PDA

View Full Version : Hyper Sensitive Remote Control after Display Upgrade.



Jason
2004-08-18, 12:20
It's possible that when you re-assembled the box that you kinked the wire
from the display to pin 1 on the circuit board. This is what passes
information from the IR sensor in the face plate down to the logic control
on the circuit board.

Disassemble the squeezebox and check that the wire is firmly seated on pin
1. Power the squeezebox up without putting the top cover back on and see if
the remote behaves normally (be careful not to touch any electronics when
it's exposed like this).

If the remote behaves normally with the cover off then be extra careful the
next time you re-install it that you are not kinking or crimping the lead
from the display.

I had a problem similar to this, the first time I put the cover on the
squeezebox my remote didn't work at all, I removed the top cover, tightened
up the pin 1 connection, tested it (worked fine) re-assembled it more
carefully and everything has worked fine since.

-J

_____

From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Patrick Salt
Sent: Wednesday, August 18, 2004 12:59 PM
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] Hyper Sensitive Remote Control after Display Upgrade.



My new funky display arrived today. Loaded up slimserver_v2004-18-08.exe,
now my remote control navigation (right arrow) is hyper sensitive. Too much
of a press and I "drill" right too much.



Remote - is standard Slimdevices Squeezebox remote.



Suggestions - or is it just me?



Pat

Brian Baldwin
2004-08-18, 16:56
It's not just you. I've had the same problem since upgrading my display.
----- Original Message -----
From: Jason
To: 'Slim Devices Discussion'
Sent: Wednesday, August 18, 2004 3:20 PM
Subject: [slim] Hyper Sensitive Remote Control after Display Upgrade.


It's possible that when you re-assembled the box that you kinked the wire from the display to pin 1 on the circuit board. This is what passes information from the IR sensor in the face plate down to the logic control on the circuit board.

Disassemble the squeezebox and check that the wire is firmly seated on pin 1. Power the squeezebox up without putting the top cover back on and see if the remote behaves normally (be careful not to touch any electronics when it's exposed like this).

If the remote behaves normally with the cover off then be extra careful the next time you re-install it that you are not kinking or crimping the lead from the display.

I had a problem similar to this, the first time I put the cover on the squeezebox my remote didn't work at all, I removed the top cover, tightened up the pin 1 connection, tested it (worked fine) re-assembled it more carefully and everything has worked fine since.

-J



------------------------------------------------------------------------------
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Patrick Salt
Sent: Wednesday, August 18, 2004 12:59 PM
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] Hyper Sensitive Remote Control after Display Upgrade.


My new funky display arrived today. Loaded up slimserver_v2004-18-08.exe, now my remote control navigation (right arrow) is hyper sensitive. Too much of a press and I "drill" right too much.



Remote - is standard Slimdevices Squeezebox remote.



Suggestions - or is it just me?



Pat

Chris
2004-08-25, 12:09
At 11:19 19/08/2004, you wrote:
>Yeah... -- I posted about this a few days ago, too.
>
>Bizarrely, it only seems to be a problem when I use the latest beta of the
>server (5.3.0b1), though. When I go back to the latest full release (5.2.1
>-- because of other issues I'm still having with the instability of the beta
>on XP), everything's okay -- even though I've obviously still got the latest
>version of the firmware on my Squeezebox....

Did anyone file a bug on this, because mine does it too since my graphic
upgrade.
Occasionally a single right press will turn into a whole bunch.

Running with the latest nightly.

Chris.

Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-08-25, 14:10
Chris wrote:

> At 11:19 19/08/2004, you wrote:
>
>> Yeah... -- I posted about this a few days ago, too.
>>
>> Bizarrely, it only seems to be a problem when I use the latest beta of
>> the
>> server (5.3.0b1), though. When I go back to the latest full release
>> (5.2.1
>> -- because of other issues I'm still having with the instability of
>> the beta
>> on XP), everything's okay -- even though I've obviously still got the
>> latest
>> version of the firmware on my Squeezebox....
>
>
> Did anyone file a bug on this, because mine does it too since my graphic
> upgrade.
> Occasionally a single right press will turn into a whole bunch.

I notice this as well as other display issues. You might
consider it a symptom of this bug report:

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=506

It seems to be at its worst when streaming uncompressed
audio and only seems to manifest itself on the SqueezeboxG.

--
Daryle A. Tilroe

Steve Baumgarten
2004-08-25, 19:23
> I notice this as well as other display issues. You might
> consider it a symptom of this bug report:
>
> http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=506
>
> It seems to be at its worst when streaming uncompressed
> audio and only seems to manifest itself on the SqueezeboxG.

I just added this comment to the bug report (I'm posting here for the
benefit of others not CC'ed on the bug):

I've seen exactly this problem, again with FLAC->WAV streaming only,
and only since I upgraded to SqueezeboxG. I'm running firmware 33 and a
nightly from 8/14. Prior to the upgrade FLAC->WAV streaming worked
perfectly with no dropouts. Signal strength is in the 45% range, as it
was before. I don't have to be manually scrolling with the remote;
basically, FLAC->WAV dropouts are now common regardless of what's
happening on the display, when before they were exceedingly rare.

SBB

Daryle A. Tilroe
2004-08-26, 07:36
>>http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=506

This bug (or related bugs) has made my SqueezeboxG
almost unusable when it comes to browsing while
listening (which is a quite frequent affair for
myself and the SO). I think I want to fall back
until it gets fixed.

Sean or Dean: is the original pre-release download
of 5.3.0b1 considered to be a reasonably bug free
version for SBG users or is there another nightly
you can recommend?

PS. It would be good to know if this rather severe
bug has been replicated/confirmed at the secret
orbiting headquarters of Slimlabs yet.

--
Daryle A. Tilroe

Ted Rathkopf
2004-08-26, 08:28
I just got Alienstream set up this morning for the first time. For
some streams, I have no problems. But for another stream I'm trying
to listen to, it plays too fast, making everyone sound like mickey
mouse.

I've skimmed the archives and haven't seen a solution, though I might
have just missed it. Anybody know how to fix this?

--
Ted Rathkopf

Ted Rathkopf
2004-08-26, 08:43
Meanwhile, back at the model home, Ted Rathkopf <ted-keyword-slimp3users.896ebe (AT) rathkopf (DOT) net> said:

> I just got Alienstream set up this morning for the first time. For
> some streams, I have no problems. But for another stream I'm trying
> to listen to, it plays too fast, making everyone sound like mickey
> mouse.
>
> I've skimmed the archives and haven't seen a solution, though I might
> have just missed it. Anybody know how to fix this?

Just a followup: On my actual slimp3 player it is working fine. It
turns out it was just on the softsqueeze that it wasn't working. If
anybody knows how to fix that, I would appreciate it, but I can get by
if not.

--
Ted Rathkopf

rtitmuss
2004-08-26, 08:56
Ted,

This is a known problem with Softsqueeze 1.0. I will be looking to fix
this soon, but in the mean time you should find Softsqueeze 0.5 will
play these streams fine.

Regards,
Richard


Ted Rathkopf wrote:

>Meanwhile, back at the model home, Ted Rathkopf <ted-keyword-slimp3users.896ebe (AT) rathkopf (DOT) net> said:
>
>
>
>>I just got Alienstream set up this morning for the first time. For
>>some streams, I have no problems. But for another stream I'm trying
>>to listen to, it plays too fast, making everyone sound like mickey
>>mouse.
>>
>>I've skimmed the archives and haven't seen a solution, though I might
>>have just missed it. Anybody know how to fix this?
>>
>>
>
>Just a followup: On my actual slimp3 player it is working fine. It
>turns out it was just on the softsqueeze that it wasn't working. If
>anybody knows how to fix that, I would appreciate it, but I can get by
>if not.
>
>
>

dean
2004-08-27, 11:38
On Aug 26, 2004, at 7:36 AM, Daryle A. Tilroe wrote:

>>> http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=506
>
> This bug (or related bugs) has made my SqueezeboxG
> almost unusable when it comes to browsing while
> listening (which is a quite frequent affair for
> myself and the SO). I think I want to fall back
> until it gets fixed.
>
> Sean or Dean: is the original pre-release download
> of 5.3.0b1 considered to be a reasonably bug free
> version for SBG users or is there another nightly
> you can recommend?
The latest nightly is recommended now.

> PS. It would be good to know if this rather severe
> bug has been replicated/confirmed at the secret
> orbiting headquarters of Slimlabs yet.
Here at our underground World Headquarters lair, we have reproduced the
problem you have mentioned.

Sean, in the orbiting SlimStation, is hard at work in his secret
laboratory fixing the problem with ADVANCED TECHNOLOGY.

He's fixed one significant bug having to do with remote performance
today already and is closing in on the other IR-related issue.

Stay tuned, same SlimTime, same SlimChannel.

-dean

Jules Taplin
2004-08-27, 12:56
Hi Ted.

It's probably because it's trying to stream 22KHz streams.

I believe that AlienBBC doesn't exhibit this behaviour any more (or
rather... I haven't seen it), so that might be worth giving a go. It was
originally based on AlienStream, and still provides support for
Alienstream's playlists.

Take a peek at: http://www.mrtickle.org/alienbbc.html

If you get it running, and _DO_ find a mickey-mouse stream... please let me
know - I'll try to pounce on it.

-- Jules

----- Original Message -----
From: "Ted Rathkopf" <ted-keyword-slimp3users.896ebe (AT) rathkopf (DOT) net>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Thursday, August 26, 2004 4:28 PM
Subject: [slim] Alienstream plays too fast


>
> I just got Alienstream set up this morning for the first time. For
> some streams, I have no problems. But for another stream I'm trying
> to listen to, it plays too fast, making everyone sound like mickey
> mouse.
>
> I've skimmed the archives and haven't seen a solution, though I might
> have just missed it. Anybody know how to fix this?
>
> --
> Ted Rathkopf
>

Jules Taplin
2004-08-27, 12:57
Ah. Ok Ted. Disregard my last note. That's a softsqueeze problem.

/me finds Richards note next. Maybe I shouldn't be trying to clear my inbox
3 days late ;)


-- Jules

----- Original Message -----
From: "Ted Rathkopf" <ted-keyword-slimp3users.896ebe (AT) rathkopf (DOT) net>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Thursday, August 26, 2004 4:43 PM
Subject: [slim] Alienstream plays too fast


> Meanwhile, back at the model home, Ted Rathkopf
> <ted-keyword-slimp3users.896ebe (AT) rathkopf (DOT) net> said:
>
>> I just got Alienstream set up this morning for the first time. For
>> some streams, I have no problems. But for another stream I'm trying
>> to listen to, it plays too fast, making everyone sound like mickey
>> mouse.
>>
>> I've skimmed the archives and haven't seen a solution, though I might
>> have just missed it. Anybody know how to fix this?
>
> Just a followup: On my actual slimp3 player it is working fine. It
> turns out it was just on the softsqueeze that it wasn't working. If
> anybody knows how to fix that, I would appreciate it, but I can get by
> if not.
>
> --
> Ted Rathkopf
>