PDA

View Full Version : New display version - a few problems



Jeff Fila
2004-08-27, 05:41
I just got the new graphics display version and really like it but I
have two problems - unrelated to the display. Using latest official
version of SlimServer:

1) When I pause a track it will pause fine. But when I hit pause again
to resume, or hit play it will play muted. I have to adjust the volume
on the Squeezebox remote for the sound to kick back in. Has this been
documented?

2) I'm running the Slimserver on a dedicated file server, XP Pro, SP1.
When I changed skins for the web control, all of the detailed info on
the left hand side no longer appears. For instance, I can see the
"server settings" link, but when I click it, that left hand side goes
blank. It just isn't there - I tried to ctrl-a to select any text and
there was nothing there. The only way to fix it is to shutdown the
service or computer and restart it. But it just happens again anyway,
now even if I use the default skin. Any ideas what's going on now?


Has anyone used Windows Server 2003 for their Slimserver? I am upgrading to it.

Thanks,
Jeff

dean
2004-08-27, 11:53
Hi Jeff,

On Aug 27, 2004, at 5:41 AM, Jeff Fila wrote:
>
> 1) When I pause a track it will pause fine. But when I hit pause again
> to resume, or hit play it will play muted. I have to adjust the volume
> on the Squeezebox remote for the sound to kick back in. Has this been
> documented?
This has been reported before, but we've been unable to reproduce it
here. Would it be possible for you to turn on the d_slimproto and
d_slimproto_v debug options and send the resulting output when
unpausing and seeing the problem?

> 2) I'm running the Slimserver on a dedicated file server, XP Pro, SP1.
> When I changed skins for the web control, all of the detailed info on
> the left hand side no longer appears. For instance, I can see the
> "server settings" link, but when I click it, that left hand side goes
> blank. It just isn't there - I tried to ctrl-a to select any text and
> there was nothing there. The only way to fix it is to shutdown the
> service or computer and restart it. But it just happens again anyway,
> now even if I use the default skin. Any ideas what's going on now?
What happens when you hit refresh?

Jeff Fila
2004-08-27, 12:12
Thanks for the reply Dean. Download the log at
http://news.designtechnica.com/images/news/slimdevices/jflog0827.txt

In this log I played a few songs, paused them and then un-paused them.
It would return "playing muted". To unmute I would have to change the
volume up or down and it would be audible again. The song really did
resume when I hit the pause button (or play too) because it had
advanced through the song. Interestingly, if I pause then change the
volume first then unpause, it resumes right away.

Issue 2 from below doesn't appear to happen anymore. Refresh did
nothing but I turned the server off and rebooted this morning again
and it has been fine since.

On Fri, 27 Aug 2004 11:53:58 -0700, dean blackketter
<dean (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com> wrote:
> Hi Jeff,
>
> On Aug 27, 2004, at 5:41 AM, Jeff Fila wrote:
> >
> > 1) When I pause a track it will pause fine. But when I hit pause again
> > to resume, or hit play it will play muted. I have to adjust the volume
> > on the Squeezebox remote for the sound to kick back in. Has this been
> > documented?
> This has been reported before, but we've been unable to reproduce it
> here. Would it be possible for you to turn on the d_slimproto and
> d_slimproto_v debug options and send the resulting output when
> unpausing and seeing the problem?
>
> > 2) I'm running the Slimserver on a dedicated file server, XP Pro, SP1.
> > When I changed skins for the web control, all of the detailed info on
> > the left hand side no longer appears. For instance, I can see the
> > "server settings" link, but when I click it, that left hand side goes
> > blank. It just isn't there - I tried to ctrl-a to select any text and
> > there was nothing there. The only way to fix it is to shutdown the
> > service or computer and restart it. But it just happens again anyway,
> > now even if I use the default skin. Any ideas what's going on now?
> What happens when you hit refresh?
>
>

Jeff Fila
2004-08-27, 12:14
Hmmm wondering why my posts don't append [SLIM] at the front. A gmail
issue perhaps?

On Fri, 27 Aug 2004 15:12:07 -0400, Jeff Fila <jtfila (AT) gmail (DOT) com> wrote:
> Thanks for the reply Dean. Download the log at
> http://news.designtechnica.com/images/news/slimdevices/jflog0827.txt
>
> In this log I played a few songs, paused them and then un-paused them.
> It would return "playing muted". To unmute I would have to change the
> volume up or down and it would be audible again. The song really did
> resume when I hit the pause button (or play too) because it had
> advanced through the song. Interestingly, if I pause then change the
> volume first then unpause, it resumes right away.
>
> Issue 2 from below doesn't appear to happen anymore. Refresh did
> nothing but I turned the server off and rebooted this morning again
> and it has been fine since.
>
>
>
> On Fri, 27 Aug 2004 11:53:58 -0700, dean blackketter
> <dean (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com> wrote:
> > Hi Jeff,
> >
> > On Aug 27, 2004, at 5:41 AM, Jeff Fila wrote:
> > >
> > > 1) When I pause a track it will pause fine. But when I hit pause again
> > > to resume, or hit play it will play muted. I have to adjust the volume
> > > on the Squeezebox remote for the sound to kick back in. Has this been
> > > documented?
> > This has been reported before, but we've been unable to reproduce it
> > here. Would it be possible for you to turn on the d_slimproto and
> > d_slimproto_v debug options and send the resulting output when
> > unpausing and seeing the problem?
> >
> > > 2) I'm running the Slimserver on a dedicated file server, XP Pro, SP1.
> > > When I changed skins for the web control, all of the detailed info on
> > > the left hand side no longer appears. For instance, I can see the
> > > "server settings" link, but when I click it, that left hand side goes
> > > blank. It just isn't there - I tried to ctrl-a to select any text and
> > > there was nothing there. The only way to fix it is to shutdown the
> > > service or computer and restart it. But it just happens again anyway,
> > > now even if I use the default skin. Any ideas what's going on now?
> > What happens when you hit refresh?
> >
> >

kdf
2004-08-27, 12:21
Quoting dean blackketter <dean (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com>:

> Hi Jeff,
>
> On Aug 27, 2004, at 5:41 AM, Jeff Fila wrote:
> >
> > 1) When I pause a track it will pause fine. But when I hit pause again
> > to resume, or hit play it will play muted. I have to adjust the volume
> > on the Squeezebox remote for the sound to kick back in. Has this been
> > documented?
> This has been reported before, but we've been unable to reproduce it
> here. Would it be possible for you to turn on the d_slimproto and
> d_slimproto_v debug options and send the resulting output when
> unpausing and seeing the problem?
>
> > 2) I'm running the Slimserver on a dedicated file server, XP Pro, SP1.
> > When I changed skins for the web control, all of the detailed info on
> > the left hand side no longer appears. For instance, I can see the
> > "server settings" link, but when I click it, that left hand side goes
> > blank. It just isn't there - I tried to ctrl-a to select any text and
> > there was nothing there. The only way to fix it is to shutdown the
> > service or computer and restart it. But it just happens again anyway,
> > now even if I use the default skin. Any ideas what's going on now?
> What happens when you hit refresh?

latest official version would be 5.2.1 no? I think this did have the issue
where changing skins would blank some pages. It used to be bug308 is fixed in
the latest nightly (5.3.0beta).

I also had the pause/mute problem back a while, but its gone now.

-kdf

dean
2004-08-27, 23:09
Jeff,

Can you try updating to the latest nightly release:

http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/nightly/latest

and see if these issues are resolved for you?

Thanks,

dean

On Aug 27, 2004, at 12:21 PM, kdf wrote:

> Quoting dean blackketter <dean (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com>:
>
>> Hi Jeff,
>>
>> On Aug 27, 2004, at 5:41 AM, Jeff Fila wrote:
>>>
>>> 1) When I pause a track it will pause fine. But when I hit pause
>>> again
>>> to resume, or hit play it will play muted. I have to adjust the
>>> volume
>>> on the Squeezebox remote for the sound to kick back in. Has this been
>>> documented?
>> This has been reported before, but we've been unable to reproduce it
>> here. Would it be possible for you to turn on the d_slimproto and
>> d_slimproto_v debug options and send the resulting output when
>> unpausing and seeing the problem?
>>
>>> 2) I'm running the Slimserver on a dedicated file server, XP Pro,
>>> SP1.
>>> When I changed skins for the web control, all of the detailed info on
>>> the left hand side no longer appears. For instance, I can see the
>>> "server settings" link, but when I click it, that left hand side goes
>>> blank. It just isn't there - I tried to ctrl-a to select any text and
>>> there was nothing there. The only way to fix it is to shutdown the
>>> service or computer and restart it. But it just happens again anyway,
>>> now even if I use the default skin. Any ideas what's going on now?
>> What happens when you hit refresh?
>
> latest official version would be 5.2.1 no? I think this did have the
> issue
> where changing skins would blank some pages. It used to be bug308 is
> fixed in
> the latest nightly (5.3.0beta).
>
> I also had the pause/mute problem back a while, but its gone now.
>
> -kdf
>

Jeff Fila
2004-09-07, 19:57
Dean,
I just got to this today. I'm using server 5.3.0b1 and the Squeezebox
was upgraded to fw version 36. All is working fine now. I'm running it
on Windows 2003 server enterprise edition and its working perfect with
both the SBG and my older SliMP3.

Jeff


On Fri, 27 Aug 2004 23:09:04 -0700, dean blackketter
<dean (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com> wrote:
> Jeff,
>
> Can you try updating to the latest nightly release:
>
> http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/nightly/latest
>
> and see if these issues are resolved for you?
>
> Thanks,
>
> dean
>
> On Aug 27, 2004, at 12:21 PM, kdf wrote:
>
> > Quoting dean blackketter <dean (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com>:
> >
> >> Hi Jeff,
> >>
> >> On Aug 27, 2004, at 5:41 AM, Jeff Fila wrote:
> >>>
> >>> 1) When I pause a track it will pause fine. But when I hit pause
> >>> again
> >>> to resume, or hit play it will play muted. I have to adjust the
> >>> volume
> >>> on the Squeezebox remote for the sound to kick back in. Has this been
> >>> documented?
> >> This has been reported before, but we've been unable to reproduce it
> >> here. Would it be possible for you to turn on the d_slimproto and
> >> d_slimproto_v debug options and send the resulting output when
> >> unpausing and seeing the problem?
> >>
> >>> 2) I'm running the Slimserver on a dedicated file server, XP Pro,
> >>> SP1.
> >>> When I changed skins for the web control, all of the detailed info on
> >>> the left hand side no longer appears. For instance, I can see the
> >>> "server settings" link, but when I click it, that left hand side goes
> >>> blank. It just isn't there - I tried to ctrl-a to select any text and
> >>> there was nothing there. The only way to fix it is to shutdown the
> >>> service or computer and restart it. But it just happens again anyway,
> >>> now even if I use the default skin. Any ideas what's going on now?
> >> What happens when you hit refresh?
> >
> > latest official version would be 5.2.1 no? I think this did have the
> > issue
> > where changing skins would blank some pages. It used to be bug308 is
> > fixed in
> > the latest nightly (5.3.0beta).
> >
> > I also had the pause/mute problem back a while, but its gone now.
> >
> > -kdf
> >