PDA

View Full Version : Optical Out Question



Johnny Stork
2004-08-16, 13:31
Hey thanks Mike. I too am travelling, and will be on the road again in a day or two and dont have the time to test a nightly release but will keep checking here to see if you had the chance. I am about to do another big move so might not even be a ble to get to it until I am moved. I just got the SB and am looking forward to picking up another for the bedroom and playing with some of the extras, plugins etc. I also plan to become a reseller to promote the SB.

Since you also have a MF DAC21 I guess its safe to assume you are also into high-end systems, so I will have some rip/encoding questions for you later if you dont mind. I have gone through some of them on the list, and elsewhere, but I think I have some particular needs that I have not read/seen addressed yet.

Thanks again :)

------ original message ------
From: Mike Reeve <reeve_mike (AT) hotmail (DOT) com>
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Sent: Mon Aug 16 13:58:45 MDT 2004
Subject: [slim] Optical Out Question

Johnny Stork <stork@...> writes:

> 1: I currently output the optical to an external MF Dac21,
> and when in pause mode, or skipping songs,
> the DAC loses the lock on the SB. I saw some discussion threads
> about a user having trouble due to a signal always being present,
> preventing his switcher from getting off the SB.
> So I guess what I am looking for is something in between.
> Does anyone know how to maintain an optical/digital lock while in pause
> or when advancing songs?

Johnny

I am the user you mention above ... :-)

What's weird is that the problem with the LED always being on
(and hence 'jamming' the switcher)
is a side effect of a fix that Sean put in some time ago
(around Firmware 9 or 10 if I recall correctly)
after I and a number of others had 'complained' about
our external DACs loosing lock on pause, between songs, etc.

Since that time my external DACs
[one of which by the way is a MF DAC 21]
do not loose lock ...

I have to admit that it has been a couple of days since I downloaded
a new "nightly" (I'm traveling at the moment),
so may be it's something that has come back in a recent release ...
.... I'll try it when I get back home tomorrow.

Mike

Mike Reeve
2004-08-17, 08:22
Johnny Stork <stork@...> writes:

> Hey thanks Mike. I too am travelling, and will be on the road again
> in a day or two and dont have the time to test a nightly release
> but will keep checking here to see if you had the chance.

Johnny

I have just installed the latest nightly (the previous one was about a week old)
and I still have no problems with my MF DAC 21 loosing lock
(I have tried pause, skipping from track to track, etc.)

I do have another problem though, which I'll post separately ...

Regards

Mike