PDA

View Full Version : Output level



Christopher May
2004-08-20, 05:17
Interesting question, but to drift off topic....

Can't you select the zone source from your reciever? Most recievers I've
dealt with allow you to chose sources for each zone, the zones can share
the same source, or use different ones. If yours works that way, cant
you use only digital source?

Chris

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Peter
Sent: Friday, August 20, 2004 8:10 AM
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] Output level


Why is the analog RCA output much lower when digital output is set to
fixed ?

I have Squeezevbox connected both rca and optical to my reciever (Denon
3803 with multizone, optical to main zone, rca goes to zone 2), and when
I set the digital output to fixed I have to turn the volume on
Squeezebox up a lot to get the same level on the rca output (from 10 to
30 or so)

Thanks,
Peter

Peter
2004-08-20, 05:30
MessageI can select input for zones individually, but zone2 always uses the analog input.

When I switch Squeezebox to fixed digital output the main zone level is of couse higher (max=40), but at the same time the level in zone 2 is lovered, and I have to turn vol on Squeezebox from 10 to 30 to get the same level as before.

Peter
----- Original Message -----
From: Christopher May
To: 'Slim Devices Discussion'
Sent: Friday, August 20, 2004 2:17 PM
Subject: [slim] Output level


Interesting question, but to drift off topic....

Can't you select the zone source from your reciever? Most recievers I've dealt with allow you to chose sources for each zone, the zones can share the same source, or use different ones. If yours works that way, cant you use only digital source?

Chris
-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Peter
Sent: Friday, August 20, 2004 8:10 AM
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] Output level


Why is the analog RCA output much lower when digital output is set to fixed ?

I have Squeezevbox connected both rca and optical to my reciever (Denon 3803 with multizone, optical to main zone, rca goes to zone 2), and when I set the digital output to fixed I have to turn the volume on Squeezebox up a lot to get the same level on the rca output (from 10 to 30 or so)

Thanks,
Peter


------------------------------------------------------------------------------