PDA

View Full Version : Fast/easy way to change players



Altec
2010-07-14, 11:05
Hi,

I have now tried to search for a little while but can't find an answer to my probably simple question:

How do I get a true synchronization between Duet and Radio (thinking about also buying an Touch), meaning same command is send to all units at the same time - volume up/down, off/on etc. It is rather painful to first have to select each unit and then turn volume up/down etc. I will have a problem if I have 3-4 units in the house playing at the same time and the phone rings.... There should be a "player" called "all players" and then the same command is send to all players - I really don't understand why that isn't an option???

Logitech, don't know if it is possible but couldn't you also assign a command to a combination of two physical buttons on the Duet controller so that you press one button and then it scrolls between the different players each time you press another button simultaneous - highlighted player is then selected when you release the button. That would make it very fast to change players without using the wheel (which is not always easy to use if you need to do it fast). Would that be possible?

Thanks

garym
2010-07-14, 11:08
Hi,

I have now tried to search for a little while but can't find an answer to my probably simple question:

How do I get a true synchronization between Duet and Radio (thinking about also buying an Touch), meaning same command is send to all units at the same time - volume up/down, off/on etc. It is rather painful to first have to select each unit and then turn volume up/down etc. I will have a problem if I have 3-4 units in the house playing at the same time and the phone rings.... There should be a "player" called "all players" and then the same command is send to all players - I really don't understand why that isn't an option???

Logitech, don't know if it is possible but couldn't you also assign a command to a combination of two physical buttons on the Duet controller so that you press one button and then it scrolls between the different players each time you press another button simultaneous - highlighted player is then selected when you release the button. That would make it very fast to change players without using the wheel (which is not always easy to use if you need to do it fast). Would that be possible?

Thanks

Just sync the players and you can do what you want. if you change volume, it changes it on all. if you hit pause, it pauses all. if you change music, it changes on all.

bobkoure
2010-07-14, 11:28
So long as you have a local music server. (local as in on your own network)
I've been seeing complaints about synchronization using the remote server. Unsurprising, if you think about it...

Altec
2010-07-14, 12:48
Yes, I don't use my own server (that is why I want to buy the Touch...). I have had a lot of problems with my Duet and Radio so just being able to stream music through mysqueezebox.com is where I am now. I don't see why it shouldn't work the same way as if it was my own server?

Still, I really wish that I could change player through a physical button-combination.

garym
2010-07-14, 13:01
Yes, I don't use my own server (that is why I want to buy the Touch...). I have had a lot of problems with my Duet and Radio so just being able to stream music through mysqueezebox.com is where I am now. I don't see why it shouldn't work the same way as if it was my own server?

Still, I really wish that I could change player through a physical button-combination.

if you use the "tinySbS" within the touch, you can then stream from it to the duet and radio). And all can be synched.

pippin
2010-07-14, 13:31
Yes, I don't use my own server (that is why I want to buy the Touch...). I have had a lot of problems with my Duet and Radio so just being able to stream music through mysqueezebox.com is where I am now. I don't see why it shouldn't work the same way as if it was my own server?

Still, I really wish that I could change player through a physical button-combination.

Without wanting to advertise too much, but if it's really important to you have a look at iPeng, see "Group Control" and "MultiPlayer Control" here:
http://penguinlovesmusic.de/ipeng-the-iphone-skin-for-squeezecenter/how-to-use-the-ipeng-application/nowplaying/

Altec
2010-07-14, 14:25
if you use the "tinySbS" within the touch, you can then stream from it to the duet and radio). And all can be synched.

Thanks, that sounds good - hope there are fewer problems with Touch

garym
2010-07-14, 14:30
Thanks, that sounds good - hope there are fewer problems with Touch

Depends on what problems you had (as many of the problems folks report here are really network problems rather than SB problems). My duet (and touch, transporter, SB3, and booms) had zero problems but I've never had a radio. I use SbS on a computer to serve everything.

But I can say that my brother has the TOUCH with USB drive attached and about mp3 50,000 tracks, with embedded art work. It is attached with WIFI. He also has a BOOM attached via WIFI. He serves music from the TOUCH to the BOOM as well. It all works perfectly for him so far (3 months). And he has no knowledge of how any of this stuff works...I walked him through the setup over the phone.

Altec
2010-07-14, 14:42
Without wanting to advertise too much, but if it's really important to you have a look at iPeng, see "Group Control" and "MultiPlayer Control" here:
http://penguinlovesmusic.de/ipeng-the-iphone-skin-for-squeezecenter/how-to-use-the-ipeng-application/nowplaying/

Thanks, will take a closer look. Looks good - now I just need an iPhone I guess..

Others, please post if you also want what I ask for... I can't be the only one but perhaps my problems will be solved if I buy the Touch?

Altec
2010-07-14, 14:45
Depends on what problems you had (as many of the problems folks report here are really network problems rather than SB problems). My duet (and touch, transporter, SB3, and booms) had zero problems but I've never had a radio. I use SbS on a computer to serve everything.

But I can say that my brother has the TOUCH with USB drive attached and about mp3 50,000 tracks, with embedded art work. It is attached with WIFI. He also has a BOOM attached via WIFI. He serves music from the TOUCH to the BOOM as well. It all works perfectly for him so far (3 months). And he has no knowledge of how any of this stuff works...I walked him through the setup over the phone.

Thanks, that also sounds good - I also plan to attach a USB drive but needs to find one that is compatible with the Touch.

garym
2010-07-14, 14:45
Thanks, will take a closer look. Looks good - now I just need an iPhone I guess..

Others, please post if you also want what I ask for... I can't be the only one but perhaps my problems will be solved if I buy the Touch?

or pick up a used iTOUCH for running iPENG.

Altec
2010-07-14, 16:38
or pick up a used iTOUCH for running iPENG.

Good idea. I was going to buy the new iPhone but then I heard about all the problems... will probably buy it anyway