PDA

View Full Version : Rhapsody "My Library" Weirdness



ajkidle
2010-07-26, 06:36
I'm having an issue with Rhapsody, wondering if I'm alone. There are several albums that I can only view in My Library when I use their Windows client software (which I have no interest in using.) They don't appear in My Library when I browse via Squeezebox, their iPhone app, or the web based interface (tried Safari on OSX and IE7 on WinXP.)

Has anyone else noticed this behavior? I've been going back and forth with their tech support, no solution yet.

If anyone is willing to test to see if it's a global issue or something specific to my account, one album that exhibits this behavior is "Not As Far" by Three Legged Fox.

ghostrider
2010-07-26, 12:07
I have the same problem although I haven't called support. I'll add an CD to my library and it will appear in the Rhapsody client but I can't find it under the artist in SBS. It will appear in new music in SBS. Sometimes a CD I have already added some time ago will disappear from SBS although it will show in the Rhapsody client. My playlists, which I create using the Rhapsody client, will still contain tracks from CD's that have disappeared from SBS, and the tracks will still play. I just assumed that it was an SBS problem and didn't feel like trying to explain it to support, so I work around it.

A specific example I noticed yesterday is Tidal by Fiona Apple. I added it months ago and yesterday I noticed that it was not listed under artist. I added it again and it shows under SBS under new music but not under artist.

Version: 7.5.0 - r30464 @ Thu Apr 1 05:51:56 PDT 2010

ajkidle
2010-07-26, 12:26
I just assumed that it was an SBS problem and didn't feel like trying to explain it to support, so I work around it.


I just tried to add Tidal to my library. Same issue I was having with others. Works via the client software, but doesn't appear when browsing via the web interface -- so I suspect SBS won't see it, nor will it appear on the iPhone app. Agreed that if this were SBS only, there would be no hope of getting Rhapsody's support to help. (Not sure they know what a Squeezebox is.) But this seems to be way bigger than just the interface with SBS; I plan to keep bugging support for a resolution.

ghostrider
2010-07-26, 13:47
Did it show up in new music? It does for me which is why I think it's a SBS problem.

ajkidle
2010-07-26, 17:27
Did it show up in new music? It does for me which is why I think it's a SBS problem.

Yes, it did. And the other albums I've been having trouble with showed up there too. Also, most of the albums I have this problem with also show up when you view "My Library" by album, instead of by artist. Problem is that I only browse music by artist.

I would agree this is an SBS issue, except that it plagues the Rhapsody web interface too. And the iPhone app. All 3 seem to be perfectly in sync. And most albums can be added to My Library without this issue. I still tend to blame Rhapsody.

Does anyone know how this stuff works behind the scenes? Is Rhapsody passing bad data to SBS?

ghostrider
2010-07-27, 06:59
Does anyone know how this stuff works behind the scenes? Is Rhapsody passing bad data to SBS?

I don't know how it works but I don't have any problems using the Rhapsody client. Everything is where it should be and things don't come up missing.