser and plugin.bbciplayer.rtmp to INFO in Webui Settings/Advanced/Logging and then click Apply.

Then try to play a Listen Again program & station you have not tried before.

Zoltan
2010-08-31, 05:20
To get more info in the log file set plugin.bbciplayer.parser and plugin.bbciplayer.rtmp to INFO in Webui Settings/Advanced/Logging and then click Apply.

Then try to play a Listen Again program & station you have not tried before.

Thanks for the tip. I have a command line Linux server - what is command line the equivalent to applying these settings via the GUI?

I'll have a try later when I get home.

bpa
2010-08-31, 05:29
I would not recommend trying to edit the prefs file.

You can access the GUI from any browser using http:<server ip address>:9000 - the browser does not have to be on your Linux server - for example an iPhone/iPad, netpc etc.

Zoltan
2010-08-31, 05:51
I would not recommend trying to edit the prefs file.

You can access the GUI from any browser using http:<server ip address>:9000 - the browser does not have to be on your Linux server - for example an iPhone/iPad, netpc etc.

Yes - sorry, I misread your instructions. For some reason, I thought it was referring to the windows GUI tool.

Zoltan
2010-08-31, 15:52
This is the log I got when trying to play the 'Today' programme from Radio 4 from this morning. I snipped a couple of the very long URL lines.



[10-08-31 23:47:45.0872] Plugins::BBCiPlayer::BBCMSParser::_findStream (247) Found stream for iplayer_uk_stream_aac_rtmp_concrete from http://www.bbc.co.uk/mediaselector/4/mtis/stream/b00thvr2: ...snip....aac
[10-08-31 23:47:53.9742] Plugins::BBCiPlayer::BBCMSParser::_findStream (247) Found stream for iplayer_uk_stream_aac_rtmp_concrete from http://www.bbc.co.uk/mediaselector/4/mtis/stream/b00thvr2: ...snip....aac
[10-08-31 23:47:54.1271] Plugins::BBCiPlayer::RTMP::new (111) {
app => "a1414/e3",
ct => "aac",
desc => "Debating the end of the Iraq war, plus the alleged cricket scam and Today's new theme tune",
duration => 10_800,
host => "bbcmedia.fcod.llnwd.net",
icon => "http://node1.bbcimg.co.uk/iplayer/images/episode/b00thvrx_512_288.jpg",
port => 1935,
streamname => "mp4:radio4/secure_auth/RBN2_radio_4_fm_-_tuesday_0600_b00thvr2_2010_08_31_08_28_24.mp4?as= adobe-hmac-sha256&av=1&te=connect&mp=radio4/secure_auth/modem/RBN2_radio_4_fm_-_tuesday_0600_b00thvr2_2010_08_31_08_29_13.mp4,rad io4/secure_auth/RBN2_radio_4_fm_-_tuesday_0600_b00thvr2_2010_08_31_08_28_24.mp4&et=1283302073&fmta-token=1b1d713e6faf1170c6de2758e0ef781eb27ed31cfb10 1191f21632db0adab5e6",
swfurl => "",
tcurl => "rtmp://bbcmedia.fcod.llnwd.net:1935/a1414/e3",
ttl => "1283294883",
update => "Plugins::BBCiPlayer::BBCMSParser",
url => "http://www.bbc.co.uk/mediaselector/4/mtis/stream/b00thvr2",
}
[10-08-31 23:47:54.1292] Plugins::BBCiPlayer::RTMP::new (120) connecting to rtmp://bbcmedia.fcod.llnwd.net:1935
[10-08-31 23:47:54.3696] Plugins::BBCiPlayer::RTMP::state (271) hsAwaitS0 -> hsAwaitS1
[10-08-31 23:47:54.3723] Plugins::BBCiPlayer::RTMP::state (271) hsAwaitS1 -> hsAwaitS2
[10-08-31 23:47:54.3768] Plugins::BBCiPlayer::RTMP::state (271) hsAwaitS2 -> sentConnect
[10-08-31 23:47:54.5066] Plugins::BBCiPlayer::RTMP::__ANON__ (617) message type 5 - window ack size: 2500000 - ignore
[10-08-31 23:47:54.5090] Plugins::BBCiPlayer::RTMP::__ANON__ (627) message type 6 - set peer BW: 2500000 limit type 2 - sending response
[10-08-31 23:47:54.5138] Plugins::BBCiPlayer::RTMP::__ANON__ (739) message type 20 - command message: _result
[10-08-31 23:47:54.5159] Plugins::BBCiPlayer::RTMP::__ANON__ (749) sending createStream
[10-08-31 23:47:54.5189] Plugins::BBCiPlayer::RTMP::state (271) sentConnect -> sentCreateStream
[10-08-31 23:47:54.5216] Plugins::BBCiPlayer::RTMP::__ANON__ (739) message type 20 - command message: onBWDone
[10-08-31 23:47:54.7017] Plugins::BBCiPlayer::RTMP::__ANON__ (739) message type 20 - command message: _result
[10-08-31 23:47:54.7038] Plugins::BBCiPlayer::RTMP::__ANON__ (769) sending play
[10-08-31 23:47:54.7086] Plugins::BBCiPlayer::RTMP::state (271) sentCreateStream -> sentPlay
[10-08-31 23:47:54.9339] Plugins::BBCiPlayer::RTMP::__ANON__ (739) message type 20 - command message: onStatus
[10-08-31 23:47:54.9358] Plugins::BBCiPlayer::RTMP::__ANON__ (803) error NetStream.Failed
[10-08-31 23:47:54.9376] Plugins::BBCiPlayer::RTMP::__ANON__ (807) closing
[10-08-31 23:47:54.9421] Plugins::BBCiPlayer::RTMP::__ANON__ (809) [
"onStatus",
0,
undef,
{
clientid => "wLiI4fio",
code => "NetStream.Failed",
description => "Failed to play (stream ID: 1).",
level => "error",
},
]
[10-08-31 23:47:54.9440] Plugins::BBCiPlayer::RTMP::close (482) close
[10-08-31 23:47:54.9842] Plugins::BBCiPlayer::RTMP::sysread (836) input socket not connected
[10-08-31 23:47:54.9861] Plugins::BBCiPlayer::RTMP::close (482) close
[10-08-31 23:47:54.9882] Plugins::BBCiPlayer::RTMP::close (482) close

Triode
2010-08-31, 16:04
Which version of the plugin are you using?

Does it work if you enable "prefer wma" on the settings page for the plugin?

Zoltan
2010-09-01, 04:40
Which version of the plugin are you using?


Doh! Why didn't I check whether the plugin was up to date?

(I guess because I use it every day for live streaming and that was working fine.)

Anyway, now sorted. Thanks!

andynormancx
2010-09-01, 07:15
Especcialy as the first reply ask you to check the version...

But never mind, we've all been there ;)

Zoltan
2010-09-01, 09:14
Especcialy as the first reply ask you to check the version...

:o