PDA

View Full Version : A Ripping Conundrum



ajkidle
2010-04-26, 17:32
Hi all. I'm a recent convert to the VortexBox platform, having built myself a little Atom rig. It works as desired except when it comes to ripping & tagging. I have a fair amount of obscure music and (legal) bootlegs that require manual intervention to get the tag data correct. As such, I find myself really missing dbPowerAmp and mp3tag in this new setup. I also believe the ripping methodology used by dbPowerAmp to be more robust (although we don't need to debate that here.) Looking for suggestions to bring these pieces of software back into my setup.

At my disposal, I have the headless Atom rig and a MacBook (running Snow Leopard, if it matters.) I remote into the Atom with the MacBook either via ssh or the web interface if I need to tinker with it. Is there someway to get dbPowerAmp to run on the VortexBox machine? When I had an Ubuntu box I used Wine without issue, but given that VortexBox is command line only I don't know how to do this (if it's even possible.)

Another possibility is to buy a copy of Win7 and use Boot Camp to install it on the MacBook, thus allowing me to run dbPowerAmp. This strikes me as an awfully complicated (and expensive) way to go about this.

Suggestions anyone?

agillis
2010-04-26, 17:44
You could let VortexBox rip your music. Then use Subsonic to fix any missing or incorrect tags.

ajkidle
2010-04-26, 17:52
You could let VortexBox rip your music. Then use Subsonic to fix any missing or incorrect tags.

Dumb question, how do I run Subsonic? I'm running VortexBox 1.3, poked around on the website, couldn't find anything other than the announcement that it's included.

agillis
2010-04-26, 22:05
Dumb question, how do I run Subsonic? I'm running VortexBox 1.3, poked around on the website, couldn't find anything other than the announcement that it's included.

There is a big button on the main menu that looks like a yellow submarine. If you don't see it go to the package manager (looks like a box) and install it.

andynormancx
2010-04-27, 01:36
Get VMWare for the MacBook and find someone with a copy of XP that they aren't using anymore. With VMWare on the Mac you can even have dbPowerAmp appear as if it is a normal Mac app.

JJZolx
2010-04-27, 01:51
Get VMWare for the MacBook and find someone with a copy of XP that they aren't using anymore.

It would have to be a retail licensed copy of XP, as OEM licenses aren't transferable between machines. So you couldn't use an XP product key from an old Dell being thrown away and be able to activate it.

andynormancx
2010-04-27, 01:55
It would have to be a retail licensed copy of XP, as OEM licenses aren't transferable between machines. So you couldn't use an XP product key from an old Dell being thrown away and be able to activate it.

True.

*pats MSDN subscription with a smug grin*

I guess he could always run Ubuntu under VMWare and use Wine to run dbPowerAmp, but that all starts to sound a bit clunky.

socistep
2010-04-28, 10:39
Hi all. I'm a recent convert to the VortexBox platform, having built myself a little Atom rig. It works as desired except when it comes to ripping & tagging. I have a fair amount of obscure music and (legal) bootlegs that require manual intervention to get the tag data correct. As such, I find myself really missing dbPowerAmp and mp3tag in this new setup. I also believe the ripping methodology used by dbPowerAmp to be more robust (although we don't need to debate that here.) Looking for suggestions to bring these pieces of software back into my setup.

At my disposal, I have the headless Atom rig and a MacBook (running Snow Leopard, if it matters.) I remote into the Atom with the MacBook either via ssh or the web interface if I need to tinker with it. Is there someway to get dbPowerAmp to run on the VortexBox machine? When I had an Ubuntu box I used Wine without issue, but given that VortexBox is command line only I don't know how to do this (if it's even possible.)

Another possibility is to buy a copy of Win7 and use Boot Camp to install it on the MacBook, thus allowing me to run dbPowerAmp. This strikes me as an awfully complicated (and expensive) way to go about this.

Suggestions anyone?

Hi There

I have a similar set-up to you running vortexbox on an atom motherboard and face/have faced the same dilemma on tagging. The tagging isn't a limitation of vortexbox but more the open source db's it uses to pull through the information, I have to say though that its pretty much spot on for 90% of my rips - the problems tend to be on some brand new albums and mainly compilation albums which are a problem.

I see it as 3 general options

1) Use subsonic - I've not upgraded to the version that contains this so unsure of the usability against mp3tag (which is excellent) - looking at the screenshots at http://www.subsonic.org/pages/screenshots.jsp it does seem to be quite basic but if you wanted to correct album by album then it might be feasible, however if you wanted to update all albums by Oasis to an 'Indie' tag in one move I doubt it work.

2) Use mp3tag/dbpoweramp over the network - So from another pc, however the limitation you have is due to having a mac, I have an ubuntu laptop so both of these work using 'wine' - I tend to rip a lot of compilations through dbpoweramp to make sure its right first time and just point the rips to be stored in /storage/music/flac on the vortexbox. Some people have suggested using vmware which you could run XP on, Im assuming that wine isn't available for mac but might be worth checking.

3) Running Desktop environment on Vortebox - A third option (and probably the one I use most) is to run a desktop environment on your vortexbox so hooking up a keyboard/monitor and installing the gnome desktop - I actually use my custom built vortebox as both server and my main pc, it runs fedora linux and again access dbpoweramp/mp3tag under wine - the only thing is that you have to turn off the vortexbox service prior to using dbpoweramp (this is running service vortexbox stop from the command line and start when your done). The benefits of this over 2) are that you don't have the network latency that can impact ripping/tagging over the network.

Hope that helps, any questions let me know

Thanks
Ian

Ron Olsen
2010-04-28, 13:59
Another option is to install Wine on your Mac; see http://davidbaumgold.com/tutorials/wine-mac/ and http://wiki.winehq.org/MacOSX for details. You should then be able to run dBpoweramp and mp3tag under Wine on your Mac.

Google "wine Mac" for other articles on how to do this.

ajkidle
2010-04-28, 19:12
Another option is to install Wine on your Mac; see http://davidbaumgold.com/tutorials/wine-mac/ and http://wiki.winehq.org/MacOSX for details. You should then be able to run dBpoweramp and mp3tag under Wine on your Mac.

Google "wine Mac" for other articles on how to do this.

This looks really promising. Thank you!

ajkidle
2010-05-11, 16:57
Probably a long shot here, but has anyone gotten this to work? I've got Wine installed, can run dbPowerAmp, but it doesn't see my CD/DVD drive. Wine can see the drive, but dbPowerAmp does not. I've got a 13" aluminum MacBook.

ajkidle
2010-05-11, 16:57
Probably a long shot here, but has anyone gotten this to work? I've got
Wine installed, can run dbPowerAmp, but it doesn't see my CD/DVD drive.
Wine can see the drive, but dbPowerAmp does not. I've got a 13"
aluminum MacBook.


--
ajkidle

2x SBR, SB3, 2x Boom, Radio, iPeng
------------------------------------------------------------------------
ajkidle's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=18929
View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=77972

andynormancx
2010-05-11, 23:19
Probably a long shot here, but has anyone gotten this to work? I've got Wine installed, can run dbPowerAmp, but it doesn't see my CD/DVD drive. Wine can see the drive, but dbPowerAmp does not. I've got a 13" aluminum MacBook.

Have you tried changing the CDROM access methods in dbPowerAmp to see whether one of them works ?

andynormancx
2010-05-11, 23:19
ajkidle;545577 Wrote:
> Probably a long shot here, but has anyone gotten this to work? I've got
> Wine installed, can run dbPowerAmp, but it doesn't see my CD/DVD drive.
> Wine can see the drive, but dbPowerAmp does not. I've got a 13"
> aluminum MacBook.

Have you tried changing the CDROM access methods in dbPowerAmp to see
whether one of them works ?


--
andynormancx

Yes, it will. Yes, all of them. Yes, SoftSqueeze as well. What ?
I SAID ALL OF THEM !
------------------------------------------------------------------------
andynormancx's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=17417
View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=77972

ajkidle
2010-05-12, 03:28
Yep, been there. When I switch to ASPI mode it at least tries to access the CD, but it eventually fails. Terminal shows this error:

err:aspi:ASPI_GetNumControllers Could not open HKLM\L"HARDWARE\\DEVICEMAP\\Scsi"

When I set it to SCSI access method, dbPowerAmp acts like there is no drive in the system at all.

I can feel Win7 invading my MacBook in the near future...