PDA

View Full Version : Using itunes as the source of music/playlists - goodideaor risky?



Alexander Niepel
2004-08-26, 22:19
> > I have read reports here about people that use itunes on
> > their computer and store music in the itunes location;
> > they then point slimserver to the itunes locations to find music.
> > Realistically, how fraught with problems is this?

I've had no problems with that setup so far. Since I'm using Slimserver
5.2.1 I even switched to using the iTunes library file ("iTunes Music
Library.xml") directly, which is much more comfortable.

> You should be aware that iTunes will re-arrange your files
> into its own preferred directory hierarchy.

There is an option in iTunes ("Edit > Preferences > Advanced") where you
can switch on or off that behaviour (I'm not sure which is the default
value). That way iTunes will leave your music where it finds it. (BTW:
I'm happy with the way iTunes sorts my 60 GB of music.)

Alexander.

kdf
2004-08-26, 22:26
Howdy,

For those who enjoy listening to very long tracks and occasionally want to
bounce forward or back to a specific point can nwo try out Song Scanner. its a
very basic plugin, in its early stages that allows you to use the up and down
keys to select the position in time within the currently playing track.
exiting left will jump to that position. Currently, you must have a track
playing at the time you enter, and the only way to leave will cause a jump.
More work will come along as motivation and feedback suggests.

downloadable here:
http://www.deane-freeman.com/slimserver/Scanner.pm

NOTE: This does not require any external modules, so it should work with all
systems, but it DOES require a recent nightly build Aug 23 or later.

-kdf

Daniel Cohen
2004-09-23, 07:50
On 26/8/04 at 10:26 pm -0700, kdf wrote
>Howdy,
>
>For those who enjoy listening to very long tracks and occasionally want to
>bounce forward or back to a specific point can nwo try out Song
>Scanner. its a
>very basic plugin, in its early stages that allows you to use the up and down
>keys to select the position in time within the currently playing track.
>exiting left will jump to that position. Currently, you must have a track
>playing at the time you enter, and the only way to leave will cause a jump.
>More work will come along as motivation and feedback suggests.

Now I've got the latest Slimserver, I've started using this plugin.
Very nice, much more convenient than fast forward.

A couple of questions and comments.

How much does one press of the Up key move. Is it a fixed amount or a
percentage of the total amount?

Is it possible (perhaps by changing a line in the plugin and, if
necessary, using two versions of the plugin) to change the amount
that a press of the key moves.

When I need to use this module, I may typically want to move twenty
minutes in to a forty minute radio programme. Currently this seems to
involve thirty or so presses of the key, which is too many. I would
be perfectly happy with running two plugins, one moving say five
minutes or so at a time and the other as current.
--
Daniel Cohen

kdf
2004-09-23, 12:33
Quoting Daniel Cohen <danco (AT) f2s (DOT) com>:

> On 26/8/04 at 10:26 pm -0700, kdf wrote
> >Howdy,
> >
> >For those who enjoy listening to very long tracks and occasionally want to
> >bounce forward or back to a specific point can nwo try out Song
> >Scanner. its a
> >very basic plugin, in its early stages that allows you to use the up and
> down
> >keys to select the position in time within the currently playing track.
> >exiting left will jump to that position. Currently, you must have a track
> >playing at the time you enter, and the only way to leave will cause a jump.
> >More work will come along as motivation and feedback suggests.
>
> Now I've got the latest Slimserver, I've started using this plugin.
> Very nice, much more convenient than fast forward.
>
> A couple of questions and comments.
>
> How much does one press of the Up key move. Is it a fixed amount or a
> percentage of the total amount?

its a percentage. When you enter the slider bar, the whole song is scaled to be
the full width of the bar. If you need an exact time reference, the
offset/(total track time) is displayed on the top line.

>
> Is it possible (perhaps by changing a line in the plugin and, if
> necessary, using two versions of the plugin) to change the amount
> that a press of the key moves.

there is a line of code (line114) that sets the increment:
$params{'increment'} = $params{'max'}/100;

at some point, I could make it a setting but that's the quickest way to make it
do what you want.

> When I need to use this module, I may typically want to move twenty
> minutes in to a forty minute radio programme. Currently this seems to
> involve thirty or so presses of the key, which is too many. I would
> be perfectly happy with running two plugins, one moving say five
> minutes or so at a time and the other as current.

one option would be to press and hold up or down. The scrolling routine that
handles this does accelerate.

cheers,
kdf

Daniel Cohen
2004-09-23, 12:53
On 23/9/04 at 12:33 pm -0700, kdf wrote
>Quoting Daniel Cohen <danco (AT) f2s (DOT) com>:
>
> >
>> Now I've got the latest Slimserver, I've started using this plugin.
>> Very nice, much more convenient than fast forward.
>>
>> A couple of questions and comments.
>>
>> How much does one press of the Up key move. Is it a fixed amount or a
>> percentage of the total amount?
>
>its a percentage. When you enter the slider bar, the whole song is
>scaled to be
>the full width of the bar. If you need an exact time reference, the
>offset/(total track time) is displayed on the top line.


Thanks. I thought so.

>
>>
>> Is it possible (perhaps by changing a line in the plugin and, if
>> necessary, using two versions of the plugin) to change the amount
>> that a press of the key moves.
>
>there is a line of code (line114) that sets the increment:
>$params{'increment'} = $params{'max'}/100;

Does that mean that the current line 114 gives an increment of 1%
each press, so that replacing 100 by 20 would give an increase of 5%
each press?

>
>at some point, I could make it a setting but that's the quickest way
>to make it
>do what you want.


I think it may even be easier for users to make the change. That way
one could have several different plugins that move different amounts
- I might have a fast, very fast, and slow plugin.

>
>> When I need to use this module, I may typically want to move twenty
>> minutes in to a forty minute radio programme. Currently this seems to
>> involve thirty or so presses of the key, which is too many. I would
>> be perfectly happy with running two plugins, one moving say five
>> minutes or so at a time and the other as current.
>
>one option would be to press and hold up or down. The scrolling routine that
>handles this does accelerate.

I'll try that too.
--
Daniel Cohen

kdf
2004-09-23, 14:02
Quoting Daniel Cohen <danco (AT) f2s (DOT) com>:


> >
> >there is a line of code (line114) that sets the increment:
> >$params{'increment'} = $params{'max'}/100;
>
> Does that mean that the current line 114 gives an increment of 1%
> each press, so that replacing 100 by 20 would give an increase of 5%
> each press?

yes indeedy.

> >
> >at some point, I could make it a setting but that's the quickest way
> >to make it
> >do what you want.
>
>
> I think it may even be easier for users to make the change. That way
> one could have several different plugins that move different amounts
> - I might have a fast, very fast, and slow plugin.

its usually best to avoid requireing people to edit code. It works, for now, as
the plugin is design to be very very simplistic. If I have time to look at it
for longer, then there might be more friendly ways of providing options.

-kdf

Daniel Cohen
2004-09-25, 02:40
Hmm, I've now tried the following.

1. Save a copy of the plugin under the name scannerfast.pm

2. Changed line 114 in this copyby replacing 100 by 10.

3.Replaced the early lines

PLUGIN_SCANNER
EN Song Scanner


by

PLUGIN_SCANNER
EN Song Scanner fast


This last step may be where the problem is.

because what now happens is the following.

If I use the basic song scanner plugin whose file name is scanner.pm,
it works but scans in the large increments that I wanted to use for
the fast scanner (although I have not altered the original plugin).

If I try to use my scannerfast plugin, it immediately stops the Slimserver.

So what am I doing wrong? I would like to have both a slow and a fast
scanner available.




On 23/9/04 at 12:33 pm -0700, kdf wrote
> > Is it possible (perhaps by changing a line in the plugin and, if
>> necessary, using two versions of the plugin) to change the amount
>> that a press of the key moves.
>
>there is a line of code (line114) that sets the increment:
>$params{'increment'} = $params{'max'}/100;
>
>at some point, I could make it a setting but that's the quickest way
>to make it
>do what you want.


--
Daniel Cohen

kdf
2004-09-25, 03:37
you also need to change the line starting with "package" to match the filename
or perl will get confused.

-kdf

Quoting Daniel Cohen <danco (AT) f2s (DOT) com>:

> Hmm, I've now tried the following.
>
> 1. Save a copy of the plugin under the name scannerfast.pm
>
> 2. Changed line 114 in this copyby replacing 100 by 10.
>
> 3.Replaced the early lines
>
> PLUGIN_SCANNER
> EN Song Scanner
>
>
> by
>
> PLUGIN_SCANNER
> EN Song Scanner fast
>
>
> This last step may be where the problem is.
>
> because what now happens is the following.
>
> If I use the basic song scanner plugin whose file name is scanner.pm,
> it works but scans in the large increments that I wanted to use for
> the fast scanner (although I have not altered the original plugin).
>
> If I try to use my scannerfast plugin, it immediately stops the Slimserver.
>
> So what am I doing wrong? I would like to have both a slow and a fast
> scanner available.
>
>
>
>
> On 23/9/04 at 12:33 pm -0700, kdf wrote
> > > Is it possible (perhaps by changing a line in the plugin and, if
> >> necessary, using two versions of the plugin) to change the amount
> >> that a press of the key moves.
> >
> >there is a line of code (line114) that sets the increment:
> >$params{'increment'} = $params{'max'}/100;
> >
> >at some point, I could make it a setting but that's the quickest way
> >to make it
> >do what you want.
>
>
> --
> Daniel Cohen
>

Daniel Cohen
2004-09-25, 07:50
On 25/9/04 at 3:37 am -0700, kdf wrote
>you also need to change the line starting with "package" to match the filename
>or perl will get confused.

yes, that did it. I had a slight difficulty, as I had expected
disabling and re-enabling the plugins would give the new files (as I
had plugins set to lad on the fly), but I found I had to stop and
restart SlimServer for it to work.

There is a minor issue with Song Scanner (at least my fast version).
After I have moved a suitable amount and pressed play, the track
plays. But the "Now playing" screensaver, which I have set to show
elapsed time, no longer changes time, it sticks at the time that I
had moved to.
--
Daniel Cohen