PDA

View Full Version : Help! -No Audio through Squeezebox



Michael Haan
2004-08-23, 08:10
I don't know if I agree that it's dead.  I got my new graphic displays on Friday.  I installed them and they worked fine (two sboxes).  But then I was having trouble with the Snow screensaver so I upgraded to the latest nightly (which did not fix it).  Well, I went to play some music for the first time since I "upgraded" the software and now neither sbox will actually play music though both seem to think they are - much like what you're seeing.







>From: "Phillip Kerman" <lists (AT) phillipkerman (DOT) com>



>Reply-To: Slim Devices Discussion <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>



>To: "'Slim Devices Discussion'" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>



>Subject: [slim] Help!  -No Audio through Squeezebox



>Date: Sun, 22 Aug 2004 11:33:27 -0700



>



> > Thanks for the response...I didn't think to check the



> > headphone jack.  I



> > just checked it and no, I get no audio from the headphone



> > jack either.  And



> > the Squeezebox volume has no effect whatsoever.



> > Is my unit dead?



>



>Sounds like it to me.



>



>Thanks,



>Phillip



>



>_______________________________________________



>Discuss mailing list



>Discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com



>http://lists.slimdevices.com/lists/listinfo/discuss






Donít just search. Find. Check out the new MSN Search! (http://g.msn.com/8HMAENUS/2740??PS=47575)

Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-08-23, 09:56
Michael Haan wrote:

> for the first time since I "upgraded" the software and now neither sbox
> will actually play music though both seem to think they are - much like
> what you're seeing.

I had this problem when I tried to use Firmware 33 with a slightly
older slimserver nightly. However since using the entire nightly of
the 16 or so everything was fine; well except for my large
scrolling dropouts.

--
Daryle A. Tilroe

dean
2004-08-23, 21:49
Firmware 33 isn't backwards compatible with earlier versions of
SlimServer.

In general, if you change versions of SlimServer, you should also force
an upgrade to your firmware by pressing and holding the brightness
button...

On Aug 23, 2004, at 9:56 AM, Daryle A. Tilroe wrote:

> Michael Haan wrote:
>
>> for the first time since I "upgraded" the software and now neither
>> sbox will actually play music though both seem to think they are -
>> much like what you're seeing.
>
> I had this problem when I tried to use Firmware 33 with a slightly
> older slimserver nightly. However since using the entire nightly of
> the 16 or so everything was fine; well except for my large
> scrolling dropouts.
>
> --
> Daryle A. Tilroe
>
>

Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-08-24, 08:02
dean blackketter wrote:
> Firmware 33 isn't backwards compatible with earlier versions of SlimServer.
>
> In general, if you change versions of SlimServer, you should also force
> an upgrade to your firmware by pressing and holding the brightness
> button...

Yeah, I know it's ill advised. :-) Just wanted to check
if a bug was fixed without killing Softsqueeze in that
particular nightly. Didn't work; not unexpected.

--
Daryle A. Tilroe

rtitmuss
2004-08-25, 02:23
Darlye,

To use Softsqueeze with the latest nightlies you need to use the version
shipped with the nightly slimserver. Either start this using Java
webstart from the slimserver help pages, or copy the Softsqueeze.jar
file from HTML/EN/html/softsqueeze in the slimserver to your prefered
location.

Regards,
Richard


Daryle A. Tilroe wrote:

> dean blackketter wrote:
>
>> Firmware 33 isn't backwards compatible with earlier versions of
>> SlimServer.
>>
>> In general, if you change versions of SlimServer, you should also
>> force an upgrade to your firmware by pressing and holding the
>> brightness button...
>
>
> Yeah, I know it's ill advised. :-) Just wanted to check
> if a bug was fixed without killing Softsqueeze in that
> particular nightly. Didn't work; not unexpected.
>

Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-08-25, 07:11
Richard Titmuss wrote:
> Darlye,
>
> To use Softsqueeze with the latest nightlies you need to use the version
> shipped with the nightly slimserver. Either start this using Java
> webstart from the slimserver help pages, or copy the Softsqueeze.jar
> file from HTML/EN/html/softsqueeze in the slimserver to your prefered
> location.

Yup. I actually knew that then but IIRC there was a nightly
or two right when 33 came out that broke Softsqueeze for a
day or two. My desktop shortcut to Softsqueeze on my server
just points to the correct directory in the Slimserver
hierarchy. The only small gotcha is remembering to grab
it from the nightly directory structure at work/my other
remote softsqueeze sites when required. Anyhow I should
just emphasize how great it is having almost 600 albums at
my fingertips at work! Incidentally this listening at work
is why I did not want to risk breaking Softsqueeze for even
a day :-). I'm addicted. Great software!

--
Daryle A. Tilroe