PDA

View Full Version : Moving SB US to Continental Europe



Wigster
2010-05-20, 06:55
Hi,

I will be moving out of the US back to Continental Europe in a few months, so I am trying to make sure that my electronics will continue working.

I have an (US) SB3: do I just need to get a plug converter for the power supply or do I need a new power supply that will work with 240V? If the latter, where can I get one?

I presume that the hardware is built in a way that will not be AC frequency dependent? After I moved to the US, I run my (European) stereo system on a voltage transformer for a while, but the 50/60 Hz change ended up significantly decreasing the quality of the sound.

Thanks.

copperstate
2010-05-20, 07:34
My (european) SB3 has a 100-240V supply so I would assume the US one does too. European adaptors for the psu may purchased at the european logitech online-store. :)

carrera
2010-05-20, 08:55
Hi,
I live in Germany and brought my fist SB3 from the US. No Probs beside different plug - power supply is fine.
My Transporter did the same trip - I was lucky to buy in Mountainview at a Slim BBQ.

carrera

Wigster
2010-05-20, 09:23
Thanks, that's great to know!

ralphpnj
2010-05-21, 05:10
Hi,
I live in Germany and brought my fist SB3 from the US. No Probs beside different plug - power supply is fine.
My Transporter did the same trip - I was lucky to buy in Mountainview at a Slim BBQ.

carrera

Ditto here as well (except that I didn't get my Transporter in Mountainview).

Most line level audio electronics, i.e basically everything except power amps such as CD players, tuners, pre-amps, DACs, Squeezeboxes, etc, will work fine with when used with a voltage transformer. However, power amps are a different story since they require much more current. During the time I lived in Europe I was able to use all my US line level audio electronics but I purchased a 220 volt/50Hz integrated amp to use as a power amp.