PDA

View Full Version : Squeezebox Classic v3: Replacement for Remote, Power Adapter



jaysrin
2010-06-19, 22:21
I purchased a Squeezebox Classic v3 from Slim Devices in August 2006 while on a visit to the US. I live in India. This was ordered with specific requirements for India operation (220V/60Hz adapter) and was delivered to a US address on August 27 by UPS. The device worked fine on installation at home upon my return to India.

In October 2009, I wrote Slim saying I had misplaced/lost both the remote control and the power adapter while moving locally and wanted information on where I could get them in India. There has been no response from Slim's new owners, Logitech.

It would be great if Logitech picks up the pieces again and does the right thing by its customer and gives me a location in India where I could purchase the two items. Alternatively, it or any of the users here could tell me if the remote could be replaced with a downloadable applet for a smartphone or configured for an ordinary TV remote in some fashion. The Squeezebox Classic I had purchased now lies waste as I am unable to use it despite spending USD 339 on it.

Best regards,

Jay

Phil Leigh
2010-06-19, 22:36
I purchased a Squeezebox Classic v3 from Slim Devices in August 2006 while on a visit to the US. I live in India. This was ordered with specific requirements for India operation (220V/60Hz adapter) and was delivered to a US address on August 27 by UPS. The device worked fine on installation at home upon my return to India.

In October 2009, I wrote Slim saying I had misplaced/lost both the remote control and the power adapter while moving locally and wanted information on where I could get them in India. There has been no response from Slim's new owners, Logitech.

It would be great if Logitech picks up the pieces again and does the right thing by its customer and gives me a location in India where I could purchase the two items. Alternatively, it or any of the users here could tell me if the remote could be replaced with a downloadable applet for a smartphone or configured for an ordinary TV remote in some fashion. The Squeezebox Classic I had purchased now lies waste as I am unable to use it despite spending USD 339 on it.

Best regards,

Jay

Any remote that can be configured for a JVC DVD Player can drive an SB3...

ModelCitizen
2010-06-19, 22:48
Or you could download iPeng for the iPhone or SqueezeCommander for an Android based device.

Your PSU looks like it might be the same as a UK one. Logitech are not great at supplying spares, support or communicating in general so you are probably best trying source one via eBay or maybe even making a request in these forums. Alternatively there are third parties that make psus to the same spec. I used one made for an old Zip Drive for a while. A well crafted forum search should throw up some alternative suggestions for psus (hint; use Google to search these forums).

MC

jaysrin
2010-06-19, 23:23
Thanks to both Phil and ModelCitizen for their prompt replies. I don't have a JVC DVD player but will search these forums for used spares...

Phil Leigh
2010-06-19, 23:54
Thanks to both Phil and ModelCitizen for their prompt replies. I don't have a JVC DVD player but will search these forums for used spares...

Any remote that can be programmed to control a JVC DVD player will do - almost ANY programmable remote will work... like this one...

http://www.amazon.co.uk/One-All-URC7960-Universal-Smartcontrol/dp/B0030GDLYS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1277016827&sr=8-1

toby10
2010-06-20, 03:45
Also check any discount retailers in India (or wherever). Here in the US you can find very simplistic programmable IR remotes for as little as $3.
Just make sure it has JVC DVD codes.

Also don't over look programmable remotes you may have already. Many receiver/AVR remotes are programmable.
I use my Yamaha AVR remote for my SB3/Classic IR input.

goldstarsteve@gmail.com
2011-01-04, 12:35
I have same problem here in Israel - the local Logitech dealer does not support any of the squeezeboxes. I have a classic (3) and the remote dropped and does not work. If I get a universal that supports JVC DVD will it work for set up of IP again and stuff like that as well as day to day control?

toby10
2011-01-04, 13:20
I have same problem here in Israel - the local Logitech dealer does not support any of the squeezeboxes. I have a classic (3) and the remote dropped and does not work. If I get a universal that supports JVC DVD will it work for set up of IP again and stuff like that as well as day to day control?

Yup. The only catch is whether the JVC_DVD remote option was selected in SBS prior to your SB3 remote breaking. I don't know if the default SBS setting is to have this enabled or not.

If this was enabled the last time your SB3 was connected to SBS then it should work for even setup.

Mnyb
2011-01-04, 14:14
Remember to set SB3 to auto update firmware other wise you you must have an original remote with "brigthness" button .

Squeezebox Touch remote also works with SB3

Power supply: Squeezebox Touch supply also works with SB3 and it's universal 100-240 v 50-60hz you might need to purchase the adapter kit to get it to fit your wall outlets or use a travel adapter.

tcutting
2011-01-04, 14:49
SB3 remote may be easily fixed...
Here's a response I posted to another thread a few minutes ago:

Common failure mode for these remotes is the connection between the IR transmitter diode and the circuit board. If that's the case with yours, and you have some soldering skills, you may be able to reflow the solder at this connection.

goldstarsteve@gmail.com
2011-01-18, 14:03
I have invested in a cheap universal and in JVC DVD mode succeed to turn on the SB and connect to my server.

Now there is a terrible sound - it sounds like the static between stations when using an FM tuner. The distortion is total - something must be wrong here. Any ideas?

goldstarsteve@gmail.com
2011-01-18, 14:20
Disconnecting from electric and reconnecting did the trick.

Hurray!

blackbear
2011-01-18, 16:21
As for the power supply, I replaced my broken Squeezebox3 power supply with a Vanson SMP-20WM universal supply, and it works quite well and with no detectable difference in sound quality. (I am using my v3 with an external DAC)

goldstarsteve@gmail.com
2011-04-05, 10:06
Every time I go to squeezeserver or back to squeezebox classic I get a firmware update. Is this because I have a non-standard remote?

toby10
2011-04-05, 10:27
Every time I go to squeezeserver or back to squeezebox classic I get a firmware update. Is this because I have a non-standard remote?

Nothing to do with your remote. You are likely switching between SBS on your computer and MySB.com online. Currently they are different versions.
If you update to SBS 7.5.4 this should stop this from happening.
http://downloads.slimdevices.com/nightly/?ver=7.5

goldstarsteve@gmail.com
2011-04-05, 11:20
I need to switch to a beta version!?

toby10
2011-04-05, 12:05
I need to switch to a beta version!?

Only if you want to switch between SBS and MySB without getting the FW update. ;)
SBS 7.5.4 production release should be out any time now, but the beta 7.5.4 seems quite stable on my XP install.